We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Cimbrone to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Travelocity Booking.com
and 1 more site!
Hotel Villa Cimbrone
Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #5 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

We just returned from a 2-week trip to Italy, with our last 5 days spent at Hotel Villa Cimbrone. I can't recommend this hotel highly enough. The room (a suite with sea view) was spectacular, the food (breakfast and dinner) was excellent, the location was absolutely beautiful, and the service was superb. In particular, the staff were incredible, very professional and warm at the same time. We ate at the 2-Michelin-starred restaurant in the town (Ravello), and my husband and I agreed that dinner at Cimbrone was vastly superior, particularly for the price.

A couple of things to note - it is a bit of a walk to/from the hotel, with steps and inclines, which could be difficult for some. We didn't find it a problem. Second, we were there during a brief cold snap before the radiators were turned on for the Fall, and the room was pretty cold at times. We are used to this, having lived in Italy and preferring cool rooms when we sleep, but this could be a issue for some.

We had a fabulous time and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: If you can afford to pay a little more, upgrade to a room with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Sigmom,

we would like to thank you for your positive feedback and we hope you have had a safe trip back home. It is always a great pleasure for us to know that our clients have left Villa Cimbrone happily and made a long lasting memory of their stay at our property.

Hoping to welcoming you back soon we send you our best regards,

Margit Holzer
PR-Villa Cimbrone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    13
    4
    7
    8
See reviews for
21
85
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2011

Villa Cimbrone is one of those special places that one has to visit, possibly many times.
The architecture, the gardens, the service are impecable.
The view at the Horizon Garden is incredible.
Highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Choose Suite Camelia or Magnolia
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Plinio N,

what a perfect choice of room you are recommending. Thank you so much for your feedback and for letting us know that you have had a beautiful stay at Villa Cimbrone.

We hope we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back soon and send our best regards to Brasil,

Margit Holzer
PR-Villa Cimbrone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

My husband and I stayed 3 fabulous days at the Hotel Villa Cimbrone in Ravello-I highly recommend this first class, romantic Hotel!

We had one of the smallest rooms (#28) but enjoyed the full property-the pool, the numerous sitting rooms with vaulted ceilings, antiques and lovely furnishings from another period.
It almost felt like we were guests at someone's private villa!

The people were friendly and hospitable. We want our son to honeymoon there when he finds the right girl and gets married!

We will definitely return! We took a cooking class next door at the Villa Maria-loved it!

Room Tip: we had room 28, cloister view, very nice, overlooks the courtyard, small
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear Maryann,

it is with major delight that we have read your feedback you have so kindly left on Tripadvisor.
We are happy you enjoyed your stay at our property and we will be very honored if we'd have the opportunity to welcoming your son for his honeymoon at Villa Cimbrone.
We wish you all the best and we are sure your son will find the right girl to share not only a perfect honeymoon at Villa Cimbrone but more important, to share the rest of a happy life!

Best regards from the entire staff of Villa Cimbrone,

Margit Holzer
PR-Villa Cimbrone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

Most of the garden is full of tourists all day long, as it is accessible to the public from dusk to dawn. However, It could not be visited by hotel guests during the evening, as it was very dark; I suppose some lighting is too much to ask for rooms charged 500 euros and over. The "private" part of the garden, which is not very big, seemed to always be rented for some kind of event, whether a wedding or something else, meaning we were confined to the pool area, which has no views (as our room did, by the way, since partial view, as the room was described, means full view of an ugly concrete wall); the staff could not be bothered to make this garden space available for hotel guests long after the partying was over; when I complained the staff told me I had the public part at my disposal as does, incidentally, any other visitor to Ravello for a modest fee. The room was clearly the worst during our stay in Italy. Wifi was an extra, as was the parking (only hotel, out of ten, were we had this during our trip)

The entrance fee to the gardens, which are quite nice, will give you access to everything that is worth at Villa Cimbrone, without spending a fortune on a shabby room; don't throw your money away here, great locations are quite common on the Amalfi coast.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 8, 2011
Dear Mr..DM1978-11
We always regret when one of our clients leave our hotel and remain unsatisfied; I have to say, this happens rarely, thanks to the passion and dedication of all our staff and the marvelous location.

We are continually striving to improve the hospitality we offer, and comments from our guests are always welcome to improve; however in your case, I have great difficulty to understand your negative comment against a well known property, not only for its about 6 hectares garden (one of the most important examples that the English landscape and botanic cultural has generated in the south Italy) to the enormous spaces exclusively at disposal of the only Hotel Guests.

About 1,8 hectares (18.000 m²) equipped with a 26 mt swimming pool with Jacuzzi corner, shady pergolas, Technogym wellness center, fountains and huge lawns in the most panoramic spot overlooking the coastline, as well as, the biological garden from where we get our organic vegetables and fruits for our restaurant “Il Flauto di Pan” and, as far as, we know, you have unfortunately not tasted the delicious delicacies.

Of course, you remarked that, during the day, many visitors are coming to enjoy the beauty of this place, but I can assure you that they do not interfere with the quietness and privacy of the hotel. In addition you must consider that in the early morning till 9:00a.m. and in the evening (till to the sunset) in this time from 7:00p.m. onwards our gardens can be used exclusively by our hotel guests to enjoy a romantic walk or for jogging between the scented flower beds with English roses and lavender …

You finally complained the room, which has a spectacular view from the terrace, situated only two steps from the bedroom area and located on the top floor of our hotel. The room typology was clearly notified at the time of the booking. In any case, if you had mentioned that you did not like it we could have obviously found a different solution to satisfy your requirements.

Furthermore, Wifi connection is free all around the hotel, including pool and wellness area, while rooms has free internet access via cable and an internet point is available upon registration.

I believe that sometimes, despite everything, the most important element to enjoy a place and a stay is the predisposition of spirit that makes us appreciate how beautiful and enjoyable we have around.
I am sure that whether you will give us another opportunity, we shall be very happy to let you change your mind and come back over and over again like all our dear guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

We stayed and got married and had our reception at the Villa Cimbrone in September 2010, and returned for our first Anniversary this year. We love the whole elegant and delightful atmosphere at the Villa, with its quiet efficiency and country house feel in the most spectacular of locations. We have been to Ravello several times and stayed in other 5* hotels, but it is difficult to beat the Cimbrone for its unique charm. The staff are always helpful, and they put on a brilliant evening for our Anniversary with cocktails and the Degustation menu for ourselves and four friends. All outside on the lovely terrace. Brilliant!
We note some reservations about the walk up to the hotel, but this is Ravello,up in the mountains, and in our opinion adds a sense of mystery to its location compared to the other hotels. It's only 10 minutes anyway, and gives some spectacular and interesting views from the pathway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Dear PandMCheshireUK,

it really means a lot to us not only to have hosted your wedding but also your first anniversary, and we are deeply touched by your review you have left on Tripadvisor.

We all wish you many, many more happy anniversaries and every day that lies in-between and would be happy to welcoming you back on your special occasions to Villa Cimbrone.

All the best,

Margit Holzer
PR-Villa Cimbrone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 2 days. The villa is undeniably beautiful. HOWEVER: It is very hard to get to, with a 15-20 minute walk up steep steps and hills. The food was terrible -- the ice cream was rancid and the overall quality of the food was very bad. The service was not good either -- my husband and I arrived after a long day visiting Ravello (which is certainly beautiful) and they simply assumed we were not hotel guests because it was after 8pm and told us there was no food in the Hotel because there was a wedding. When we said that we were guests, we were offered a sandwich because the kitchen was closed due to a wedding. At 500 Euros per night, this did not seem reasonable. The room was tiny and the window was maybe 2 feet x 2 feet with a pretty view. The gardens are exceptional but you can visit them as a tourist simply by buying a 5 euro ticket. If I return to Ravello, I will stay at the Hotel Caruso which is in town and my easier to reach. Sadly, I would not return to Villa Cimbrone.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

BEWARE! – Villa Cimbrone Hotel, Ravello, Italy. My wife and I pre-booked a room with a “sea view” for 550.00 Euro per night. On arrival, we were told we were upgraded from a standard “sea view” room to a superior “sea view” room. The only problem was that there was no “sea view” from the room. We had to go out on to a very small balcony then up 2 steps to get the view. I am 6 foot 1 tall, and my view from inside the room was a concrete wall. Management totally ignored requests for the room rate to be changed to a “garden view”. Subsequent emails to them have been ignored without even the courtesy of a reply. Strange behaviour from a 5 Star property, which otherwise provided excellent cuisine and service. Also copped a dud room at HOTEL REGINA, BAGLIONI in Rome – it seems if you book through the Internet (hotelclub.com) at a reasonable rate, that you get the worst room etc. The experience was unpleasant given that one of the 2 lifts were out of order, the air-conditioning in the breakfast room was at sauna levels, to mention a couple of issues. The Manager apologised profusely for the difficulties and offered us a “complimentary weekend so as to enjoy the true Baglioni tradition”. Unfortunately that manager has had a memory lapse since we left, and he too hasn’t responded to an email he made me promise I’d send him with all our Australian contact details. Having stayed at the Baglioni in Venice, that Hotel chain is now off my list as well. Moral of the story – stick with Relais & Chateaux and you’ll never ever have a problem. Geoff W – Surfers Paradise, Australia

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jackfly35, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Hotel Villa Cimbrone, responded to this review, September 20, 2011
Dear Geoff,

we would like to thank you for the review written on Tripadvisor, even if it is sad for us to learn your very negative opinion about our handling your stay at our property.
Upon your check in we asked you if you would like to have an upgrade to a bigger and more beautiful room. We also showed you the room before moving you and you said you would be happy with it. The upgraded room was on the highest floor with a balcony from where you had an exceptional view over the underlying panorama, going up only two small steps of the staircase .
If you would have said right away that you would not be happy with this room when it was showed to you, instead of only asking for a big price reduction at the moment of your check out, we certainly would have changed it again.
We are always grateful for every kind of feedback we get from our appreciated clients as we see them as an immense opportunity to enhance our service and we would really like to get the chance again to make you live an outstanding experience at Villa Cimbrone as most of our clients.

We do hope you have had a safe trip home and would be honored to welcoming you back again to Villa Cimbrone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Cimbrone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Cimbrone

Also Known As:
Cimbrone Hotel Ravello
Villa Cimbrone
Address: Via Santa Chiara 26, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Villa Cimbrone, 12th century villa, is in the beautiful hill town of Ravello, situated about the extraordinarily scenic Amalfi Coast. Nestled within a magnificent park overlooking the sea, the Hotel is a 10 minutes walk from the town’s centre over stone paved walkways that offer breathtaking panoramic views of the surrounding country side. Ample space and exclusive services are reserved for the discerning guests of just nineteen rooms.The amazing swimming pool overlooking the mountains and seaside, as well as, the fitness centre with high-tech cardiovascular trails and free internet access.Inside the gardens, a private helipad is the exclusive point of departure for an unique experience to overfly the spectacular Amalfi coast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa Cimbrone reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Cimbrone, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.