We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Italian Dream Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Maria Hotel

Save Saved
You added Villa Maria Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maria Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 hotels in Ravello
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“An Italian Dream Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

You wake up looking out over the hills down over the town of Amalfi, while little old men and women tend the vegetable garden right outside! The rooms are modern, clean and more than comfortable. Although you are close to their incredible restaurant for any meal of the day, as well as little boutiques, cafes and luscious gardens overlooking the Amalfi Coast, in half an hour you can walk down to the sea through lemon groves and past little rustic villas! So the fact that you are not right on the water is not an issue at all - in fact, I would say that wild walk encountering charming locals, the verdant hillside and scent of sea salt and lemon was one of the highlights! Oh, and the staff are so friendly and more than happy to chat to you as you indulge in their homemade Caprese cakes for breakfast!!
SUCH a magical place!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    57
    18
    8
    3
See reviews for
27
158
8
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2011

This hotel (while a slight walk into the town of Ravello) is a great find - wonderful service, outstanding views and impeccable food!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We loved our recent stay at the Villa Maria Hotel. Professore Palumbo, the owner, greeted us when we arrived, and welcomed us to the Villa Maria. Built into the cliffs of the Amalfi Coast, the hotel is spectacularly sited, with amazing views from the terrace dining room and from many of the rooms of the sea below. The villa itself retains its art deco furniture, and is a wonderful place to relax. The staff was amazingly helpful, and so accommodating to all of our needs.

We dined on the hotel terrace three evenings - the service and the food was the best we experienced during a 20 day Italian adventure. Do try the fried seafood antipasti served on lemon leaves, and the lobster ravioli was so wonderful I ordered it twice during our stay. With all produce from the hotel's huge organic garden, the quality of the food was top notch. And, of course, the view from the terrace is spellbindingly beautiful. Wow.

A benefit of staying in Ravello is you can get there by taking the road over the mountains, and avoid the coast road - we saved much time taking day trips to various places we visited during our stay. (also, since the road to Ravello is so narrow, large tour buses can't easily get to Ravello, sparing you some of the craziness of other coast towns - Ravello is so much quieter and peaceful)

Our room was spotlessly clean, and decorated with a murano glass chandelier and antique furniture. Best of all was our terrace, with a small yard and two lounge chairs - I had coffee outside every morning, enjoying the view, and catching up on email. Note that the Villa Maria is a pleasant five minute walk from the parking area at Villa Maria's sister hotel, Hotel Giordana. Make sure to make arrangements for parking before you arrive - you will need the help of a hotel attendant to navigate the narrow medieval streets - we had to retract our mirrors to get the car to make the squeeze.


Thanks to everyone at the hotel for working so hard to make our stay so memorable.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

This hotel really encapsulates the entire Ravello experience for me. Fantastic scenery, amazing meals and the hotel owner/staff always went the extra distance, for myself and friends.

One of the fonder memories I had was in Amalfi, one day I was out taking photographs and bumped into one of the Villa Maria staffers. He remembered me and walked me to several locations I never would of thought of (got some amazing pix in the process). It was his day off, and yet this person went out of his way to help me. This is why I find this hotel to be the must-visit place in Italy.

Rooms were fantastic, wifi internet and air conditioning was superb. What's neat was the lemon trees outside my room and starry skies at night (Ravello is very dark at night...so the stars are not blighted by street lights). The organic garden is worth visiting too, it's next door to the hotel.

Fond memories and an amazing part of Italy to visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Incredible place, excellent restaurant, very clean and comfortable. Eating all those faboulos and typical dishes with that view it's an amazing experience every time, especially at dinner time.
All the people there are very kind and polite. Thank you so much for your marvellous hospitality!
I really hope to come back as soon as possible!

Seba

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Volagratis

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed in January, which is a quiet time. Basically, the hotel was closed, but they failed to inform us, accepted our booking and payment. It is very difficult to find, (that road up to Ravello at night is a killer). The car park is quite a hike from the hotel, and rather than sending someone down to collect our bags with a trolley, we had to carry our heavy bags up the hill to the hotel. (a trek of about 5 minutes). When we finally reached the hotel, we were told that the restaurant was closed throughout January. Great, would have been nice to have been told that at the time of booking. Ravello is very quiet at that time of the year, so there are NO restaurants open. When we were shown to our room, we found it to be very dirty with mould on the ceiling and throughout the room. Although, we were the only guests foolish enough to stay here in January, we were advised that if we wanted to change rooms, we would need to pay an additional $150 per night. We managed to negotiate them down to $100 extra a night. A very poor show indeed, when we were the only guests staying and the room that we were given was mouldy and dirty. The service was quite surly and the breakfast pretty ordinary. The view is spectacular, no denying that, but this hotel is extremely average. I definitely would not recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

First things first, Ravello is a wonderful Amalfi Coast hideaway high up in the mountains with spectacular scenery. If you have any problems with mobility or don't like steps then choose somewhere else. If however you love great views, excellent food and music this is the place for you. Villa Maria together with sister hotels Villa Giordano and Villa Eva are all situated at varying degrees of winding steps off from the main square (no direct road). Make sure you ask for their porter service when you arrive otherwise you end up doing what we did and dragging up our luggage up the incline to get to the path. Good things first: great views and location, helpful and pleasant staff. Things that could be improved: breakfast very poor quality with dry pastries - off the square of Ravello you have some great fresh bakeries like Cafe Calcio with wonderful fresh produce so there should be no excuse. Wrt room for 4 star hotel you get a 3 star room (room 5) which we got moved to after the first room in lower end if building was right next to external noisy builders (don't be afraid to ask!). Inside we had mould in top corner of ceiling, a lightbulb blown, broken toilet flusher, the worlds smallest in room tv and wi-fi access that depended on your planetary alignment even though we were situated over the main reception. For a four star hotel all of the above items however small should just not be an issue however, it seems that not just Villa Maria but all of the hotels in Ravello add an extra star for location; so what you get is a good 3 star hotel which they are milking as only Italians could. Just make sure you know this before you book.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Maria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maria Hotel

Address: Via Santa Chiara 2, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#7 Family Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Villa Maria Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the historic centre between the Clarisse nunnery and S. Francis Convent, in a restful aristocratic area so much as to be chosen, the only hotel in the area, by the French guide-book "Relais du Silence" as an oasis of peace and by the Italian "Charme e Relax" as Ravello's pearl. Villa Maria assures his guests in addition to maximum tranquillity also the most services including the parking of nearby Hotel Giordano (of the same property) where it is possible to park for free the car and take advantage of free luggage handling and of the swimming pool. Rich and interesting is the history of this villa which was roman noble Marquis de Cinque family's manor, an history which blends with Ravello's and the Amalfi Coast's. The structure, while preserving the elegant forms of a lordly mansion, in the years has undergone noteworthy redecorations which have fashioned its actual splendour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Villa Maria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Maria

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Maria Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.