We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palumbo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palumbo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palumbo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #11 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Hammond, Louisiana
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Palumbo September 2013. It is an absolutely beautiful elegant hotel in the heart of Ravello. The room was very comfortable with a large nice bath and a private terrace. The staff was very helpful and friendly. We had breakfast there and it was fine but very expensive.
There is a great restaurant just a short walk across the piazza called Vittoria, I believe.
The only con was a very hard mattress.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    64
    26
    13
    5
    13
See reviews for
14
74
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We booked a room in September 2013 to attend a wedding. We were upgraded to an amazing room with sea view. The hotel is a well kept palazzo with breathtaking views of the coast. It is located close to Duomo and has a very convenient parking. Room was well decorated and had the feeling and aura of nostalgia. Breakfast is served at the hotel's main restaurant where the view is simply amazing. Overall a great service from the people at reception. Wife is coeliac and iff given notice they can accommodate that in both breakfast and dinner.

Room Tip: Room 50 is located on top floor of the Palazzo, great views, bed looks straight to the coast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

After reading many reviews, some good, some bad, we had no expectations when we checked into Hotel Palumbo. We were greeted warmly by Francesca at the front desk and every minute was magical from the moment on. We had booked a junior suite in the older part of the building with a sweet patio, and a private lounge area. The view down to the coast and out to the mountains was nothing short of spectacular. Our visit was timed perfectly with the full moon and when it climbed over the mountains to create a moonglade over the sea below, we were awestruck.

The rooms were small, but very comfortable. They were clean and the pillows and mattresses were great for weary travelers. The breakfasts were an excellent start to the day and the wait staff was extremely courteous.

I've read complaints about the fact that this property has no pool, but my response is, so what? I didn't travel 14 hours to spend my time in a pool. The gardens were lush and well maintained.

All this said, we were traveling with a friend whose room was extremely small. We referred to it as "the hobbit hole." But he was able to share plenty of time with us on our terrace and that made up for the inadequacy of his space. So, if you want a room with a view, book one of the suites. They cost more, but they are well worth it.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite, spend the money for the view. It is worth it. Plus, it was extremely quiet an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We only had dinner here, we were staying down the road. The building has such a magical feel, it is 15th century and full of grandeur and character, the reception room was lit with candles and lanterns which really added to the ambience. The entrée was disapointing but everything else was wonderful. We had a particularly lovely clam linguine and a bottle of the local wine which was to die for.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in Ravello but feels a bit tired and in need of a refurb. We were given a room off reception which wouldn't have been our first choice but was ok. We tried to buy a drink in the bar and gave up after waiting for 20 minutes and nobody served us.

No pool but the hotel has a deal that you can use the one next door in a lovely hotel!

It was fine but could be amazing with a bit of time and love spend on it.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Palumbo in July 2013 for my wedding in Ravello. The hotel staff was wonderful. We stayed in a basic room (#21) for two nights and it was classic in blues and whites and the small french style doors opened onto the gardens! It was a great value for a beautiful hotel. It is a very old building and I loved how they kept the charm and the decor. For the wedding day bridal suite and wedding night we upgraded to a junior suite room (#50). This room was like nothing I have ever seen! The room is all the way at the top of the hotel... you exit onto a terrace and then take a second set of outdoor stairs to a private level with a huge terrace and charming room. The room is not overly massive, but the terrace is 2x the size with breathtaking views. It made for stunning photos of the bridal party getting ready and lots of space to hangout outside. I felt like a princess! Made the start of my wedding day unforgettable. I would definitely stay here again when we visit Ravello for our anniversaries!

Room Tip: For a couple a private room is #50. Amazing views and private terrace!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sotogrande, Spain
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Having stayed at this hotel ten years ago we had hoped the old magic would still be there.
Agreed, the views are super but the hotel lacked any soul.
It was annoying that you were not able to eat dinner on the terrace as it was closed - not good for a '5 star' (used very loosely)
You would also think that in the Summer heat they would have a pool, not just a hot tub plonked in a corner of the garden.
We had drinks in the Caruso and Palazzo hotels just up the road and they were stunning!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palumbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo

Address: 16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#12 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...my family's dream...my own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, T4B, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palumbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palumbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.