We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Cimbrone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Cimbrone
Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Exquisite location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were married in Ravello and chose to stay at Villa Cimbrone. What an extraordinary place!

Its location in Ravello is unrivalled and the gardens and terraces were absolutely stunning, however the views from our room and terrace were just jaw-dropping. It really is as though you've gone back in time by one hundred years or so - unbelievably romantic.

We also chose to have our very small reception dinner on one of the hotel's private terraces, and were simply bowled over by the quality of service, the views and, of course, the food and wine. A special mention to our host and sommelier, Alfonso, for his knowledge, enthusiasm and professionalism. A most notable member of a top-flight, professional team.

We have stayed in many beautiful places around the world, and considering the importance of the occasion and the cost of our stay, intended to hold Villa Cimbrone to a very high standard. Happily, they more than exceeded our expectations and we would wholeheartedly recommend the hotel to our friends and family.

Gorgeous place!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you so much for your valuable words regarding our Hotel and its beautiful gardens.

The satisfaction of our Guests is our main goal along with the desire to give them the feeling of going back in time after crossing the sixteenth century doorway to enjoy the magical atmosphere and Hotel services.

We are, also, very pleased to hear that we were able to make unforgettable and special one of the most important day of your life.

Looking forward to welcoming you again in the very nearest future, we take this opportunity to send you our kindest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    13
    3
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

If you are a lover of the Mediterranean and look for luxe, calme et volupte, no other place on the Med can compare to villa Cimbrone, suspended between sea and sky. The air is perfumed, the staff is gentle , smiling and helpful and the breakfast excellent. We went out of season so probably the experience was even better.
Warmly recommended!

Room Tip: can be hard to walk the way back and forth to the center if you have reduced mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your compliments towards the team, the location and for appreciating the timeless dimension that reigns in our secular property.

We are very glad to learn that you really enjoyed the days spent with us and that you sincerely recommend our Hotel.

Thank you once again for having posted such a nice review, for which we are very grateful, and we really look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Villa Cimbrone.

Sincerely,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Villa Cimbrone is in a class of its own. We can hardly name a peer that rivals such a heavenly blend of history, beauty, intimacy and amenities. Lidia and everyone else on the staff (including the restaurant staff) are most helpful and gracious -- a big thank you to all of you! My husband and I are so glad that we picked this gem to mark our mutual birthday on our first trip to the Amalfi Coast. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: We loved our room No. 12 named tulip. It has French windows that open onto a narrow balcony. I can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
Dear Guests,

Thank you so much for your generous words and for choosing our Hotel to celebrate your mutual birthday.

Truly delighted that you enjoyed the service of the staff, the property overall, the location and its secular history.

It was a real pleasure to have the opportunity to welcoming you to Villa Cimbrone and we look forward to a future occasion.

With very best regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There is no reason to ever leave the Villa literally and metaphorically. The soft mountain air lulls you to sleep and the scent of the blossoms in the truly inspiring garden is balm for the soul. The hotel is petit with only 20 rooms but has its own michelin starred restaurant & garden for lunch and obligatory cocktails. (Fabulous watermelon martini cannot be bettered)

Rooms are cool, tastefully decorated and speak the Italianate-English charm of the former owner Lord Grimshaw who entertained the Bloomsbury groups members here.

The chef @ Il flauto di Pan is a disciple of the micro gastronomy. Bubbles of blue curaçao and peach jellies complement the fusion/Italian style. A meal here really is an occasion.

Staff are friendly and approachable and do everything to meet your wishes. I could live here easily. So quickly do you become spoilt :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Villa Cimbrone for your stay in Ravello and for leaving your positive review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the peacefulness and the enchanting scent of our gardens, and the creative cuisine of our Chef.

We truly hope to welcoming you back to experience once again the fascination of our property and take this opportunity to send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in June. The views and the garden are absolutely stunning. Hotel is small with 20 or so rooms with very spacious common area : library, sun deck, music room, pool, garden restaurant for breakfast etc. This makes you feel that you almost own part of the property for a few days. It is not cheap but if you can afford it, well worth it. Rooms are great with very high ceilings. Only downside is 5-10 minutes walk uphill to reach the hotel, but you can not have it all. The service is flawless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for publishing your positive review and for appreciating the charming public spaces and the breathtaking views that can be admired from Villa Cimbrone.

Make our Guests feel at home is our biggest desire and the panoramic walk of 10 minutes leading to the Hotel is repaid by the relax and surreal atmosphere of our secular property.

We wish, also, to thank you for your kind words regarding our service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights here and loved it. The view is unbelievably beautiful. Our room had a large balcony and great views. We enjoyed the pool, which is quiet and large in the fabulous gardens, well away from the day trippers who visit the property. Until 9am, you have the place to yourself, so get up early and see the gardens then.

We ate in the restaurant one night which was very good. My only criticism was the rather limited breakfast, which for the money, I think could be far better. The breakfast spot also has no views, which is such a shame, but I guess you can see them from the bar and restaurant.

Very good - recommended.

Room Tip: Room 24 has a very large balcony and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

It’s a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay and the peace and serenity that our gardens offer.

We decide to serve breakfast under the pergola of wisteria to allow our Guests to experience more locations within our Hotel at different times of the day.

We welcome your observation regarding breakfast and keep it in mind to improve our service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, we send you our best wishes.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely incredible place! Historic , elegant, true 5 star hotel with impeccable service! We traveled as a family :including two adult children, 19 and 27. Our room had a terrace, theirs just a small balcony. Both had fire places, comfortable beds, very tastefully decorated. The only negative thing about the hotel was ... you guessed it...plumbing.Unfortunately it is rather norm than not in Italy. The water in the shower would not drain properly in our room. The boys' shower would change hot water into cold every 30 seconds.We mentioned it to the staff, nothing changed. It still did not spoil the whole experience. I hope to be back there some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your comment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the elegance and the features that make unique our Hotel de Charme.

Regarding the plumbing problem, we are sorry not to be able to solve it during your stay, but unfortunately was more complicated that we were expecting; we assure you that is an inconvenience that we have now resolved.

We work hard every day to make sure that our guests’ stay is as memorable as possible.

Hoping to welcome you again with your family to enjoy the efficiency of all our services, we send you our very best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Cimbrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone
Address: Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
#11 Family Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Cimbrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cimbrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.