We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Avino

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Avino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Avino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Ravello
São Paulo
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Almost perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My husband and I just spent 4 nights at Palazzo Avino. Our first impression was fabulous. The view was breathtaking. From our room, the pool and the restaurants we could see the mountains and the beach. Our room, although not very big, was classy and had everything we needed. Service was mostly great - specially Vittorio, who helped us during breakfast, all the guys who worked at the beach.
However, we have some complaints:
1 - Walls are thin, so don't expect to sleep until late. You will certainly be awaken by your neighbors (our housekeeping).
2 - Although they have a 2 star Michelin restaurant, we were not impressed by the meal. Service was not the best. Just to give an example, the wine we chose arrived in the time when we were about to finish the appetizers (apparently, the sommelier forgot about it).

Room Tip: try to get a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

420 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    35
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
245
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Medina, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

All the reviews are true! The property is spectacular, the staff is amazing (especially Antonio), the town itself is the most charming place I have ever been! Yes- its expensive but worth every penny!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

It is hard not to be charmed by Ravello. Its ancient winding streets, buzzing village square, astonishing views and enchanting walled gardens should appeal to those of every generation from all walks of life. That our hotel, Palazzo Avino, was equally if not more noteworthy was something that were not expecting. As you step inside from a charming narrow backstreet the cliff side drops away in front of you giving way to the most spectacular view. Needless to say the staff were beyond charming and the bedrooms - even the smallest basic one that we opted for - were very pleasant. But if you're there in the summer you're not really going to spend that much time in your room. That is why the multiple terraces, each offering something slightly different, be it pool, spa, jacuzzi, bar or restaurant are what make this hotel. Each one is staffed by charming and attendent personnel and enjoys jaw dropping coast and ocean views. Whilst it's almost impossible to tear yourself away from the hotel, you must, to take advantage of its water fronting beach facility. A shuttle bus takes a certain number of guests down the windy cliff road each day delivering you into the capable hands of the hotel's private beach club. Loungers line a small flat area of cliff and warm sea waters lap almost at your feet. Swimming is magical and staff, again notably efficient. Loungers are comfortable with special pillows provided as head rests. Lunch can be taken up on a terrace with a wood fire oven serving the most delicious pizzas. Both the hotel and beach club lose the sun in the mid afternoon so be sure to make your way back to the 4th floor of the hotel to take in the last of the rays - it also has the best view and two hot tubs. We both wish we'd booked in to this magical hotel for longer and can't wait to return one day. Oh and remember to taste from the glass jars of sugared almonds in the lobby - each a slightly different flavour - heaven!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

I recently returned from a three night stay at the Palazzo and I have to say it really is the most fantastic hotel I have ever been to.

After a scary drive up (I am terrified of heights!) we were greeted by very friendly staff. I had previously arrange cigarettes to be in my room. I thought they had forgotten, but 5 mins later they were delivered. They made it clear that anything that was wanted would not be trouble.

The breakfasts are superb - everything is present nicely and the fresh scrambled eggs a delight! The staff are so attentive they even got to know our habits - i.e when we normally wanted our eggs, how we like our coffee etc, etc.

The pool area is stunning, and so is the spa. The staff at the pool are also very attentive and again knew what we wanted before we did! Before I could even get up and ask for a cushion one was placed under my head!

The food was again fantastic. I would highly recommend eating in the 2 Michelin starred restaurant - it isn't cheap, but one of the best meals of my life.

Go here - you won't forget it!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 6 nights on the last leg of our honeymoon trip and I had been looking forward to it for ages, as it was recommended to us by someone who had stayed there the previous summer. What a beautiful place. The terrace bar and the pool are great, but rooftop jacuzzi area is amazing and seemed little used so we got it to ourselves a lot of the time. The clubhouse is fantastic, nothing better than being on the bathing platform and then popping up for a salad or pizza from the wood fired oven and a glass of wine.
Concierge service made trips to Pompeii and to the airport super easy via private car. A rather more pleasant way to travel than by local taxi - some scary driving on some seriously narrow roads!!!
Breakfast is worth a special mention, fantastic. Great fresh fruit and eggs to order.
On the slightly less positive note, I was slightly upset on arrival that, although we had advised them it was our honeymoon, they clearly hadn't noted it, or didn't mention it. The note in the room was addressed to my husband 'and guest.' Also our room was rather smaller than photos had led us to believe, and very thin walls meant we had the pleasure of not only listening to our own toilet constantly refilling throughout the night, but our neighbour's too! These things are all that stopped it getting a five for me. Stunning place.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Silver, New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The re-named Palazzo Avino is probably one of the greatest hotels and resorts in the world. In my opinion, there is no other resort that offers the service, ambiance, view etc. I have traveled to many places hotels, and resorts and this is tops-

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Again returning for the 9th time with friends and the staff can not do enough for you.
Antonio, Jaquline, Mara, Vittorio, Gerardo et al are at your bek and call. food is over the top and the views are spectacular! I hope to return for number 10 next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Avino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.