We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Palumbo” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palumbo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palumbo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Palumbo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #13 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Providence, Rhode Island
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Hotel Palumbo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Excellent place to stay. There is a restaurant on the premises, as well as a bar. You cannot go wrong if you chose the Tower. The Tower room has a beautiful patio with an awesome view. The hotel is close to all the shops and plenty of restaurants. If you are looking for an out of this world dining experience, dine at Rossillini's next door to Hotel Palumbo.

Room Tip: The Tower Room is an excellent choice, it has a nice patio with a stunning view from high above. You...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    22
    12
    5
    13
See reviews for
12
67
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hammond, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Palumbo September 2013. It is an absolutely beautiful elegant hotel in the heart of Ravello. The room was very comfortable with a large nice bath and a private terrace. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast there and it was fine but very expensive.
There is a great restaurant just a short walk across the piazza called Vittoria, I believe.
The only con was a very hard mattress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked a room in September 2013 to attend a wedding. We were upgraded to an amazing room with sea view. The hotel is a well kept palazzo with breathtaking views of the coast. It is located close to Duomo and has a very convenient parking. Room was well decorated and had the feeling and aura of nostalgia. Breakfast is served at the hotel's main restaurant where the view is simply amazing. Overall a great service from the people at reception. Wife is coeliac and iff given notice they can accommodate that in both breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Room 50 is located on top floor of the Palazzo, great views, bed looks straight to the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After reading many reviews, some good, some bad, we had no expectations when we checked into Hotel Palumbo. We were greeted warmly by Francesca at the front desk and every minute was magical from the moment on. We had booked a junior suite in the older part of the building with a sweet patio, and a private lounge area. The view down to the coast and out to the mountains was nothing short of spectacular. Our visit was timed perfectly with the full moon and when it climbed over the mountains to create a moonglade over the sea below, we were awestruck.

The rooms were small, but very comfortable. They were clean and the pillows and mattresses were great for weary travelers. The breakfasts were an excellent start to the day and the wait staff was extremely courteous.

I've read complaints about the fact that this property has no pool, but my response is, so what? I didn't travel 14 hours to spend my time in a pool. The gardens were lush and well maintained.

All this said, we were traveling with a friend whose room was extremely small. We referred to it as "the hobbit hole." But he was able to share plenty of time with us on our terrace and that made up for the inadequacy of his space. So, if you want a room with a view, book one of the suites. They cost more, but they are well worth it.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite, spend the money for the view. It is worth it. Plus, it was extremely quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We only had dinner here, we were staying down the road. The building has such a magical feel, it is 15th century and full of grandeur and character, the reception room was lit with candles and lanterns which really added to the ambience. The entrée was disapointing but everything else was wonderful. We had a particularly lovely clam linguine and a bottle of the local wine which was to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Ravello but feels a bit tired and in need of a refurb. We were given a room off reception which wouldn't have been our first choice but was ok. We tried to buy a drink in the bar and gave up after waiting for 20 minutes and nobody served us.

No pool but the hotel has a deal that you can use the one next door in a lovely hotel!

It was fine but could be amazing with a bit of time and love spend on it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Palumbo in July 2013 for my wedding in Ravello. The hotel staff was wonderful. We stayed in a basic room (#21) for two nights and it was classic in blues and whites and the small french style doors opened onto the gardens! It was a great value for a beautiful hotel. It is a very old building and I loved how they kept the charm and the decor. For the wedding day bridal suite and wedding night we upgraded to a junior suite room (#50). This room was like nothing I have ever seen! The room is all the way at the top of the hotel... you exit onto a terrace and then take a second set of outdoor stairs to a private level with a huge terrace and charming room. The room is not overly massive, but the terrace is 2x the size with breathtaking views. It made for stunning photos of the bridal party getting ready and lots of space to hangout outside. I felt like a princess! Made the start of my wedding day unforgettable. I would definitely stay here again when we visit Ravello for our anniversaries!

Room Tip: For a couple a private room is #50. Amazing views and private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palumbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo

Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello
Address: 16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, T4B, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palumbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palumbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.