We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magical hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Palazzo Avino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Palazzo Avino to your Saves list
Palazzo Avino
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Magical hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Palazzo Sasso is one of the finest hotels I have ever had the pleasure of visiting. Words cannot describe the view or the beauty of the hotel itself. The hotel is an old palazzo perched over 1,000 feet above the sea. The grounds and hotel itself are gorgeous. It's location is ideal- a short 3 min walk to the center square yet far enough away from the daily crowds (which are small for the Amalfi Coast). The service was very good (although not as good as our stay at the Sirenuse in Positano). The private beach club is magnificent. The decor is a bit modern yet classy and respectful of tradition. The spa is wonderful. You can use the steam room and sauna for free during your stay. I could go on for days about this hotel. Really fantastic. I would highly, highly recommend.

The rooms are a bit small but comfortable. The bathroom was beautiful. The fittings and faucets were gorgeous. They provide bvlgari soap, shampoo and body wash which are not sold anywhere in the world. I would suggest stocking up while there!

We also looked at the Caruso which is another beautiful hotel. The hotels are right next to each other. The grounds of the Caruso cannot be beat. Also the food was better at the Caruso (best pizza of our vacation). The scene was a bit more traditional and quieter at the Caruso while it was lively at the Sasso. You cannot go wrong with either; however, for the price I think the Sasso is a better bet.

Room Tip: We had a sea view room with a small balcony (large enough to stand but not sit) which was very nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    38
    15
    11
    6
See reviews for
49
280
2
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Munster, Indiana
Top Contributor
209 reviews 209 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012 via mobile

When you first peer through the doors to this paradise, you know it will be a special visit. The view of the Amalfi coast and the surrounding mountainside is exquisite. The service, the breakfast buffet, and the facilitiy at their Sasso by the Sea are outstanding. Our room was four stars...five marble steps to the bathroom was inconvenient; and no view. However, we spent little time in our room. The 5 minute walk to the town square was easy and Ravello is charming and quiet. A beautiful place to have a wedding or honeymoon. They gave us a bottle of sparkling wine on our arrival and we enjoyed every drop on their lovely bar patio. Lovely!!!

Stayed September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugar Land, Texas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

The view from our room was the best I have ever seen from a hotel room. The staff was the best I have experienced in a long time. They were fast and happy with any request. The breakfast buffet was great. The building has the whitewashed look typical in this area, and it appeared to have been painted the day before we arrived. I never saw a single blemish or mark on a wall anywhere in the hotel including our room. I was surprised that the rooms are small, but this is Europe and it is an older building, though totally updated. The bath was excellent, great showerhead. In spite of the smallish size, I have no problem with the price of the room. And, again, the staff is excellent at all levels.

Room Tip: A sea-view room is really important.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

OMG what an amazing place!
The facility is beautiful....and the rooms are lovely...unfortunately, we did not have a room with a view....while the room is spacious, the bathrooms are too small with very little space to put any toiletries....only one sink and not an inch of space to move about!
The staff is at your beck and call at all times...they can not do enough for you...answering questions, making reservations, suggesting dining, etc
Ravello is much less touristy than the rest of the amalfi coast....as yet still unspoiled!
the hotel has property on the sea...Sasso by the Sea which is reachable by a shuttle run by the hotel...takes about 20 minutes to get there but once there it is amazing....restaurant, changing areas, salt water pool and access to the sea!

Room Tip: I would inquire if any rooms have larger bathrooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kihei, Hawaii
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Situated high on the hill, on the outskirts of town overlooking the mountains and the sea, Palazzo Sasso truly is a paradise in the clouds. From the moment you walk into the hotel, the staff is amazing. They are happy to answer questions, suggest dining and entertainment options and make reservations.

The rooms are clean and comfortable, with spectacular views. The rooms and the bathrooms are a bit small (with not much counterspace in the bathroom), but the rainshower is wonderful. The closet in our room was a good size, and we did have plenty of storage in our room.

The grounds are immaculately maintained with beautiful views from the restaurants, pools and even the outdoor gym.

The hotel is conveniently located a few steps from the town square, within easy walking distance of restaurants and shopping. Ravello is a wonderful little town that hasn't become quite as touristy as the rest of the Amalfi coast.

If you are a fan of the ocean, I would recommend visiting Sasso by the Sea. The hotel owns property oceanside and will shuttle you down and back (it's about a 15 minute ride). Sasso by the Sea has a restaurant, changing rooms, salt water pool, and ocean access. The staff is very attentive and you can't beat swimming in the sea!

The hotel is a little pricey, but totally worth it if you'd like to be guaranteed great service and beautiful views.

We will definitely visit Ravello again, and Sasso will be our hotel of choice.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

We were very satisfied with our experience with the hotel. We had a partial seaview room that was beautiful, but was somewhat small, especially the lack of closet space. The rainshower and large bathtub were outstanding though. We took the shuttle to the Sasso Beach which is about a 20 minute ride away, but was very relaxing with outstanding service. The walk to the main square is about 5 minutes with a decent number of shops for a small town. The service is outstanding.

Room Tip: Worth the extra money to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

This part of the amalfi coast is utterly enchanting, and Palazzo Sasso is stunning. If money is no object then treat yourself to a stay at Palazzo Sasso. This is one of the few top class hotels that I would recommend for families. The staff were very obliging and there is enough to keep all ages entertained,

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Palazzo Avino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palazzo Avino

Address: Via San Giovanni del Toro 28, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#1 Spa Hotel in Ravello
#2 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Palazzo Avino 5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palazzo Avino is a stunning five-star deluxe hotel on Italy's famed Amalfi coast. Built in what was once a 12th century private villa for an Italian noble family, it has been rated as one of the world's finest hotels and boasts one-star Michelin dining. Tucked away in the medieval hilltop village of Ravello and perched high on the cliffs, 350 m (1,000 ft) above the sparkling Mediterranean. You can enjoy a candle light dinner served in our awarded Rossellinis restaurant or a delicious casual meal at Caffe dell'Arte or Terrazza Belvedere that during the evening becames Lobster & Martini Bar with more of 80 cocktails Martini. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Palazzo Avino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palazzo Sasso Hotel Ravello
Palazzo Sasso Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Palazzo Avino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.