We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Most Beautiful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Villa Maria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“The Most Beautiful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My stay at Villa Maria was truly an amazing experience. This was a rare occasion for my family to all to be in the same place as we are spread across the world so it was important to us that we had a great time. We arrived on the 10th of August and left on the 22nd August. My father's 70th birthday was on the 19th of August and I was incredibly impressed with the way the hotel so kindly organised the cooking class that I had booked in February. We could not have asked for anything better.
We also received the most generous assistance from Profesori Palumbo arranging for my fiancé to visit a local doctor to examine his ear which he had some problems with for a few days. This was well beyond what I would normally expect from the owner of a hotel and we were ever so grateful for the help, which meant a lot to us. This is customer service at its absolute best.
The staff was amazing and one of the the lovely lady's working in reception organised for the delivery of my engagement ring from Minori to the hotel after some discussions with a local jeweller which saved us half a day which we could spend doing something together with the family.
If you do visit Villa Maria I would highly recommend taking the cooking class. The experience was truly great. The produce is picked from the vegetable garden and it is amazingly fresh and tastes gorgeous. This is a class where you cook yourself under the supervision of the chef and it was great to get involved and to make the great dishes we then presented to the rest of the family at a lunch which was served in the outside dining area by the old heritage kitchen looking over the valley. I now use what I learnt in my every day cooking and it is great.
The staff did everything to ensure that we had the best of the best throughout our stay and made us really feel like we were at home and not on holiday. The rooms were in great condition and the food at a top standard. The swimming pool is at the sister hotel Villa Giordano a few minutes away. Hotel Giordano also offers a spa with a wide range of treatments.
Please be aware that August can be very hot and the best time to be out on the many walking trails are in the early morning.
Great service, great food and all in all a great holiday!

Room Tip: If you want a special stay with extra privacy on the massive balcony I would recommend the junior su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    179
    65
    19
    8
    3
See reviews for
28
174
9
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed elsewhere last week as there was no rooms available here but made sure we came for dinner.
It was one of the best we had in our 2 weeks in Italy.
The food was amazingly tasty, great service, price reasonable and the views are fantastic.
Highly recommended for a nice dinner or a lunch...the day views for lunch are unbeatable.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cloverdale, California
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012 via mobile

Hotel Villa Maria is nicely located in Ravello. Perhaps 300-500 meters from the Piazza Duomo. The rooms are good sized and some have sea views. It is pricey but all the good locations on the Amalfi are. Breakfast was quitter satisfying but you must get there early to get a table by the windows. Our very expensive room was right under the dining room so we heard chairs scrapping the tile floors at dinner (10pm) at breakfast (7:30am) and at lunch time. Very dissatisfying. Would return but would not accept this room.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Although I first used the hotel's restaurant 20 years ago (and several times subsequently), this was our second stay. We were not disappointed. Villa Maria is the perfect hotel in a wonderful setting. Serene. Wonderful food and service. Attentive staff. Go!

Room Tip: Contact the hotel...the staff are so helpful and I'm sure that they would give advice according...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Located in a quiet area or Ravello a short walk from the centre. Excellent fresh food & attentive staff. Amazing views from balcony restaurant. Rooms clean & comfortable. Can use the swimming pool of Hotel Giardino a few minutes walk away.Beautiful breath taking walks down to the coast, open air tourist bus to Amalfi, open air concerts over looking the sea from villa Ruffalo.a must see is the villa Cimbrone with its fine gardens & Infinity Balcony views to die for.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012 via mobile

The room (number 7) was espacious and had a little balcony with a great view, the staff was very helpfull but did not make me feel at home. If you want to enjoy your stay, I woul recommend this hotel (but mind the price).

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

The villa has a beautiful terrace which serves as a restaurant. Breakfast on the terrace was relaxing, and the food was quite good with homemade jams and pastries. The staff were also helpful. The rooms were adequate.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#7 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool (parking and swimming pool situated at the sister HOtel Giordano, approx. 5 Minutes walking distance). Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.