We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT QUITE SURE!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bizantina, 3 | Località Marmorata, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Chatham.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“NOT QUITE SURE!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2011

If you like unusual, out of the way venues, then this hotel is for you. The original building was a paper mill built in the 15th century and now has a further more modern accommodation block. We were in the old part which was set almost in the cliff face and which also meant our room was a bit murky. There are a lot of steps to negotiate within the hotel grounds and parent's of small children would have to keep a close watch. Couldn't fault the cleanliness of the room though and the linen and towels were changed daily. The reception, bar and breakfast staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurant afforded very little choice and was very expensive, as were the drinks. Although the hotel is situated in a beautiful location, its a 20 minute walk to the nearest towns and you have to be very careful as there are no pathways. Local buses are good value for money but expect to wait an hour if one is withdrawn from service unexpectedly!

Room Tip: Sea view available for $20pp per night!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    171
    85
    22
    5
    2
See reviews for
50
155
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kent
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2011

Hotel is located on a cliff edge by the roadside and very close to the sea, so it can be noisy at times. Out of the way so be prepared to walk, pay for very expensive taxis rides into nearest towns, or await a very erratic bus service if you want to go anywhere. Car hire is not recommended unless you have nerves of steel! Good mobility is also essential as there are loads of steps and steep slopes throughout the hotel and grounds. Hotel was a bit quirky in its layout.
The hotel staff, apart from the owner (who barely acknowledged us) and the restaurant manager (who was begrudging in his service and overcharged us on a number of occasions) were lovely and very helpful. The rooms were tired but kept spotlessly clean, with clean bed linen and towels daily. Hanging space is minimal so bring folding clothes, and books unless you want to just watch BBC or CNN news daily on the TV. The hotel restaurant was poor with minimal choice so we ate out on all but 2 occasions during the holiday, they also charge hotel guests a cover charge even if you want a light lunch so be prepared to pay this it was approx £3.00 per head on each occasion. Breakfast was however good; fresh and plentiful.
The area is beautiful and well worth a visit. Hotel is not recommended for children though the area is a bit hazardous and very quiet with no entertainment.

Room Tip: no balconies, extra charge for sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

Location location location. Set into the cliff, this hotel has breathtaking views. The view from our room looked like a postcard. Nice size room and nice sized bathroom with jacuzzi tub. They give you slippers and bath robes, a plus. We didn't use the pool or swim in the ocean, so I can't comment on that. Concierge was helpful getting bus routes and times. Had a wonderful meal at the hotel.

Free wireless internet! PLUS!

Only comment I have that isn't a shining compliment, is that is really isn't in Ravello. It is more in Amalfi. The bus stop to get to the hotel is on the autostrada and there really isn't anywhere to stand. Seemed a bit dangerous.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingsport, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2010

My wife and I finished up our stay in Italy at Hotel Marmorata and loved every minute of it. The staff there was fantastic. We had several prearranged trips and our schedule was already laid out for us on arrival. Some rain caused a bit of scheduling trouble, but they rearranged everything without a hitch. We had the misfortune of being there during the mudslide in Atrani. We were held up in Amalfi and were prepared to take the late bus back or walk because traffic was at a stand still. We had even called the hotel and they said they couldn't get through. Well, considering the circumstances, we were very understanding and were ready to walk back - no probelm. In a few minutes, before we could even get out of Amalfi, a guy on a scooter whistles at us. It is Antonio from Hotel Marmorata (I hope he doesn't mind me naming him) come to take us back. He takes my wife first and then returns for me. Now is that commitment to make sure your guests are taken care of?! Yes! The food there is great, the staff is friendly, the view is beautiful, and they will always be special to us.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2010

We stayed there for a week and enjoyed it very much. The room was quite small, but enough for us, bed was comfortable (in fact two adjoined beds), the place was clean and the maid would visit twice a day to make up the bed and refill the minibar. It would have been great to have a balcony, the view is really spectacular.

I can confirm the negative reviews on the pool and sea area policy - we did get yelled at in our first day for moving a lounge chair, but other than that it was OK, we asked the pool boy to do it for us and he did. We found the reception staff to be friendly and helpful.

The restaurant was OK, with friendly staff and good service. The food was not stellar, but the view was very nice and dinner was very romantic on the terrace with the moon shining over the sea. I can recommend the grilled calamari with rosemary and the vegetarian lasagna. Did not like their lamb.

A friend of mine recommended me this hotel and I would not hesitate to recomend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Marmorata for 3 nights in July 2010. We had stayed previously at Villa Scarpariello which was amazing (and just down the road), but unfortunately it was full for our return so we found ourselves at Hotel Marmorata (which was more expensive at 200EUR per night vs the 180EUR we paid at Scarpariello).

Hotel Marmorata is just OK - it's an old hotel which can feel dated or charming, depending on your mood. Unfortunately the service pushes it more towards the dated side. Rooms are small and basic, with the main drawback being a lack of balcony to be able to enjoy the view.

The location is good though, with easy access to sunbake and jump into the sea from the swimming platform. But this swimming area is run so as to suck the relaxation out of it - it feels like a school camp with an overly aggressive "pool area co-ordinator".

For example, during our time there, my partner and I came down to a relatively empty pool area, and set up on a couple of sun lounges. Within 2 minutes the "pool area co-ordinator" came to tell us that we were not allowed to use 2 long sun lounges. The allocation per room was 1 long lounge and 1 chair. With this he demanded one of us get up, and he dragged one of the long lounges 5 metres away where it sat, unused with a stack of other long lounges for the entire time we were there.

Now I can fully understand if the area is full and long sun lounges scarce that a fair way of allocating them is required. But to so aggressively enforce the "sunbed allocation rules" when the area is near empty makes no sense at all. It is just stupid and petty, and makes for a not very relaxing atmosphere. Surely some discretion is required.

Or here's a thought - when charging 200EUR a night perhaps buy a few extra sun lounges to get around the "allocation" issue?

It may sound trivial, but this is just indicative of the service experience at Marmorata. I would look for other options. But failing that, this hotel is acceptable but not outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tirana, Albania
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2010

Were the best days of our vacations
The views are excellent, well maintained and the relaxed atmosphere, excellent friendly staff and they were very helpful, very good food and general facilities to a good/high standard. We would certainly stay again.

Leka Family

Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata

Address: Bizantina, 3 | Località Marmorata, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#5 Family Hotel in Ravello
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Marmorata resort is a 4 stars hotel situated in Ravello on a wonderful cliff in a lovely, quiet and small bay, in the heart of the divine Amalfi Coast.The Hotel was an ancient paper-mill dating from the 15th century and thanks to the clever renovation and the antique marine style furnishing, it is unique in this enchanting inlet of the coast.Comfortable rooms with sea view, hydro-massage swimming-pool with landing stage, fitness-room and free parking are available to guests.From “L’Antica Cartiera”, the inside hotel restaurant, our guests could enjoy a wonderful sea view ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Marmorata
Best Western Ravello
Ravello Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Hotel Marmorata, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.