We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location with on-premises parking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Ravello
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great Location with on-premises parking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently stayed 2 nights at the Villa Maria Hotel in Ravello. The location can't be beat although there are a lot of stairs to climb to get to the property so not for elderly or disabled. The free parking is also a huge bonus and the lovely valet - Marco was our favorite - brings your luggage to and from the hotel with a golf cart. The food in the restaurant was also excellent, especially the dinner. Would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    57
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
158
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Along with friends from London we spent a weekend in Ravello recently, staying at the Villa Maria. The food in the restaurant was simply superb. We dined on the balcony with that amazing view over the Mediterranean on the Saturday night. All in all a wonderful experience. Room was a little on the small side, but comfortable. And after all when you go to Ravello, you won't spend too much time in your room.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manhattan beach, CA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I loved my stay at the Villa Maria. The room was HUGE, as was the bathroom. Tons of closet and drawer space. The restaurant had a wonderful view of the ocean and hills and the breakfast was delicious. My only complaint was that the wireless internet was a bit sketchy, but they did have a computer in the living area which was most often available. The location was perfect - an easy walk to the town of Ravello and close to the trails that lead down to Amalfi. We loved our stay at the Villa Maria!

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Victoria and I just wanted to say a massive thank you for all your help and support in making our wedding day amazing. Sometimes when you deal with people you don't know you don't know what to expect. And things can be even more difficult when working so far apart, conducting the planning via Skype etc.

But all your help and advice in planning our day was extremely useful. You really helped reassure us about how the day would work and about the choices we could make on the different options.

The day itself was unbelievable. We didn't really know what to expect but every aspect of the day was even better than we expected. Mario you were very good in both your organisation and making us feel comfortable on the day, we loved the service. It was fantastic! Our friends were amazed. And Annamaria you were great in all your help with the organisation and helping with our questions. Everything worked like a dream.

Villa Maria is a beautiful restaurant and the food was outstanding. We couldnt have asked for a nicer wedding meal for 30 people. And the staff were very helpful and attentive.

All in all you did an excellent job and we can't thank you enough for a day we will never forget. And we wish the best for you, your families and Wagner Tours in the future.

All the best,

Rob and Victoria

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

We spent two nights here and really enjoyed our time. Quiet setting with friendly staff. Our room was nice, food was very good and the views great. We enjoyed the walk to and from the square as it allowed us to explore the town more fully.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

This is NOT a 4 star hotel,
Rooms are very big, we had a supreme room with a terrace.
To many steps to get to the room, tub is very narrow,
Parking is the sister hotel , on the web it says 40 meters but it's more like 600 meters,
We really like Ravello but this hotel doesn't worth E 305 a night.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ViPa A, Proprietario at Villa Maria Hotel, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
I am pleased the clients highlighted the great size of the room with terrace – they omitted the room was among our Superior rooms, situated in the annex, which is even more exposed to the view over the sea.
The peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast are the streets and the steps so, if you are not dynamic and lover of the particular landscapes, we cannot suggest to visit the Amalfi Coast, which was, from the ancient times, described by artists and poets as “divina costiera” (Heavenly Coast).
Villa Maria “reflects” the peculiarity of the Amalfi Coast – you can reach the hotel by a 5 minutes walking distance from our parking and all the times the clients reach our Hotel, they always affirm the walking is worth!
The clients omitted also that the parking is a very important facility in the Amalfi Coast because it is pretty hard to find parking place and it is also very expensive. We are maybe among the fews that have got the parking and it is also free of charge.
We checked our website and the parking doesn’t seem to be advertised as 40 metres away from Villa Maria – maybe the clients meant the distance between the square and the Parking, which is more or less 40/70 metres OR maybe the clients took this information from another little known website, for which we are not responsible (it is very hard to check all the information advertised in the million of websites we are in and, in the most of the cases, we are not even advised of having been selected).
We are glad the clients rated the highest points for the position (don’ t you think this goes in contraposition with what he previously stated?).
As regards the tub, we would like to underline that the tub are of different sizes and even if the clients had a “standard size” tub, this does not mean that is against the dimensions expected by the law or by the minimum standards expected for a hotel.
So, if we consider, the great position, the great size of room with nice terrace and sea view, the free parking, we must also add the free use of the sister Hotel Giordano’s swimming pool, the well reputed restaurant with terrace and sea view… well… Euro 305 is mathematically worth for a Superior category room!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, USA
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We loved this hotel in Ravello with beautiful views from everywhere! The service was outstanding, room was super and the restaurant was superb. There was free wifi in the lobby and on the patio. The rooms were spacious and beds were firm but good. The shower was in a tub that required a step up.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 105 that had a lovely terrace (shared wit two other rooms)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#7 Family Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool. Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.