We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning hotel in magical Ravello” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Complimentary Third Night
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
London
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning hotel in magical Ravello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I am usually more into modern design hotels but the Caruso seduced me with its Italian charme and old style grandeur. Ravello itself seemed like a step back into a different time, very quiet still at this time of the year, with the locals sipping coffee on the main square and lemon trees full of fat yellow lemons everywhere. The hotel had just opened for the season, the service was outstanding and my room wonderfully spacious with a sea facing patio / balcony. The bathroom was huge, with a tub, a walk-in shower and a separate toilet room. Bath products are from Bulgari and Penhaligon and are provided in extremely generous amounts. One of the best things was breakfast, not only included in the price but with no extra cost if taken in the room - i cant remember any 5 start hotel that hasnt charged extra for this!!! Another highlight is the roof terrace and infinity pool, with an incredible 360 degree view of the mountains and the Amalfi coast. You have to come here if you are in the area!

Room Tip: Dont miss the infinity pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
63
262
7
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doha, Qatar
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

We were at the Hotel Caruso for work, and I was quite skeptical since 'the big names" in the genre always disappoint, but I must say that the hotel is really nice, although there are no furniture, pictures or objects of enormous value, which would make this hotel unique! .Most staff members are polite and friendly, though sometimes people working in the 5-star feel the stars ... The food was good with some innovative combinations.! The organization of the events we attend was perfect and the common areas very elegant with a touch of style and class. The infinity pool is simpy incredible! From my point of view one of the most beautiful in the world!

Room Tip: junior suite with seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2011

My husband & I have just come back from Ravello where we spent 2 beautiful nights at Caruso.Even though it had just opened for the season, everything was in perfect running order. This is truly a beautiful hotel, both inside & out. Very chic & posh inside, with magnificent gardens outside. And an infinity pool that must be the most beautiful in the world!
We were lucky enough to be upgraded to a deluxe sea view room with a balcony-- a big room where even the deluxe bathroom had a window with a view!
We received a bottle of wine and a fruit plate at check in. Everyone greeted us & served us with a smile. A special mention to Yolanda at the pool who is a very friendly & super nice person.
On the last night of our trip we enjoyed a magical dinner on the candlelit terrace of the hotel & were offered a cake for our anniversary by Giovanni Frusciante, the restaurant manager.
Our thanks to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2011

We were married here in 2007. It is by far, the most beautiful hotel that I've visited, and I've stayed in many. Being married here was the best decision, on top of the world with nothing but beauty from every view. As expected, the staff went above and beyond what anyone could ask for and made it the most memorable experience of our lives. The ceremony, pool and food were perfect! Of course, the price, might make this a special occasion hotel but when you get there it is worth it!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

It has been a few months since I have stayed in this hotel and I still bring it up on a weekly, if not daily, basis. I don't think that anything I write in my review will convey just how spectacular this hotel is. The service is SPOTLESS, the food is the best I had in Italy (and that is saying a lot), the staff is absolutely memorable, and the pool is warm, deep, and offers the best view in Amalfi! The fruit and vegetables served at the hotel are grown in the gardens- you can actually take a stroll through the gardens and taste the fruit! The food... oh the food. The cocktails, while $18 euros, come with so many snacks you can make a meal out of it. The rooms are so homey that I didn't feel like I was staying at a hotel - until, of course, I walked into the bathroom and saw a basket of incredible luxurious amenities. The lounge has a pianist every evening that plays beautiful music through the evening. I can go on and on....

I no longer trust travel magazines, or websites that do not rate this hotel as the top hotel in Italy. I cannot image it being better than this. After staying here you won't either.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naples, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2010

Hotel Caruso...words cannot describe the beauty and elegance of this magnificant hotel. The views of the Almafie Coast...are next to none. Our rooms were elegantly furnished...beautiful decor...the baths, perhaps the finest we have had while travelling in Europe. We won't stay anywhere else...we rate this 5 Star +

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2010

The views from the Caruso are amazing - both of the sea and the mountains. The pool setting has to be among the top 3 in Europe and the hotel gardens surpass some of the very well known ones in Ravello. Rooms and housekeeping are to the highest standard. Pizza or pasta in the garden by the pool constitute as good a lunch as I have experienced and the all day bar menu is similarly impressive. The distinctive feature of the Caruso is the charm of many of its staff who go that extra mile to make you have the best experience.

Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Belmond, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.