We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shabby Chic” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palumbo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palumbo to your Saves list
Hotel Palumbo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Hampshire
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
96 helpful votes 96 helpful votes
“Shabby Chic”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Palumbo as our friends married there. The hotel is in a lovely location with excellent views of the coast. Our room (Colombaia) was a tad on the small side but good value for a standard room, with a private terrace with a table and chairs and also a separate sitting area.

The breakfast was simple but tasty with the choice of continental breakfast and eggs, bacon and toast too. Breakfast is taken on a beautiful terrace with stunning coastal views.

The only negative feedback we have is the noise. Ravello is 'wedding central' during the summer months and so we could hear various parties going on in neighbouring hotels late into the night which I know the Palumbo can't do anything about except on our last evening they hosted a wedding on the terrace directly in front of our room with no warning or apology for the load noise from the party and live band that played on until the early hours! Something to be aware of if your hoping for a peaceful break?

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    86
    36
    14
    5
    15
See reviews for
18
92
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

The buildings and interiors of the Palumbo are all from a time long past, reminiscent of some grand lords house in Edwardian times at the turn of the last century.

Unfortunately, the rooms,the food, the quality of the furninshings and the smells are all from the same period. Least there be any doubt; dusty rooms with uneven floors with antique furniture and electrical sockets to match. Stop by for a tour or to look at the view from the garden but don't stay in the hotel - unless for some reason you've locked out of your own. The 5 stars pinned to the door outside can only be from a time long ago when this place was actually a hotel.

it has great potential but its such a shame that it falls so short of the mark. Do yourself a favour and stay next door at Villa Fraulo or up the hill at the Carouse if money isn't a factor.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
European Traveller
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2013

It's unusual to find a hotel that's as authentic as the Palumbo nowadays. It's full of history and chacacter in every corner and the staff are exceptionally friendly and pleasant. We stayed in room 50 which was at the top of the tower with a large rooftop balcony and breathtaking views down to the sea. We ate in the hotel dining room for three of the five nights that we stayed in the hotel - it was a lovely experience - great food, super setting, very friendly staff and a gorgeous wine from their own vineyard. The hotel is rated as a 5 star but it's unlike any 5 star we've stayed in before. It's best summed up by saying that it's an eclectic mix of elements from 3,4 and 5 star hotels. The beds were very comfortable but the bathroom wasn't modern and parts of the fabric of the building could best be described as characterful rather than in good condition. But somehow this didn't seem to matter as the experience was still super. There are a few points worth watching out for. Getting into the hotel's garage involves driving through a narrow ancient archway - smaller cars will go through with care but larger cars are very difficult or impossible - we suggest driving through this yourself as it's easy to scratch the car if you are not extremely careful. The other point that we noted if that the electric sockets in the room are of the older style that need the adapters with slightly thinner pins. Overall, it was good value and we would be happy to stay in the Palumbo again.

Room Tip: Room 50 has a fantastic view - it's perched on a rooftop with its own private balcony area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

We visited the hotel Palumbo for a week in May 13 and we were also lucky enough to have our wedding reception at Palumbo.
The building itself like the majority in the beautiful town of Ravello is in keeping with its 12th century heritage and in our opinion should remain this way! Our room which was called the Romantica was beautiful, although some bedrooms could do with a lick of paint. The buildings interior is akin to that of a stately home and was breathtaking along with the views. Anyone who would consider putting their television on whilst in such an amazing town is an idiot!!
Our wedding day itself was the most incredible day of our lives and as such is too amazing to put into words. From the first day we arrived the staff were attentive and made us feel very special, this continued throughout our stay. The food and service was the best we'd ever experienced and all the guests are still commenting on this now!
We would definitely recommend anyone to have their wedding day at the hotel Palumbo and we are sure to be back very soon. Ravello itself is the most romantic place and all the locals were so welcoming.
Grazie Palumbo, Grazie Ravello

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

The pictures they show are not true to what the hotel is really like. The view is great however you don't sleep outside. The rooms are so outdated and the mattresses are like sleeping on concrete.
The bathroom had broken tiles and mildew in between grout, the size of the tub was a joke since plumbing is on the side of you not in front of you, no room to move around. This is not what we traveled from Florida to see and stay at. Just a note: if you want to watch CNN your out of luck, only programs on the TV were in Italian. Breakfast ok view great aside from bee's bugging you. If you want a view book it, if you want a nice room with a soft mattress a TV that has some attachment to the world and a decent bathroom go somewhere else, there's plenty to choose from. Amen.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

I love Ravello and I love the series of beautiful luxury Hotels lying one next to the other along the the Via San Giovanni del Toro. They all have charm and character despite the very different facilities & decoration level.
Hotel Palumbo could only confirm my previous experiences and did not disappoint my clients & myself who spent a night there during a site inspection trip in the area.
The rooms are really tired but the view is absolutely breathtaking and you easily forget not having the facilities that you may expect from a 5 star. Bathrooms especially are in desperate needs of refurbishment. Prices are however clearly taking into consideration the gap with the nearby Caruso or Palazzo Avino and are quite reasonable. Staff was very helpful and breakfast lovely. If do not want or cannot afford to pay the high rate of Caruso, have a look here.

Room Tip: Do not spend the money for the suite, it's not worthwhile...standard rooms are nice enough and y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here on our wedding night in August 2011 after using the hotel garden for our wedding. The hotel dates back to the 13th century and has all the old Italian charm anyone could wish for,with original marble pillars,antiques filling every room, and the most amazing view over the coast which was the main selling point for choosing it as our wedding venue.
The hotel pulled out all the stops to make our stay, our room that we had already been charged half price for as we were booked a wedding with them was upgraded to the scala suite which made our stay.The food is truly wonderful and easily the best we tasted on our two trips to the Amalfi coast. We were blown away by the quality of the food and each of our guests commented on how amazing the food was and how it was easily the best wedding meals they had eaten. And the amount of it, typically Italian 5 courses. I'm glad to say that they next morning breakfast lived upto the expectations set by the previous day, on the balcony overlooking the hills of Ravello.
The hotel is rated as 5 star and is expensive, and if you're looking for all mod cons with slick modern room fittings then stay in the new part of the hotel which is in a separate block up the road about 30 metres. The main part of the hotel palazzo confalone remains with all the charm of days gone by. Oh and no pool, if you want that then stay next door at Caruso or up the street there is a VERY expensive hotel that looks very 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palumbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo

Address: 16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#9 Family Hotel in Ravello
#11 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...my family's dream...my own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Venere, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Palumbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palumbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.