We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Cimbrone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Villa Cimbrone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #6 of 21 hotels in Ravello
Durham, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Spectacular setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We visited the gardens last year and decided to return and stay at the hotel for a couple of days. Every view is spectacular, even from the bathroom windows. The gardens are open to the public (fee to enter) from 9:30 until 7:30. If your a guest I would recommend an early breakfast and enjoy the gardens before they open. Attention to detail is what you would expect from a five star hotel, but the decor has to be appreciated from the perspective of a historic building rather than a luxury hotel. Wifi is only available in public areas, which was very disappointing and untypical of most hotels of this class. Spectacular pool. Excellent Michelin star restaurant. But the main attraction is the gardens, even if you don't stay they are well worth a visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your kind review.

We are glad to read that you have spent a few enjoyable days in Ravello and appreciated our Hotel, the food and the gardens.

Regarding the Wi-Fi, we avoided it in the rooms because university studies have shown that the electromagnetic radiation disturbs significantly the quality of sleep and, for this reason, we wish to ensure a high quality of sleep to our Guests during their relaxing stay with us.

Once again thank you for sharing your experience and looking forward to a future occasion to welcoming you back.

Warmest regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    136
    15
    5
    8
    9
See reviews for
25
102
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights here while on a Backroads tour. What a peaceful, intriguing property. My room (21) was huge, with beautiful high ceilings complete with frescos. I had a private patio which I enjoyed. Note that while there is very good wifi in public areas, you have to plug in if your are in your room. We had a group dinner, and it was amazing - the service was perfect. It is a bit of a walk from the piazza, but the seclusion is one of the things which makes it special. I didn't spend as much time in the gardens as I would have liked, but it is good to save something for the next trip.

Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, September 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for publishing your positive feedback.

It is a pleasure for us to read your words emphasizing our ancient Hotel and the fine gourmet cuisine of our Restaurant “Il Flauto di Pan”, 1 Michelin star.

Villa Cimbrone is an oasis of peace and tranquility where feeling pampered and looked after by our attentive staff.

We really hope to welcoming you back to experience once again the magical atmosphere of our property and take this opportunity to send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This is our third stay in the Villa. We have been traveling all other the world and experienced many beautiful places.
But Villa Cimbrone is unique. Yes I repeat unique. Heaven on Earth.
It's not just another hotel or palace , it's like being hosted by a special friend who just want to spoil you with no limits.
It's uniqueness lays on the site with its amazing view between sky and sea, the atmosphere of a private mansion with its beautiful and peaceful garden, and the exceptional kindness of all the staff who care about your happiness.
A very special mention for the original and delicious food.
We stayed one week and our only visit outside the Villa was to attend the " Concert alla alba ", another unique and moving experience.
Villa Cimbrone, wait for us ...We shall come back again and again, hopefully.
Daniel and Paula Buk , August 2013

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your kind review regarding our structure.

It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed your third stay with us and that once again you felt like at home here at Villa Cimbrone.

Every day we try to take care of our Guests with our hospitality, service and food quality, all embellished with timeless enchantment of our ancient residence and we are proud that we have satisfied your expectations, this time too.

Hoping to welcoming you over again to our Hotel, we send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ, USA
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We (wife and two sons - 11 and 14) stayed at Villa Cimbrone for 4 nights in early July in a junior suite. There are few places in world that can match the setting at Villa Cimbrone and I’d highly recommend staying there. Location, service, food, the pool – perfect! The hotel is an enjoyable 5 minute walk from the town square past restaurants, shops, a church, gardens, and views. Ravello is a beautiful but more relaxed town than some of the other towns on the coast. Our junior suite was large and airy with its vaulted fresco ceiling, though it was only large room for the 4 of us. My only criticism was the pullout couch where my son slept was very, very squeaky. The food is excellent (see dinner review of Il Flauto di Pan) and there is a nice breakfast each morning outside by the pool terrace. As others have mentioned hotel guests can also take advantage of the gardens in the early morning before they are opened to the public and at sunset. Lidia (and the entire staff) were very helpful – both before our stay and during our stay and helped us book a driver for the coast (she would have also booked boat excursions) and dinner reservations.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It’s a real pleasure for us to read your kind review and to hear that you enjoyed the day spent at Villa Cimbrone with your family.

We wish to thank you for your words regarding our structure and our Michelin star Restaurant “Il Flauto di Pan”. We forwarded your thanks to all the staff of our Hotel.

Regarding the pullout couch, we apologize for the problem that you have observed and thank you for your suggestion.

Hoping to welcoming you again to our Hotel, we send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A true retreat from a busy summer on the Amalfi Coast. Beautiful views and wonderful, understated service. Only problem is that you never want to leave once you arrive. Come to escape the madness, to relax and refresh yourself for rest of trip. Easy walk to town. Can't wait to return!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive feedback on our property.

We are glad to learn that you have found at Villa Cimbrone the relax and the tranquility for your holiday on the Amalfi Coast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy once again the breathtaking view that only Villa Cimbrone can offer and take this opportunity to send you our very best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Villa Cimbrone lived up to its promise and in our view was value for money - we spent just 111 euro for dinner for two. What matters even more than the briliant service, exquisite cuisine and fine beverages is the atmosphere. You can almost touch the ghosts of Jackie Kennedy, DH Lawrence, Richard Wagner, and Hollywood stars like Greta Garbo from the 1950s. We only dined at the restaurant but wished we'd stayed in the hotel accommodation. On the menu we opted for the pasta choices which feature Naples local cuisine and why not. We were so taken with the red wine from Ravello that we photographed the bottle in the hope of buying some next day in the town. The wine list in fact runs in to hundreds of bottles. Sadly, we couldn't get that year - 2006 - but we did buy a later vintage of the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were there just for the dinner and were just amazed by the quality of the Service, the meals and the environment...Just outstanding. Price is expensive, but more than reasonable according to what you get....
We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Cimbrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Address: Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Cimbrone 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Tingo, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Villa Cimbrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cimbrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.