We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Genteel Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Cimbrone to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Cimbrone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Genteel Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

There is no reason to ever leave the Villa literally and metaphorically. The soft mountain air lulls you to sleep and the scent of the blossoms in the truly inspiring garden is balm for the soul. The hotel is petit with only 20 rooms but has its own michelin starred restaurant & garden for lunch and obligatory cocktails. (Fabulous watermelon martini cannot be bettered)

Rooms are cool, tastefully decorated and speak the Italianate-English charm of the former owner Lord Grimshaw who entertained the Bloomsbury groups members here.

The chef @ Il flauto di Pan is a disciple of the micro gastronomy. Bubbles of blue curaçao and peach jellies complement the fusion/Italian style. A meal here really is an occasion.

Staff are friendly and approachable and do everything to meet your wishes. I could live here easily. So quickly do you become spoilt :)

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view and a terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Villa Cimbrone for your stay in Ravello and for leaving your positive review.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed the peacefulness and the enchanting scent of our gardens, and the creative cuisine of our Chef.

We truly hope to welcoming you back to experience once again the fascination of our property and take this opportunity to send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    18
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
27
112
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights in June. The views and the garden are absolutely stunning. Hotel is small with 20 or so rooms with very spacious common area : library, sun deck, music room, pool, garden restaurant for breakfast etc. This makes you feel that you almost own part of the property for a few days. It is not cheap but if you can afford it, well worth it. Rooms are great with very high ceilings. Only downside is 5-10 minutes walk uphill to reach the hotel, but you can not have it all. The service is flawless.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for publishing your positive review and for appreciating the charming public spaces and the breathtaking views that can be admired from Villa Cimbrone.

Make our Guests feel at home is our biggest desire and the panoramic walk of 10 minutes leading to the Hotel is repaid by the relax and surreal atmosphere of our secular property.

We wish, also, to thank you for your kind words regarding our service and look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed for three nights here and loved it. The view is unbelievably beautiful. Our room had a large balcony and great views. We enjoyed the pool, which is quiet and large in the fabulous gardens, well away from the day trippers who visit the property. Until 9am, you have the place to yourself, so get up early and see the gardens then.

We ate in the restaurant one night which was very good. My only criticism was the rather limited breakfast, which for the money, I think could be far better. The breakfast spot also has no views, which is such a shame, but I guess you can see them from the bar and restaurant.

Very good - recommended.

Room Tip: Room 24 has a very large balcony and a wonderful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

It’s a real pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay and the peace and serenity that our gardens offer.

We decide to serve breakfast under the pergola of wisteria to allow our Guests to experience more locations within our Hotel at different times of the day.

We welcome your observation regarding breakfast and keep it in mind to improve our service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, we send you our best wishes.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Absolutely incredible place! Historic , elegant, true 5 star hotel with impeccable service! We traveled as a family :including two adult children, 19 and 27. Our room had a terrace, theirs just a small balcony. Both had fire places, comfortable beds, very tastefully decorated. The only negative thing about the hotel was ... you guessed it...plumbing.Unfortunately it is rather norm than not in Italy. The water in the shower would not drain properly in our room. The boys' shower would change hot water into cold every 30 seconds.We mentioned it to the staff, nothing changed. It still did not spoil the whole experience. I hope to be back there some day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, July 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for sharing your comment.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the elegance and the features that make unique our Hotel de Charme.

Regarding the plumbing problem, we are sorry not to be able to solve it during your stay, but unfortunately was more complicated that we were expecting; we assure you that is an inconvenience that we have now resolved.

We work hard every day to make sure that our guests’ stay is as memorable as possible.

Hoping to welcome you again with your family to enjoy the efficiency of all our services, we send you our very best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ville Cimbrone was the first stop on our Honeymoon trip to Italy. Even before we arrived, the staff were extremely helpful with pre-arranging transportation and activities for us such as a cooking class and a tour of Ravello. Unfortunately our luggage did not arrive with us, but Lidia and the staff immediately offered to help track down the luggage. We could not have managed this very well ourselves since we don't speak Italian. We were surprised with an upgraded room which was very beautiful and comfortable. The gardens and views are fantastic. We had to remind ourselves that were were actually STAYING there and not just visiting for the day. Definitely, a very magical place.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is a pleasure for us to read your review.

We wish to thank you for your kind words about our property and are pleased that you have a good memory of the days spent at Villa Cimbrone for your honeymoon.

It was a real pleasure for our staff assist you before and during your stay.

We hope to welcoming you back to Villa Cimbrone in a near future and take this occasion to send you our warmest regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were lucky enough to marry in this very special place and it was absolutely perfect. The accommodation is divine; the rooms are so beautifully decorated. The setting is superb - the gardens, the ambience, it is all just so perfect. the staff were amazing and friendly and made us feel special on our big day which is nice. It was everything we could have wished for, next time I would like to stay a little longer as Ravello is just gorgeous. We enjoyed our wedding meal at the restaurant and it was fantastic, a meal to remember! I would recommend Villa Cimbrone to absolutely anyone. The pool and gym facilities are great as well, though truth being told I only looked around at the gym as I couldn't muster the energy to exercise but someone less lazy will enjoy this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a such as positive feedback and for emphasizing our property.

It is always a real pleasure to learn that our guests enjoy and keep good memories of their stay with us.

We are so glad that you have chosen Hotel Villa Cimbrone as location for your wedding and that we have made one of the important days of your life so memorable.

Hoping to welcome you again for a longer stay to experience, at that time, all our services, we send you our very best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This is my 3rd review on the Villa Cimbrone -soon people will start thinking I am employed by them! This time I wanted to review the wedding services. We got married here on the 10th May this year and I could not praise the staff more highly. From the planning team to the lovely reception staff, everyone was extremely helpful and friendly. The Tea Room for the ceremony and the Crypt for the reception were gorgeous locations and the waiters during dinner were extremely attentive. The day was everything I imagined it would be.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, May 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

We wish to thank you for staying once again at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, this time for your wedding.

We are very pleased to read your valuable third review, and learn that we have made your most important day really special and unforgettable, just like you wanted.

We forwarded your thanks to all our staff and hope to welcome you back again, maybe for your first anniversary.

Warmest regards,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Cimbrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Address: Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Cimbrone 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Cimbrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cimbrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.