We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Beautiful Place in the World” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Belmond Hotel Caruso

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Belmond Hotel Caruso to your Saves list
Belmond Hotel Caruso
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
20% Discount on Suites
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Austin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Place in the World”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2007

I read before I went that Jackie Kennedy said that Ravello was "the most beautiful place on earth". She would know - and she was right. The Hotel Caruso Ravello is the most beautiful place at the most beautiful place on earth. The moment we arrived, my husband was almost speechless. The hotel stretches across the view so there is literally a view from every room that faces the amalfi coast. The gardens, the pool, the tranquility and the views - - were the best in all of Italy (that we visited). The food was amazing at the hotel (pricey) but amazing. One day we picked up sandwhiches from the charming town of Ravello and took them back to the room to save money. BUT, the infinity pool, rooms facing the ocean, gardens, views - must be taken in if you are even remotely close to the Amalfi Coast in Italy. We were supposed to stay only 2 nights - but it was so amazing, we knew we couldn't do better after three weeks in Italy - so we stayed our last four nights there. The hotel was very accomodating to our changes and did everything they could to make it work - and make us happy.

  • Liked — The view and service
  • Disliked — the cost
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    373
    43
    19
    6
    6
See reviews for
68
284
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2007

We just returned from the most wonderful trip and hands down, Ravello and the Hotel Caruso were the highlights of our vacation. The hotel is beautiful and the views are breathtaking. The infinity pool is amazing, but the only slight drawback is that there are very few lounge chairs by the pool. The other lounge chairs are on the grass nearby the pool. Not a big deal, since it is spectacular. The rooms and bathrooms were very nice and large. Service is excellent. Lunch by the pool is delicious. Dinner at the restaurant is overpriced and average. I would eat in town at Cumpa Cosima or go down to Amalfi. The only slightly negative thing is the spa and gym - very small, a trek from the hotel, massages were not great. The hotel is very large, so not quite sure why the spa wasn't placed in the main building. I would highly recommend visiting Ravello and staying at the Caruso. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2007

We just came back from a fantastic vacation on the Amalfi Coast - 4 of our 17 days were spent at the magnificent Hotel Caruso in Ravello. It was the photo of the pool on their website that sealed it for us and I can honestly say it was even BETTER than the photo. Because we had been to Ravello before we had no sight-seeing pulling us away from this magnificent pool with its spectacular views. But this Hotel is not only about its great pool. The décor is beautiful. The rooms are large with either garden or breathtaking views of the Amalfi coast with marble bathrooms, Frette bathrobes, linens and sheets. Every attention to detail has been met. My brother and his wife were travelling with my 8 year old nephew and they even had a child-sized pair of slippers laid out for him every night before bed alongside the slippers for his parents. At the pool, Yolanda and Marco were extremely friendly, giving out cold towels and evian water sprays and they even gave my nephew a Play Station Portable to use during the day at the pool (with his choice of games). They had iPODs for us which had a magnificent Enrico Caruso album to listen to among the choices. How perfect! The staff is attentive, responsive, and courteous but in a very friendly way. They are genuinely interested in you having a wonderful vacation and we did! The breakfast was delicious and without limits. In addition to the already very generous buffet, a multi-page menu takes care of any other food choices you might desire. Carlo, the (very cute!) concierge helped us with concert tickets at Villa Rufolo and transportation to our next stop on the Amalfi Coast. Before we left I took the time to speak to the manager Lorenzo and tell him what a magnificent time we spent at the Hotel Caruso. I have to admit that it was indeed a splurge but it was money well spent. I would highly recommend this hotel and I would definitely love to stay here again. It will now be the benchmark for all future splurge hotels.

  • Liked — Absolutely, THE POOL!!!
  • Disliked — The ONLY negative was the walk into the main square of town-a pretty steep staircase. (but it was still worth it!)
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lanarkshire, Scotland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2007

An absolutely beautiful hotel in one of the most beautiful places on the planet.

One tip - Palazzo Sasso (Ravello's other 5* luxury hotel) is literally next door. The food at their restaurant (Rosellini's) was outstanding and slightly better (based admittedly on only one dinner at each) than the Caruso.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2007

This hotel experience was one of the best I have ever had. It was magical. Tips? Call the hotel and get the inclusive rate, which gets you breakfast (in bed if you wish) and a lunch or dinner (the hotel restaurant is fancy and worth it. We had two 300.00 meals included in the rated room, nice!) We had first attempted to stay at the Plazzo Sasso, but it was booked. The PS is ten steps from the Caruso and we had a drink there and realized the Caruso was much more what we wanted...elegance. The town of Ravello is sweet and small. We caught a music in the part... Branford Marsales over looking the cliffs and the mountains. We drove to Positano it was too too curvey of a drive (beleive me) I would pay for the ferry from Amalfi. We did the hotel boat tour (free!) it was so worth it. Spend the afternoon in Amalfi and have lunch at De Gemma.

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RI
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2007

My husband and I spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon here. It was magical, the service was exceptional, the junior suite comfortable and romantic with rose petals in the bath and champagne on ice when we arrived. Our patio included a couch and 2 lounge chairs (on grass) and a dining table overlooking the Sea! What a view. The food was excellent. And the infinity pool, an amazingly grand view of the Mediterranean and mountains. It was a little piece of heaven. Can't wait to return. Expensive, yes, but worth every cent.

  • Liked — The service and food
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

we stayed for four nights in june in the best suite, expensive, but the best room I have ever stayed in and we have stayed in a few !!!
We had a great time and loved everything about this place, we also met some great people and had a ball in the CARUSO !!!!

  • Liked — two panoramic terraces
  • Disliked — ---
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Belmond Hotel Caruso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Caruso

Address: Piazza San Giovanni del Toro 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Caruso 5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the highest point of Ravello, this magnificent Orient-Express hotel is perched on a cliff top overlooking the spectacular Mediterranean and the Amalfi Coast. All the rooms and suites are very large and elegantly appointed with all comforts, most with balconies and private gardens. Swimming in the spectacular heated infinity swimming pool is like being suspended between sea and sky. Dining is a feast for the gourmets, at the hotel's restaurant, a gastronomic feast of regional flavours. Explore the splendours of the Coast with our complimentary boat excursions and shuttle service to Amalfi and Positano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Belmond and Odigeo so you can book your Belmond Hotel Caruso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Belmond Hotel Caruso, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.