We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Cimbrone” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Cimbrone to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Cimbrone
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Villa Cimbrone”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I returned to Villa Cimbrone in September 12 and was greeted with the breath-taking view looking over the Terrace of Infinity at the Tyrrhenian Sea and the valley below. The wisteria had finished flowering over the avenue of Immensity - however I captured a hint of mauve reflecting down on the path in my photos. I enjoyed lunch in the garden - eating a magnficent caprese salad washed down with a glass of Prosecco. This place is heaven. The air is so pure. I had a swim in the pool and the pool assistant was so nice. You must visit this place at least once in your life

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback.

We appreciate your kind words regarding our gardens, structure and restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the vibrant atmosphere of our 12th century residence very soon.

Best wishes,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    17
    8
    9
    9
See reviews for
26
107
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hollywood, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed 2 nights and celebrated our 30th wedding anniversary. We renewed our vows. We had been here for our 20th, and if able will keep coming back. It is simply the most beautiful place we've ever been to. The service was also perfect, and I couldn't say more about the event staff. If you want to have a romantic get-a-way, for any occasion this is the place to go.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for publishing your positive review.

We are very glad that you have chosen our Hotel to celebrate your 30th wedding anniversary and have appreciated the enchantment of this place.

We try to improve the quality of our services every day to make our customers satisfied with their choice.

Hoping to welcome you back soon, we send you our best regards.

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed two unbelievable nights in this first class property situated amidst the tranquil Cimbrone Gardens high above the Amalfi Coast. I was carrying an engagement ring in my suitcase looking for the perfect spot. I knew immediately when I walked in the dor of the Villa Cimbrone that this would be the place to remember for a lifetime. Lidia and her staff immediately helped me make the arrangements, told me ablout the perfect place in the gardens, arranged for a champagne toast afterwards, and then had a table with the perfect view waiting for dinner. This is a first class hotel in a beautiful place. But, as I have learned after many years of traveling the people make the place. From Lorenzo who picked up our luggage on the piazza, to Lidia who arranged our stay, to Diego who took care of us at dinner, the people were awesome. We will go back after the wedding to stay again.

Room Tip: There are only 19 rooms at the hotel. All seem to be very well situated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, May 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review and have chosen the enchantment of our Hotel and gardens to make perfect your engagement.

We are glad that you appreciated to create relationships with some of our employees.

We look forward to welcoming you again, maybe for your honeymoon.

Sincerely,

Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

My wife, 3 year old son and parents recently stayed for an incredibly wonderful 4 nights at this stunning establishment.

I used to be inclined to the view that a hotel is just where you sleep for the night and it's better to save money for other aspects of the holiday, such as dining, sightseeing and shopping. The beautiful Villa Cimbrone has shown me how wrong I was. From the moment we arrived, after a stressful and long overland journey from Siena, I felt cosseted, welcome and full of life and joy.

The walk up the hill from Ravello was easier than we expected (even for my 70-something mum and dad; who are probably fitter than me anyway!) and upon entering the reception area it was instantly forgotten. Reception is just beautiful.

The buildings and grounds are spectacular, as we had anticipated from pictures we had seen in coffee-table books. The rooms are superb, full of character, impeccably clean and spacious - and the view from our private terrace was heaven-sent.

Perhaps surprisingly, for a hotel with such an amazing location and architectural beauty, the staff are simply magnificent. I have stayed in places with great physical attributes that seem to assume that the quality of service is secondary. Not so at Villa Cimbrone.

The staff were genuinely warm, good humoured and always helpful and accommodating. They remembered our names, preferences (wine and food for instance) and personally packed and couriered some excess purchases back home for us. They were such a gracious and caring team and we owe them a great, great debt for providing us with such a wonderful experience.

The food and wine was outstanding. Ravello has some fine places to dine - some of which we were very pleased to savour - but we kept on coming back for the food and local vino at the Villa's terrace and the exceptional restaurant; Il Flauto di Pan. We had recently eaten at a Michelin 2 star in Paris (which was superb of course) but thought the food here in the restaurant was in the same echelon. And the incredible service matched it too.

After all of this, I have not even mentioned the magnificent gardens. They are a delight! If you go, try to see them at various times of the day to appreciate the difference in the light and scents. The infinity terrace is a must, as is the incredible cafe/bar below it; which must have the best view on the Amalfi coast. If you can't handle the vertiginous view below the cafe/bar (I struggled), then head for the sprawling lawn area with draped tables overlooking the sea. For the price of a round of drinks we were handsomely rewarded with bowls of the best olives I have ever eaten (possibly from the gardens?), pistachios and peanuts.

We will certainly return to this piece of paradise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

You can compare this beautiful personal and friendly Hotel to Claridges, Hotel Splendido, The Taj in Bombay, Raffles and even the Oberio in Rajastan for breathtaking beauty and a fabulous position, the gardens and pool are second to none and having stayed in the other Ravello 5 star hotels it is old money chic. The world class restaraunt and staff are wonderful and very reasonable for lunch with a good assortment of local and international wine.
We stayed stayed 7 nights a family of 4 and were initially put in the smallest suite i have ever seen ( spiral staircase) with a bathroom the size of a WC no bath and the room had a slanted roof placed in the eves for 800 euro's a night ( Special offer!). We live in an Italian Villa and are familiar with querky layouts in old houses. The front desk manager after a polite debate eventually moved us to the empty Garbo suite for 4 nights which was wonderful. We were then asked to move in to two rooms one tiny one for the girls and a garden view for my wife and I which we agreed only to discover there were people booking cheaper advertised single or two night stays last minute with large sea view rooms on the internet. It strikes me the front desk manager should have looked after us we had no complaints. She should have thought longer term we were prime customers who would come back many times and recommend the hotel so at 800 euro's a night why not look after the client and get repeat business. We were already in love with the hotel but an element of trust has gone. This was our 4 th visit to Ravello in 5 years last time with four couples. When booking clarify your room is my advice I just dont want the hassle. The rest of the staff are really very friendly and so willing to help. It costs a fortune to attract a client but not much to lose one so please sort out your room allocations and look after guests who have extended stays and are likely to return year after year. It's not complicated the hotel business but what do we know! I trust the owner reads this and acts to change attitudes perhaps it is the reason the hotel had empty rooms in prime August time on a fire sale? Everything else is perfect and you would be hard pushed to find a more breathtaking place anywhere in the World.Ormerod family UK.

Room Tip: Dont book the spiral staircase whatever the tell you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Direttore generale at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, September 15, 2012
Dear Mr. Ormerod,
We would like to thank you for the review written on Tripadvisor, even if it is sad for us to learn your very negative opinion about our handling your stay at our property.
We assure you that, every day, my staff and I work with passion, expertise and overall with heart in order to extend to our clients a memorable stay and I am sure that a misunderstanding occurred.
I have been reported that the Junior Suite assigned (38qm) was the one bespoken at the time of the booking, according to your needs to accommodate your family all together. All our rooms are different from each other.
Another Junior Suite with frescoes ceiling has been offered to you, but even this seemed not to like you and, as during your stay our hotel was already quite fully booked, we could not offer you more than we have done to meet your expectations.
As for the mention to people booking cheaper, we would like to remark that, our Hotel has only 19 rooms with about 57 employers to ensure the quality of service that also you have recognized and we cannot afford to have empty rooms; therefore it can likely happen to find the last available rooms at a more convenient rate.
Villa Cimbrone is a Historical 12th century villa and together with the gardens a Monumental Site, protected by the Minister of Culture and National Patrimony of “Unesco”, it is with big efforts that we survive, considering that any handout is recognized neither from the Italian Government nor the CEE.
We would be really happy to get the chance to welcome you back to Villa Cimbrone to make you feel our hospitality and care we replace to our affectionate guests who return from year to year.
Sincerely,
Giorgio Vuilleumier
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodside, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

I stayed here with my boyfriend and his family; what a treat! You walk through these beautiful gates to find a villa truly qualifying as where Dali used to vacation when it was a private house. It is large enough that you rarely run into guests but the pool is quite large and the gardens spectacular. Additionally, their restaurant is top notch. You can request to sit on basically a private terrace over looking the the sea below. I only wish that I could vacation here every summer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

We háve just returned from our second stay at this wonderful hotel and hope to return again next year. Have read many of the reviews of this wonderful place and yes the rooms are not what you would expect at many leading hotels of world. But the overall place IS, it is incomparable anywhere and we have extensively travelled many times a year at the best hotels. The place itself would cost an incredible amount to upkeep, this is what you pay for. It is incredibly relaxing and away from the crowds, which is what many people want. Very few people would sit in the room all day, instead there are any incredibly wonderful rooms you can use, lounges everywhere, which can be like an incredibly luxurious home. Well worth the price, if you want a great room, book a Junior Suite and this was very nice. XJoanna & David

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony there are only 2, but they are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Cimbrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Address: Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Villa Cimbrone 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Cimbrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cimbrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;