We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Relaxing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palumbo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palumbo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Palumbo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 21 hotels in Ravello
Santiago, Chile
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very Relaxing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013 via mobile

If you like great service from extremely helpful and friendly staff and a traditional style hotel, then this is for you. If you want really new and modern style, then this is not for you. The hotel is originally an 11th century palace, converted into a luxury hotel with the most amazing garden and view. We spent the majority of our trip in the garden enjoying the view and soaking up the rays since our room opened up directly into the garden. If you want this feature, then ask for room 22. The hotel is very old, but in the most charming and delightful way, and in no way musty or run down. It basically screams what Italy stands for by feeling lush, posh, and comfortable. I highly recommend this hotel. 5 stars.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    71
    29
    13
    5
    13
See reviews for
15
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

I've had a read through some of the more negative reviews on this site, and am genuinely miffed. There's no musty smell, the decor doesn't look tired, the staff weren't aloof. We didn't see bugs anywhere... We found Hotel Palumbo totally intoxicating!

We stayed in the main building and couldn't get enough of that view. Unlike other hotels in the area, the rooms with the best views open out onto the gorgeous gardens, which just makes everything feel so much more tranquil. The gardens were so green and beautifully maintained - lots of climbing vines and potted flowers. There's no pool, but there is a hot tub - the perfect place to sip limoncello and watch the sunset over the ocean.

The biggest highlight was breakfast. Honestly, you will never find a more perfect place to wake up. The buffet had everything you could ask for - fresh pastries, fruit, hot coffee, meat, cheese - eating on the sunny terrace overlooking the mountains and ocean is just something you won't forget.

Our bed was big and comfortable, the air con worked, the windows were big and spotlessly clean. Some of the fittings in the room - like the minibar fridge and the hairdryer - were a bit on the old side, but this is part of the hotel's charm. Remember - this hotel is a 12th century building! Come here for a spectacular, central location, a memorable view and a comfortable stay.

Room Tip: Pay the little bit extra to stay in the main building, so you can wander around the peaceful gardens...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

For old world luxury and unique charm the Hotel Palumbo is an ideal location to soak up the beauty, serenity, and history of this magical region and town. One enters the hotel in a spectacular 11th century Arabesque lobby featuring large gothic arches supported by authentic Greek columns. Stroll to the second floor and bring your camera for the amazing frescos and breathtaking views from the dining room terrace. Take a good look at the original Art works on the walls. Notice the tiles and original antiques, which span 4 centuries.

The hotel has two buildings; a modern one with really amazing modern Italian style baths and private balconies and the other is the ancient part of the Hotel. If you are looking for Modern Luxury go for the Annex. For traditional décor I recommend the ancient part of the Hotel. I chose the latter. For sure the rooms in the ancient part are quirky but very charming. Mine (room 30) had lovely arched ceilings, silk taffeta drapes and a sublime view.

My bed was comfortable, the bed linens are Frette pure Linen and really exquisite. I wish they would sell them. The service is very friendly and attentive. I had some friends staying at the neighboring hotels that were more than double the price and a décor that can best be described as cookie cutter lux. At less than half the price of the neighbors it’s a good bargain. By the way be sure to ask for a tour and tasting of the house Episcopio wine made at their winery across the street. It’s a real treat.

Room Tip: If you like charm ask for older section rooms sea view. But if you prefer the modern touch choose Ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Palumbo as our friends married there. The hotel is in a lovely location with excellent views of the coast. Our room (Colombaia) was a tad on the small side but good value for a standard room, with a private terrace with a table and chairs and also a separate sitting area.

The breakfast was simple but tasty with the choice of continental breakfast and eggs, bacon and toast too. Breakfast is taken on a beautiful terrace with stunning coastal views.

The only negative feedback we have is the noise. Ravello is 'wedding central' during the summer months and so we could hear various parties going on in neighbouring hotels late into the night which I know the Palumbo can't do anything about except on our last evening they hosted a wedding on the terrace directly in front of our room with no warning or apology for the load noise from the party and live band that played on until the early hours! Something to be aware of if your hoping for a peaceful break?

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The buildings and interiors of the Palumbo are all from a time long past, reminiscent of some grand lords house in Edwardian times at the turn of the last century.

Unfortunately, the rooms,the food, the quality of the furninshings and the smells are all from the same period. Least there be any doubt; dusty rooms with uneven floors with antique furniture and electrical sockets to match. Stop by for a tour or to look at the view from the garden but don't stay in the hotel - unless for some reason you've locked out of your own. The 5 stars pinned to the door outside can only be from a time long ago when this place was actually a hotel.

it has great potential but its such a shame that it falls so short of the mark. Do yourself a favour and stay next door at Villa Fraulo or up the hill at the Carouse if money isn't a factor.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
European Traveller
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's unusual to find a hotel that's as authentic as the Palumbo nowadays. It's full of history and chacacter in every corner and the staff are exceptionally friendly and pleasant. We stayed in room 50 which was at the top of the tower with a large rooftop balcony and breathtaking views down to the sea. We ate in the hotel dining room for three of the five nights that we stayed in the hotel - it was a lovely experience - great food, super setting, very friendly staff and a gorgeous wine from their own vineyard. The hotel is rated as a 5 star but it's unlike any 5 star we've stayed in before. It's best summed up by saying that it's an eclectic mix of elements from 3,4 and 5 star hotels. The beds were very comfortable but the bathroom wasn't modern and parts of the fabric of the building could best be described as characterful rather than in good condition. But somehow this didn't seem to matter as the experience was still super. There are a few points worth watching out for. Getting into the hotel's garage involves driving through a narrow ancient archway - smaller cars will go through with care but larger cars are very difficult or impossible - we suggest driving through this yourself as it's easy to scratch the car if you are not extremely careful. The other point that we noted if that the electric sockets in the room are of the older style that need the adapters with slightly thinner pins. Overall, it was good value and we would be happy to stay in the Palumbo again.

Room Tip: Room 50 has a fantastic view - it's perched on a rooftop with its own private balcony area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the hotel Palumbo for a week in May 13 and we were also lucky enough to have our wedding reception at Palumbo.
The building itself like the majority in the beautiful town of Ravello is in keeping with its 12th century heritage and in our opinion should remain this way! Our room which was called the Romantica was beautiful, although some bedrooms could do with a lick of paint. The buildings interior is akin to that of a stately home and was breathtaking along with the views. Anyone who would consider putting their television on whilst in such an amazing town is an idiot!!
Our wedding day itself was the most incredible day of our lives and as such is too amazing to put into words. From the first day we arrived the staff were attentive and made us feel very special, this continued throughout our stay. The food and service was the best we'd ever experienced and all the guests are still commenting on this now!
We would definitely recommend anyone to have their wedding day at the hotel Palumbo and we are sure to be back very soon. Ravello itself is the most romantic place and all the locals were so welcoming.
Grazie Palumbo, Grazie Ravello

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palumbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo

Address: 16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...my family's dream...my own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotel.de and Otel so you can book your Hotel Palumbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palumbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.