We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The combination of Spectacular view and attentive service!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Avino

Save Saved
You added Palazzo Avino to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Palazzo Avino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Tbilisi, Georgia
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“The combination of Spectacular view and attentive service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had a lunch at Palazzo Sasso during our day tour to Ravello. What can I say... this is a great hotel, with a spectacular view to the sea and mountains.
As I could see , the hotel is in a real " palazzo" style, and it's really royal in a way!
The food was deliciouse and the service was great!
If you are planning to stay in Ravello for the whole vacation, overnight, or just to have a lunch, this is a place to go! Plus Palazzo Sasso is a member of " I prefer" boutique hotels. card holders of " I Prefer" , please take it into consideration. You can be upgraded upon availability!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

421 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    354
    36
    15
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
246
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I go to this hotel every year and it never disappoints. The service is amazing and the scenery is breathtaking. We have had some of our favorite dinners at Rossellinis, and Sasso by the Sea is an excellent addition to the facilities. Finally, I had a conference call on the last day of our visit, after we had checked out, and the staff graciously made arrangements for me to use one of their offices and even offered to make me a coffee during the call!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is a truly special hotel. We stayed here when we got married in September & they made us feel very special from the moment we walked-in.
We booked a standard mountain view room & they were kind enough to upgrade us to a sea-view on our last night. Despite being a mountain view it was still a lovely view and the big windows open-up so you can hear the subtle noise of people walking on the path below - it gives a great atmosphere to your stay in beautiful Ravello.
The rooms are not that big (the mountain view rooms especially) so it was a bit of a squash getting ready for a wedding with the make-up & hair & family but we still managed. The luxurious comfort of the room more than made-up for the size.We also received a welcome bottle of fizz & a parting bottle of limoncello and the staff were charming & perfect in every way.
The hotel is contemporary luxury in a historical palazzo building with amazing views just a few minutes away from the main square & in a good position for a lot of the other good hotels .
The food is delicious - we had a lovely breakfast on the terrace every morning & delicious lunches - I'm sure dinner would blow you away! (By the way, the cappuccino's are the lightest puff of a heavenly cloud - we couldn't stop drinking them!)
The cherry on the top is their seaside villa which is a slice of heaven as you lie on the rocks by the sea totally doted-on by their staff who attend to your every whim!
The staff here make this the best hotel in the world - Antonio is the most charming man we have ever met. Nothing was too much trouble.
It is truly amazing here & we wouldn't stay anywhere else if we returned - and return we will !

Room Tip: Definitely worth getting a sea view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aldington
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

Excellent welcome by kind attentive staff. room was beautifull looking out on to sea and hills.We even got to choose bedding materials we prefered..Breakfast buffet excellent and varied again with friendly and very attentive service.Gorgeous building design and colour with the faded grandeur of the palace that it was.Pool in wonderfull setting on one of the lower terraces.Be aware , there are a lot of steps to the different levels!!.Eating on the terraces was such a pleasure.However... the michelin starred restaurant was overpriced and the food was not that good. best to eat out in one of the many local bistros.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Palazzo Sasso is one of the finest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Words cannot describe the view or the beauty of the hotel itself. The hotel is an old palazzo perched over 1,000 feet above the sea. The grounds and hotel itself are gorgeous. It's location is ideal- a short 3 min walk to the center square yet far enough away from the daily crowds (which are small for the Amalfi Coast). The service was very good (although not as good as our stay at the Sirenuse in Positano). The private beach club is magnificent. The decor is a bit modern yet classy and respectful of tradition. The spa is wonderful. You can use the steam room and sauna for free during your stay. I could go on for days about this hotel. Really fantastic. I would highly, highly recommend.

The rooms are a bit small but comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. The fittings and faucets were gorgeous. They provide bvlgari soap, shampoo and body wash which are not sold anywhere in the world. I would suggest stocking up while there!

We also looked at the Caruso which is another beautiful hotel. The hotels are right next to each other. The grounds of the Caruso cannot be beat. Also the food was better at the Caruso (best pizza of our vacation). The scene was a bit more traditional and quieter at the Caruso while it was lively at the Sasso. You cannot go wrong with either; however, for the price I think the Sasso is a better bet.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room with a small balcony (large enough to stand but not sit) which was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

When you first peer through the doors to this paradise, you know it will be a special visit. The view of the Amalfi coast and the surrounding mountainside is exquisite. The service, the breakfast buffet, and the facilitiy at their Sasso by the Sea are outstanding. Our room was four stars...five marble steps to the bathroom was inconvenient; and no view. However, we spent little time in our room. The 5 minute walk to the town square was easy and Ravello is charming and quiet. A beautiful place to have a wedding or honeymoon. They gave us a bottle of sparkling wine on our arrival and we enjoyed every drop on their lovely bar patio. Lovely!!!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The view from our room was the best I have ever seen from a hotel room. The staff was the best I have experienced in a long time. They were fast and happy with any request. The breakfast buffet was great. The building has the whitewashed look typical in this area, and it appeared to have been painted the day before we arrived. I never saw a single blemish or mark on a wall anywhere in the hotel including our room. I was surprised that the rooms are small, but this is Europe and it is an older building, though totally updated. The bath was excellent, great showerhead. In spite of the smallish size, I have no problem with the price of the room. And, again, the staff is excellent at all levels.

Room Tip: A sea-view room is really important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#2 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Avino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.