We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent creative meal!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Il Flauto di Pan

Il Flauto di Pan
Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
+39 089 857459
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 40 Restaurants in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $63 - $94
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Within the historic walls of the Villa Cimbrone, we invite you to savor an enchanting culinary experience at "Il Flauto di Pan", our gourmet restaurant. A symphony of flavors, aromas and colors awaits you, bringing together the beauty, gastronomy and emotion of the Mediterranean. The Amalfi Coast's proud history provides inspiration for a menu that strikes harmony between renowned culinary traditions and the creative artistry of our award-winning chef and his own staff. The gourmet restaurant is only open in the evening. Max 35 seats. Reservation is required.
Fort Lee, New Jersey
Level Contributor
130 reviews
96 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent creative meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was an excellent experience. We had been their previously and wasn't that impressed but this time the meal was extremely creative and delicious. We had made a reservation long in advance but were not able to sit on the terrace which had a spectacular view. We had been warned that they leave these for their hotel guests.
The dining staff was wonderful led by a very well-versed Maitre D.
We loved the "Tomato Soup" which was a delight and a real piece of art to be devoured.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank Andrea K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Rating summary
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious food, wonderful view, though not cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

We had trouble getting a reservation initially - not sure why as the restaurant was only half full. However, we had a lovely lunch. The view of the gardens of the Villa Cimbrone is quite spectacular and made a lovely lunch even more special. Service was a bit stand offish at first - may have been because we had our 3 year old with us but there were 8 adults and 2 teenages and 1 toddler - not sure what they thought we should do - leave her at home? That said it's probably not the place for a child friendly meal. The food was lovely not tricked up just beautiful produce well cooked. The service warmed up over time. Overall it was a wonderful, though expensive, experience. It was 3 times the price of many other lovely restaurants that we ate at around Amalfi, that said I do understand why.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Thank intrepidvoyager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We were looking forward to our meal here during our stay in Ravello especially after reading the good reviews We arrived at 7 45 for our meal thinking we would have a relaxing drink first but we were shown straight to our table (in hindsight we should have said we wanted a drink in the bar) The bread and very large amuse bouche arrived quickly , swiftly followed by the starter By 8 15 we said we wanted to slow the meal down but was told we couldn't because the chef had already prepared it We said it was not a fast food restaurant but it was served anyway We have visited many Michelin star restaurants around the world and this was not what we expected I had the lamb and the potatoes were very hard My partner agreed By the time we finished neither of us felt like a dessert My partner had a coffee and we were out by 9 15

On the plus side the staff were apologetic but it was certainly not the night we had expected

  • Visited September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
1 Thank Tellippiatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
75 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great Sunday lunch with friends!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Booked two tables for a total of 14 people. We managed between ourselves to confuse booking but head waiter was extremely professional and attentive. the tables were set up a couple of times until eventually we found a space to put one table to accommodate everyone. Staff were extremely helpful and attentive despite our mistake. We shared pasta incalamarata, gnocchi, salad with burratta, the special fish of the day sea bass in aquapazzo style and linguine with clams. Food was very good, the exception was the special dish of the day (fish was less than 100 grams), miniscule portion but great taste. Rest of portions were goood. Extensive wine list in both whites and reds. Desert (lemon cake ) was excellent. The view in this place is amazing, the entire set up, atmosphere, gardens , overall a very unique experience. We tried to book for dinner as the menu changes and it has a great reputation but place was fully booked.

Visited September 2013
Thank solotsopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best overall dining experience to date”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We have eaten at our share of excellent and/ or otherwise highly rated restaurants. This was by far the best overall dining experience to date. This is truly a Michelin experience and, although expensive, delivered great value. The food was imaginative, beautifully presented, and flavourful. The staff were knowledgeable of the food (explaining 15+ ingredients in some of the dishes) and wine (great depth of explanation of local and other wines). The views from Villa Cimbrone, host location of the restaurant, must be among the most beautiful in the world. I believe the restaurant is well on its way to its next M-star. A couple tips - sit outside and order the tasting menu with wine pairing.

We were fortunate enough to be sitting outside under a clear sky and full moon, which lights up the sea below - truly a romantic experience.

Grazie Mille Il Flauto di Pan!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Il Flauto di Pan also viewed

Ravello, Amalfi Coast

Been to Il Flauto di Pan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing