We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Cimbrone
Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Paradise!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A true retreat from a busy summer on the Amalfi Coast. Beautiful views and wonderful, understated service. Only problem is that you never want to leave once you arrive. Come to escape the madness, to relax and refresh yourself for rest of trip. Easy walk to town. Can't wait to return!!!!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your positive feedback on our property.

We are glad to learn that you have found at Villa Cimbrone the relax and the tranquility for your holiday on the Amalfi Coast.

We look forward to welcoming you back to enjoy once again the breathtaking view that only Villa Cimbrone can offer and take this opportunity to send you our very best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    13
    3
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Villa Cimbrone lived up to its promise and in our view was value for money - we spent just 111 euro for dinner for two. What matters even more than the briliant service, exquisite cuisine and fine beverages is the atmosphere. You can almost touch the ghosts of Jackie Kennedy, DH Lawrence, Richard Wagner, and Hollywood stars like Greta Garbo from the 1950s. We only dined at the restaurant but wished we'd stayed in the hotel accommodation. On the menu we opted for the pasta choices which feature Naples local cuisine and why not. We were so taken with the red wine from Ravello that we photographed the bottle in the hope of buying some next day in the town. The wine list in fact runs in to hundreds of bottles. Sadly, we couldn't get that year - 2006 - but we did buy a later vintage of the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We were there just for the dinner and were just amazed by the quality of the Service, the meals and the environment...Just outstanding. Price is expensive, but more than reasonable according to what you get....
We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were married in Ravello and chose to stay at Villa Cimbrone. What an extraordinary place!

Its location in Ravello is unrivalled and the gardens and terraces were absolutely stunning, however the views from our room and terrace were just jaw-dropping. It really is as though you've gone back in time by one hundred years or so - unbelievably romantic.

We also chose to have our very small reception dinner on one of the hotel's private terraces, and were simply bowled over by the quality of service, the views and, of course, the food and wine. A special mention to our host and sommelier, Alfonso, for his knowledge, enthusiasm and professionalism. A most notable member of a top-flight, professional team.

We have stayed in many beautiful places around the world, and considering the importance of the occasion and the cost of our stay, intended to hold Villa Cimbrone to a very high standard. Happily, they more than exceeded our expectations and we would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Gorgeous place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you so much for your valuable words regarding our Hotel and its beautiful gardens.

The satisfaction of our Guests is our main goal along with the desire to give them the feeling of going back in time after crossing the sixteenth century doorway to enjoy the magical atmosphere and Hotel services.

We are, also, very pleased to hear that we were able to make unforgettable and special one of the most important day of your life.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the very nearest future, we take this opportunity to send you our kindest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are a lover of the Mediterranean and look for luxe, calme et volupte, no other place on the Med can compare to villa Cimbrone, suspended between sea and sky. The air is perfumed, the staff is gentle , smiling and helpful and the breakfast excellent. We went out of season so probably the experience was even better.
Warmly recommended!

Room Tip: can be hard to walk the way back and forth to the center if you have reduced mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments towards the team, the location and for appreciating the timeless dimension that reigns in our secular property.

We are very glad to learn that you really enjoyed the days spent with us and that you sincerely recommend our Hotel.

Thank you once again for having posted such a nice review, for which we are very grateful, and we really look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Villa Cimbrone.

Sincerely,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Villa Cimbrone is in a class of its own. We can hardly name a peer that rivals such a heavenly blend of history, beauty, intimacy and amenities. Lidia and everyone else on the staff (including the restaurant staff) are most helpful and gracious -- a big thank you to all of you! My husband and I are so glad that we picked this gem to mark our mutual birthday on our first trip to the Amalfi Coast. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: We loved our room No. 12 named tulip. It has French windows that open onto a narrow balcony. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your generous words and for choosing our Hotel to celebrate your mutual birthday.

Truly delighted that you enjoyed the service of the staff, the property overall, the location and its secular history.

It was a real pleasure to have the opportunity to welcoming you to Villa Cimbrone and we look forward to a future occasion.

With very best regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There is no reason to ever leave the Villa literally and metaphorically. The soft mountain air lulls you to sleep and the scent of the blossoms in the truly inspiring garden is balm for the soul. The hotel is petit with only 20 rooms but has its own michelin starred restaurant & garden for lunch and obligatory cocktails. (Fabulous watermelon martini cannot be bettered)

Rooms are cool, tastefully decorated and speak the Italianate-English charm of the former owner Lord Grimshaw who entertained the Bloomsbury groups members here.

The chef @ Il flauto di Pan is a disciple of the micro gastronomy. Bubbles of blue curaçao and peach jellies complement the fusion/Italian style. A meal here really is an occasion.

Staff are friendly and approachable and do everything to meet your wishes. I could live here easily. So quickly do you become spoilt :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Villa Cimbrone for your stay in Ravello and for leaving your positive review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the peacefulness and the enchanting scent of our gardens, and the creative cuisine of our Chef.

We truly hope to welcoming you back to experience once again the fascination of our property and take this opportunity to send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Cimbrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone
Address: Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Cimbrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cimbrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Cimbrone to your Saves list