We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Villa Maria, Ravello” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Maria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Crowthorne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hotel Villa Maria, Ravello”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Lovely hotel with very pleasant and helpful staff. The room was beautifully furnished as was the Hotel in general, and we had a view to die for! The bathroom was also beautiful but you are a little exposed as you take a shower since there is no curtain or blind on the window next to the shower itself. Having said that it looks out right across the valley and is unlikely that anyone could see you.
I can't say that we particularly enjoyed our evening meal which was expensive, but maybe we made the wrong choice off the menu.
We had two wonderful days at the Villa Maria and would definitely stay here again if we come back to Ravello.

Room Tip: upgrade to a room with a sea view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    68
    20
    8
    3
See reviews for
29
182
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch at the Villa Marie last week while visiting the Amalfi Coast. The pasta was beautiful and definitely home made. The waiters were very attentive and quick as we only had an hour. Then there was the views. Quite stunning and breathtaking.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

From beginning to end I can't say enough how much we lived our stay here.
We stayed for three nights', the second being our wedding night.
We had our reception at the hotel
The staff were all so wonderful and helpful, Angelo was an absolute star and made sure everything ran perfectly. Our guests were in awe of how attentive they were, no one ever had to ask for their glass to be refilled, they were so on top of everything!
The food was lovely and portions so generous.
Our wedding cake was
gorgeous exactly as I had imagined.
We stayed in the Jr suite and the view from the enormous balcony was breathtaking!
The room where breakfast was served us absolutely stunning. Once again with that amazing view.
Thankyou Villa Maria
We had the most amazing unforgettable day of our lives.
Both us and all of our guests.
We're already planning to return
for future anniversaries

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stopped here for lunch while visiting Ravello.
The view from the terrace where we ate our lunch was amazing, we didn't want to leave.
The staff were helpful and friendly and the food was delicious.
We will definitely eat here again when next in Ravello.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Villa Maria is a great alternative to the five star hotels in town. It offers sweeping views over the coastline from most rooms as well as a wonderful outdoor terrace. Having breakfast every morning of this terrace while you look down towards the sea and hear church bells tolling in the distance is unforhettable. The staff is very courteous and helpful and the owner - "Il Professore" will take you on a tour of the gardens if you ask.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, May 15, 2014
Many thanks for the very kind feedback!
We really hope to meet our clients in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just enjoyed a 4 day stay at Villa Maria to celebrate a friends wedding in Ravello. The location of this hotel is just amazing with fantastic panaromic views of the hills down to the sea. The hotel restaurant is located on a lovely terrace where we enjoyed lunch on our first day. The walk to the Ravello main square is no more then 10 minutes and there is a porter to help you to the hotel with your luggage. The rooms are quite basic, fairly typical of Italian hotels though were definitely clean and a comfortable size.
The breakfast was uneventful and the cleaning staff though very effective had a habit of making quite a lot of noise in the rooms above from quite early in the day. Also we were informed that the sister hotel down the road had a pool, however am pleased it was not overly warm during our stay as there was no water in the pool. This information was not made available prior to booking but seemed typical of the area.
Overall the staff were pleasant, location amazing and would definitely stay again. Ravello is so stunning!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, May 14, 2014
We are happy to reply to the kind feedback of our clients!
We are more than happy to find out our guests enjoyed their stay at our Hotel and that they appreciated the fantastic view, the hotel restaurant with its lovely terrace and the other services the kind customer gently listed.
We are glad to clients appreciated the efficiency of our cleaning staff - even if we are sorry the clients thought the noise of the clients (who were accommodated the floor above) was caused by our staff, but it was not.
As the clients well noted, our swimming pool was not the only one to be empty.
Most of the hotels in Ravello had some delays due to the bad weather conditions.
We did not advice our guests before, because we thought, in our good faith, to get it ready by the day of their arrival… unfortunately we could not.
We hope to meet the clients again and let them spend their vacation with the maximum comforts we always want to guarantee!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

The position of the hotel is excellent with far reaching views to the coast.
The superior room I stayed in had no outside space but a panoramic view from the window.
The room however was extremely basic and had little in the way of creature comfort. It had initially no hot water........after 2 complaints and 1 day I achieved tepid water. The solution apparently was to run the tap for 15 mins before you wanted a shower!
The breakfast is ordinary and cannot be compared to the excellent quality of the restaurant which I would certainly recommend.
The staff are or were during my stay entirely disinterested.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, May 11, 2014
We are very glad to reply to the customers’ feedback.
First of all, we are very happy to find out they enjoyed the nice location, our restaurant and the beautiful view our Hotel has.
The Superior room the clients had, is situated in the annex of the hotel, which is even more exposed to the view over the sea.
Being Formerly a country mansion, Villa Maria prefigured a different layout for the rooms of different sizes, different position, etc and this is indeed the peculiarity and the charme of our hotel.
The great average of our guests have been always appreciating our Rich Buffet Breakfast and, since tastes is personal, we must take in consideration the massive positive opinions.
The kindness and the warmth of our staff is mentioned in all customers’ reviews and the hot water problem was caused by a temporary breakdown solved in less than the times indicated.
We hope of having clarified all the doubts and to leave in the future beautiful memories of Ravello and our hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#7 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#7 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.