We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel and wonderful food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bizantina, 3 | Località Marmorata, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Freehold, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“great hotel and wonderful food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

the place is done in a nautical look. Great view from the point between Ravello and Minori.
The mussels with cheese and lemon is to dye for. The menu from top to bottom is wonderful.
View, Food and local good wine it is the whole package. Also great place to stay, it ain't like Best Western here in the states, it is private own.

Room Tip: make sure to eat the breakfeast......
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    176
    84
    21
    5
    2
See reviews for
52
158
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed one night after a hectic (if spectacular) drive along most of the Amalfi Coast. This is about 3/4 of the way south, below Ravello, on cliff over the sea. When you enter your seaview room, you see only ocean -- it's like being on a ship. Extraordinarily helpful staff, beautiful terrace restaurant and bar, quirky antique nautical gems at every turn. Dinner at the restaurant was one of the highlights of a highlight-filled tour of Italy -- superb service and fabulous food, most with local ingredients (including lemon sorbet from the hotel's lemon trees). Luxury yachts touring the coast pulled into our cover for a sheltered night's rest. Pool is beautiful, views amazing. Service superb. Not a "modern" hotel, but an elegant and updated trip to the Amalfi Coast's glorious history -- a time with less traffic jams and bus tours, and more beauty, charm, and service. What a find!

Room Tip: Definitely, definitely a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This old paper making factory makes a lovely hotel, although no clues now exist as to its history. The staff are very polite and helpful. (We returned to our room one day to find a leak in our bathroom, and it was attended to within 3 minutes of making a phone call to reception.)
As previous reviewers have mentioned, it is worth requesting/paying for a sea view room.
The breakfast consisted of a comprehensive buffet catering for all European tastes.
Evening dinner offered plenty of choice, with a menu changed daily.
We found the cocktails comparatively generous and inexpensive when compared to other places we have visited.
The hotel offers a free transfer service, several times a day, to Amalfi. This is great if you plan a trip to Capri, as you can catch the return service back to the hotel in the evening.
Having hired a car from Naples, we managed to drive ourselves to most places. But, I guess the Amalfi Coast Road is not for the faint hearted! It certainly adds to the experience!

We arrived from the Salerno side, and I would say that Hotel Marmorata would be more accurately addressed as Minori rather than Ravello. Ravello is another 5km further on up the mountain side. So to suddenly come upon a sign for the hotel on the road side about 1.5km outside Minori, was quite a surprise. Negotiatng the narrow/steep and winding driveway was interesting, but the staff then took the keys and parked the car somewhere safe.
The front of the hotel doesn't do it justice, so it was a great relief to exit the narrow lift into a reception area which looked out over the sea.
There are lots of places to sit and admire the views, from the terraces above, where you can also eat/drink, to the terraces below where you can sun bath, and swim.
We had a great time, and have no hestitation in recommending Hotel Marmorata.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a (sea) view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Away from the eaches and crowds and on it's own rocky shore. The hlteo is better than any of the in town hotels where we have stayed. There is no beach, but there is a nice area to sit out in the sun and also excellent for swimming. The rooms vary in quality, but who goes to the Amalfi coast to sit in a room?
Staff is great and everything was clean and well-cared for.

Room Tip: Most rooms have views and you'll certainly want a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Id promised for many years to take my wife to the Italian Riviara so wanted a nice hotel. I came across this one by accident while searching the web. The hotel is in a stunning location, clinging to the cliff face overlooking the Amalfi coast, open the shuuers in my room and I was looking straight down into the sea. The room was clean, spacious and well equipped, including a spa bath. The staff are all very friendly and helpful, the restaurant serves lovely traditional Italian food and great buffet breakfast.
I would recommend hiring a car if you're staying here because access is via a main road some distance out of the town, tho the local bus does stop right outside.
As well as the Riviara coast this place is ideal for other sights such as Vesuvious, Pompi, Herculanium.
I will hopefully visit this hotel again soon

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

Friendly and efficient staff, together with a beautiful location over the sea [and below the road so that you get no noise other than the sound of water - blissful]. A friend and I stayed for a long weekend visiting Ravello, Sorrento and Pompei. The hotel was a perfect base from which to travel around. In the evening the meal was beautifully presented and we received the utmost courtesy - as two middle aged ladies we are used to being invisible in so many establishments, but at the Marmorata they observed the old-world courtesy and we were made to feel valued and treasured instead of an inconvenience. I will definitely stay here again and plan on dragging my husband here next time for a romantic break.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We came here for our twenty fifth wedding anniversary in June 2012. The hotel is fantastic, everywhere is immaculate. Excellent selection for breakfast. Beautiful views across the bay whilst sunbathing on the terraces. Staff very helpful especially the guy who worked the tables around the pool area/terraces. Tour to Capri definetely worth it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata

Address: Bizantina, 3 | Località Marmorata, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
#5 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmorata resort is a 4 stars hotel situated in Ravello on a wonderful cliff in a lovely, quiet and small bay, in the heart of the divine Amalfi Coast.The Hotel was an ancient paper-mill dating from the 15th century and thanks to the clever renovation and the antique marine style furnishing, it is unique in this enchanting inlet of the coast.Comfortable rooms with sea view, hydro-massage swimming-pool with landing stage, fitness-room and free parking are available to guests.From “L’Antica Cartiera”, the inside hotel restaurant, our guests could enjoy a wonderful sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Orbitz, Escapio, BookingOdigeoWL and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marmorata
Best Western Ravello
Ravello Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.