We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service and Food with Wonderful Sea View” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices from these 8 sites
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Villa Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Maria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great Service and Food with Wonderful Sea View”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We didn't stay at the Villa Maria Hotel in Ravello but we did linger over lunch actually longer than we thought because I asked her if she'd brought her purse and then after a breathess climb up the hill she said she had forgotten it. Never mind. This was a fairly traditional Italian lunch spot but with loads of character and a range of choices-seafood, pasta, the usual staples. What makes it perfect is the fabulous sea view and warm and friendly staff. It's about 20 minutes walk from the cathedral square but well worth the climb which in any case takes you a further 10 minutes away to fabulous ornate gardens. Just remember to bring your wallet or purse or you'll end up with one of you doubling the walking time back to the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    59
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
164
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

During our travel to the Costa Amalfitana in Italy we found an enchanting placed called Ravello.
In this City full of charming streets and fantastic atmosphere we found this quiet, beautiful hotel.
The hotel, a former noble roman house, received us very warm with its beautiful gardens, splendid view to the sea and a gentile and kind service.
The restaurant is simply marvelous, great food, great wine. What else can be said?
Ravello is very close to Positano, Amalfi and other small villages of the fantastic Costa Amalfitana.
In addition, in the hot days of Italian summer you can use the swimming pool of the Giordano´s hotel, from the same owner.
Ravello and Villa Maria were the perfect match for a relaxing days in Italy.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Do consider staying here, preferably in the junior suite. Why? The staff and the owner are such warm hearted and pleasant people, it's not too big, and the views are beautiful, and the food from their own organic garden overlooked by the open air restaurant mostly has a rare fresh and healthy quality. All the great gardens and hotels, and the shops, are in easy walking distance for you to sample as you wish. Villa cimbrone hotel and gardens just around the corner are a must in the early morning and evening. Gore Vidal's house also is a must see and as villa Maria's owner also owns it, you can ask for a guided tour. Wonderful walks, especially the path of the gods, and do ask if Vincenzo can guide you, for an exceptional experience. Catch the ferry back from Positano. Torre de Zirro walk and on to Amalfi and back up if you are fit, or by bus, is special also. At the nearby church of the poor Clare's, you can hear the nuns sing a mass. The cooking class also run by Vincenzo is a must, even for non cooks, because he is passionate and enthusiastic. Watch out for the home made lemoncello! It is three star and not five star, and so there are some quirky aspects, but this hotel has a heart. And if the owner's friend Eddie Oliva is visiting, you will enjoy a superb guitar serenade! Pompeii and Herculaneum can be visited in a day.

Room Tip: Junior suite a must
See more room tips
Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wakefield,west yorkshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was our first holiday on our own as a couple since parenthood and we wanted to return to magical Ravello. We did a fair amount of research and hoped that the Villa Maria would be the right choice and it was.
The superior room was worth the cost for the view and we would especially recommend the half board dining option which, although had much less choice than the a la carte, represented great value for money when comparing all the restaurants in the town.
The food was really excellent and the accommodation was typically Italian quirky but clean and spacious. All the staff were friendly and helpful, advising on bus times etc and wine choice in the restaurant.
A fantastic visit and we would certainly stay at Villa Maria again.

Personal tip- don't hire a car. We didn't this time and got a taxi from Naples airport then walked or used the buses locally during our stay. To drive/park on the Amalfi Coast and surrounding area is not for the faint hearted and for us would have ruined a truly relaxing and enjoyable break!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My Mum and I stayed here last year and came back this year. We were pleased to see many of the same staff and see that the hotel was every bit as lovely as we remembered. The restaurant is great, the views just beautiful and it really is worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We stayed here for our friends wedding after they recommended we stay there and so glad we did. The hotel is about 10 minute walk from the main square in Ravello (cant get to it by car) The grounds are stunning, you walk into the outside restaurant that has breathtaking views across the hillside to the ocean. Covered in vines with statues and water features. Its classic and chic. The inside it decorated with traditional Italian decor. The room we had was an ok size but the AC was the best we had experienced, no noise but powerful. We room was clean and well maintained. Breakfast was great, with a selection of European with hot dishes (buffet style) but you could also order extras such as omelettes/poached eggs at no extra cost. The didn't have an iron so take a travel or they can press clothes for you at an extra cost. The walk into the main square is easy, just one path takes you all the way.

Found most of the staff to be very helpful, mainly in the restaurants. Found that the reception staff could have been more inviting and welcoming.

They have a sister hotel called the Giordano which is where you can park and where you have use of a pool. Food here is also very good for lunch! Didn't see the rooms at this hotel but to save the walk to the pool each day if that's your thing then look at staying here instead.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic hotel with incredible views especially from the balcony of the terrace restaurant. Food is top quality with service to match. Rooms very well appointed with sumptuous decor. Staff make you feel as if you are an important guest and that nothing is too much trouble.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#7 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool. Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.