We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The BEST!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Cimbrone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Cimbrone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Ravello
Irvine, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The BEST!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We are so thankful our very good friends had recommended Villa Cimbrone to us!! It did not disappoint! The views were infinitesimally gorgeous as were the gardens & grounds and the entire property was idyllic. The sea view/vista from our room was breath taking! We will absolutely recommend this over and over again and hope to return ourselves. The breakfasts made it easy to plan our day, starting with great fare and the birthday dinner for our friend was 5 star. In fact, the service everyday by all of the staff was first class--be sure to get to know Lidia Lodato as she can help you find them (when you finally give up and call) and she will get you booked but start early!! There are only 19 rooms and brides love it for destination weddings--it is so romantically charged . :) The only challenge is just finding it but that is half the allure....it is perched up in the heavens of Ravello.

Thanks for making it the best part of our trip to Italy!!

Room Tip: I can't imagine there is a bad room at the Villa Cimbrone, especially if budget is not an issue...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish first of all to thank you very much for taking the time to post your review.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your recent stay at Hotel Villa Cimbrone and that everything has met your expectations.

We forwarded your compliments to all our staff and look to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon to Villa Cimbrone to appreciate all its charm once again.

Best regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    137
    15
    5
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

beautiful view, one of the best place to look amalfi coast view.
with huge garden that you can walk around.
They feature gourmet restaurant which is michelin star.
it is hard to get reservation so remember to reserve it way in advance if you are interested to dine there.
you can also have beautiful wedding here as we were actually thinking of having wedding there.
only the problem is walk to this property...
It is really far from where you can drive.
so you have to park the car at the center of Ravello and you must just walk and its really not close and going up and down steps etc.
definitely not recommended for people who have bad foot or older.
But when you do get there, oh it is so worth it!!!!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all let us thank you for posting your review on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to read that you found our property an excellent Hotel, where you had a nice stay, enjoying our cuisine and private garden.

The Villa Cimbrone Hotel is 10 minutes walk from the centre of Ravello and this is a feature that makes it a unique place where have the chance to forget the noises that are part of our routine.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back soon to our Hotel, maybe for your wedding reception, in the near future.

Most Cordially,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough,England
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Lunch in the garden terrace is a delight. A walk around the gardens with its magnificent views followed by lunch is an experience not to be missed and is highly recommended.
The service was very professional.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback which we very much appreciated.

We are glad that you enjoyed either the breathtaking view that only Villa Cimbrone can offer and your lunch at our “Mediterranean Restaurant”.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the very nearest future.

Kindest regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington, New York
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

This hotel was magnificient. The grounds were gorgeous. The pool was magic. The staff was professional, knowledgeable and very accommodating. We had wonderful breakfasts there every morning as well. Conveniently located too!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are really pleased to read you enjoyed our Hotel de Charme and all our services.

In fact, we wish to emphasize how important is the satisfaction of our guests for us and how we are proud to know that our work is being recognized and rewarded.

Once again thank you for the wonderful review and looking forward to welcoming you back we send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manhattan Beach, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

I just returned from an amazing trip to Italy which was highlighted by our stay and wedding at Villa Cimrbone. The past year has been such an incredible experience and our wedding exceeded everyone's expectations. The staff is incredible and the hotel and grounds are stunning. The most accurate way I can describe this venue is that it feels like time stops when you are there. Perched at the top of Ravello, the views are endless and the gardens are like something out of A Secret Garden. We all stayed at Villa Cimbrone for 3 nights and had our wedding on the last evening. The food, weather, staff, venue were perfect and it felt as if we were living some sort of dream while we were there. While the gardens were open during our ceremony, there are plenty of places to go to take photos and our ceremony took place in a lower garden away from day visitors. It didn't bother me at all that the gardens were open and the ceremony was far enough away to not feel as though we were getting married in a fish bowl. We had dinner in the crypt which is hands down the best wedding dinner location I have ever experienced. It was such a unique experience and caused every one of our guests' jaws to dropped as they entered. After, we had dancing in the lower garden and at this point it was much later and the gardens were closed to the public. It was so special because it felt as though we were on top of the world dancing under the moon light.

Everything about our stay and wedding was perfect and I have now stayed at Villa Cimbrone twice and highly recommend it. Many people miss Ravello when visiting the Amalfi Coast because of the drive up into the hills but it is SO worth it. It is the most enchanting and beautiful place I have ever been to and to experience our wedding there felt like a real like fairy tale. Thank you Villa Cimbrone for a wedding of a lifetime!

Also, as a side note, a few shout outs to some of our vendors who were all incredible. Our photographer JoAnne Dunn was AMAZING and is reason enough to get married in Ravello (or anywhere in Italy for that matter!). I only regret that we weren't able to bring her home with us after the wedding! Also, our florist Armando (based in Ravello) was so talented and helpful. Finally, our band Family Funk was outstanding and had everyone dancing. They truly know what it takes to make you feel loved and special and I could not have asked for more from all of them.
Most importantly, they are just great people that make it impossible not to have the time of your life.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for staying once again at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, this time for your wedding.

We are very pleased to read your valuable review, and learn with great pleasure that we have made one of the most important day of your life special and unforgettable, just like you wanted.

Thank you once again and look forward to welcoming you back again to Hotel Villa Cimbrone, maybe for your first anniversary.

Warmest regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

If you love gardens, history and Italy this is the place for you. We stayed at Villa Cimbrone for three nights at the start of our honeymoon and it really was the highlight. We loved watching the sunset with a drink on the infinity terrace and wandering around the gardens and private hotel grounds. The pool is lovely and great after a day of hiking to the nearby towns. The surrounding area is full of beautiful walks. The restaurant is also very romantic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your kind review and for choosing Hotel Villa Cimbrone to celebrate you honeymoon.

We are glad to learn that you enjoyed every single aspect that makes magical our property.

The terrace of infinity is the ideal place to enjoy the views of the Amalfi Coast and its stunning sunsets.

Hoping to welcoming you back soon, maybe for your first anniversary, we send you our very best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altea, Spain
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

Just came back from having lunch at the Villa Cimbrone, and i must say it was just magical, like a scene from a classic romantic movie. The setting is just breathtaking, we had lunch out on the patio, over looking the pool and the views below of the Amalfi coastline.. Sevice was spotless, very professional and friendly. My wife, my 7 months old son and me were very well looked after, its nice to feel pampered every now and then. The lunch menu had a good variety of choice and the wine list was endless, all that we ordered was fresh, tasty and plated with passion. Diffenetly coming back with our family in the near future to experience this venue again. Take you again for a memorable experience

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your valuable review.

We are very happy to learn that you and your family enjoyed your lunch in the beautiful setting that our property offers and where you can experience the most amazing view of the Amalfi Coast

Looking forward to welcoming you to Villa Cimbrone once again, we send you our best wishes.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Cimbrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Address: Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Cimbrone 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Cimbrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cimbrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.