We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bizantina, 3 | Località Marmorata, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 20 hotels in Ravello
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a really wonderful stay here. The location is stunning, the staff are lovely and very friendly and the food in the restaurant is really excellent. The room we stayed in was pretty basic but the shower was good enough and the housekeeping was brilliant- fresh towels, sheets and cleaning all the time.

The breakfast was lovely- something for everybody- fresh fruit, pastries, eggs, ham, cereal, toast, tea coffee and juices.

The restaurant has a beautiful view over the bay and is very romantic. They have a couple of new dishes on the menu everyday- we ate there 4 days out of the 7! it was very good.

I think it is imperative that you have a car if you stay here as there isn't that much around within easy walking distance.

Over all a really relaxing and lovely stay - We would definitely come back.

Room Tip: I would opt for a room with a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmorataalbergo, Proprietario at BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Thank you for your review, I am glad you enjoyed all the amenities of the hotel including breakfast and restaurant.
Manuela Camera d'Afflitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    152
    77
    20
    4
    3
See reviews for
43
136
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

After seeing photos of this place, I knew I had to stay here. It's not cheap, but worth EVERY penny we spent. We opted for an ocean view with a balcony (Room 211) which was an upgrade, but it's what MADE the experience. We had a small balcony which overlooked the Mediterranean. Stunning! You come here to relax, so if you don't relax at the hotel, you miss the point. We had dinner the first night at the hotel and really enjoyed everything we ate. I especially loved my Limoncello mixed drink (can't remember the name, but it's first on their drink list, order it!). I spent hours relaxing on their floaty rafts in the sea and forgot about every care in the world. We went up to Ravello for a half day, too, which was spectacular. We knew we didn't want to spend much time in Positano or Amalfi (as they are crowded and touristy) so Ravello was perfect. Plenty to do as there were some tourists and fabulous pottery shops and restaurants. Know that the hotel is not in the city limits of Ravello (which is at the top of the hill) but down on the water. This is why we booked this hotel...the sea!! Breakfast was also plentiful and tasty. The hotel has a free shuttle to Amalfi and back once per day. Once in Amalfi, you catch the bus to Ravello. OR, get in the SITA bus towards Amalfi and get off at the Ravello stop. Wait there for the next bus to go up to the top of the hill to Ravello. The hotel had some bus tickets for us to buy. Easy. Now...be warned: if you have not driven on the famous Amalfi coast drive, be warned...it is frightening!!! All of our bus drivers were talking on their cells (which is illegal in Italy) and it was scary. But, we survived :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmorataalbergo, Proprietario at BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
thanks so much for your wonderful description, in a few words gave much information about our hotel
thanks

Manuela Camera d'Afflitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

The location is a littleout of Minori on one of the worst stretches of highway you will ever find. You can't see the hotel from the narrow windy road and could easily miss the entrance.
Parking is an experience best dealt with by the hotel service. Be very careful on exit.
The service was extremely good and we had wished to have booked to stay in the hotel itself, which was smart and classy.
Not a typical Best Western - A cut above everything else on this area of the Italian coast.
The food selection was excellent, the wines were excellent - try the local white, Furore.
The Ravioli was very good.
The Bianco di Pollo really waswhite chicken - taste, don't look.

We liked it so much that we came back a few days later and loved it even more the second time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmorataalbergo, Proprietario at BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
I'm glad you've found our hotel so comfortable to decide to return after just a few days.
It is true the road from us is a bit complicated, but that's part of the magic of the Amalfi Coast.

Best Regards

Manuela Camera d'Afflitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The hotel is well appointed with beautiful views. The room was lovely and spacious and very comfortable. The staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble. Dinner on the terrace is stunning and the food is really good, with a new menu every day. Swimming in the Mediterranean using their private sunbathing location was a joy. In all we would thoroughly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmorataalbergo, Proprietario at BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, responded to this review, October 6, 2013
Thanks for the nice words, I am glad to have spent a pleasant holiday at Marmorata Hotel

Manuela Camera d'Afflitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Stayed here with three friends on a trip to Amalfi while we were touring Italy. We were looking for a place to stay in Ravello and came across the Best Western name. This hotel is nothing like a typical "best western." It has a privately owned feel to it. It's quiet and located in a beautiful spot. The drive down to the entrance was filled with flowers hanging over head and to the side. You could tell they took great care of their property. The people were very helpful and our rooms were clean. Both our rooms were decorated in a nautical style. We had breakfast there in the mornings looking out over the ocean, and the walk down to the ocean was just a few steps so it was easily accessible. We took cabs to Amalfi but the hotel has a bus service.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmorataalbergo, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks a lot from all the hotel marmorata staff!

Manuela Camera d'Afflitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

I stayed at this property on a two-week road trip in Italy with my boyfriend and, out of 7 hotels around the country, this was by far our favourite. Don't let the Best Western name put you off because this does not feel like a chain hotel!

As soon as we drove down the floral entrance to the hotel (it's a steep hill down but attendants park your car for you) we felt as though we were somewhere special. Of course, the location has a lot to do with that. Set in the cliffs with a swimming pool and sunbathing area overlooking the ocean (the hotel also has its own section of the sea roped off for guests), there is no need to leave the hotel if you're after a relaxing, romantic getaway. That said, Minori and Positano are a short drive away if you fancy venturing nearby.

The restaurant on the terrace serves great food for lunch and dinner (seafood in particular) and the complimentary breakfast in the bar is plentiful.

During our stay, staff in the hotel, at the restaurant and by the pool were friendly and attentive and the rooms were immaculate.

We did NOT want to leave!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmorataalbergo, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
thank you very much, these beautiful review give us the right energy to continue our work with pleasure.

Manuela Camera d'Afflitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It was difficult to find a hotel that fit 4 of us in a room AND offered unique experiences for both adult and children. Hotel Marmorata provided comfortable rooms and bathrooms as well as an interesting property layout that kept our children (10 & 8) busy all day. The ocean access is fun for kids and adults with quick access to the pool, drinks, and snacks. It's close enough to Amalfi so you can take the ferry to Capri, Positano and the surrounding areas. You will need to drive into the area but park your car and stick to cabs or public transport beyond that. The staff is wonderful, assisting with arrangements even before our arrival. The in-house restaurant changes it's menu nightly but closes early. My only recommendation is to provide longer hours for the beach/pool attendant, specially since the sun doesn't set until very late during summer.

Room Tip: This hotel is a bit out of the way so if your plan is to have a nightlife, stay closer to Positano...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marmorataalbergo, Owner at BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
I'm glad you have been found our hotel so comfortable and thank you for leaving a so nice review

Manuela Camera dìAfflitto
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata

Also Known As:
Best Western Marmorata
Best Western Ravello
Ravello Best Western
Address: Bizantina, 3 | Località Marmorata, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#6 Family Hotel in Ravello
#8 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmorata resort is a 4 stars hotel situated in Ravello on a wonderful cliff in a lovely, quiet and small bay, in the heart of the divine Amalfi Coast.The Hotel was an ancient paper-mill dating from the 15th century and thanks to the clever renovation and the antique marine style furnishing, it is unique in this enchanting inlet of the coast.Comfortable rooms with sea view, hydro-massage swimming-pool with landing stage, fitness-room and free parking are available to guests.From “L’Antica Cartiera”, the inside hotel restaurant, our guests could enjoy a wonderful sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Venere, Escapio and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.