We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent wedding night” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palumbo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Palumbo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Palumbo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Package Deal
Ranked #12 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Walsall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent wedding night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

We stayed here on our wedding night in August 2011 after using the hotel garden for our wedding. The hotel dates back to the 13th century and has all the old Italian charm anyone could wish for,with original marble pillars,antiques filling every room, and the most amazing view over the coast which was the main selling point for choosing it as our wedding venue.
The hotel pulled out all the stops to make our stay, our room that we had already been charged half price for as we were booked a wedding with them was upgraded to the scala suite which made our stay.The food is truly wonderful and easily the best we tasted on our two trips to the Amalfi coast. We were blown away by the quality of the food and each of our guests commented on how amazing the food was and how it was easily the best wedding meals they had eaten. And the amount of it, typically Italian 5 courses. I'm glad to say that they next morning breakfast lived upto the expectations set by the previous day, on the balcony overlooking the hills of Ravello.
The hotel is rated as 5 star and is expensive, and if you're looking for all mod cons with slick modern room fittings then stay in the new part of the hotel which is in a separate block up the road about 30 metres. The main part of the hotel palazzo confalone remains with all the charm of days gone by. Oh and no pool, if you want that then stay next door at Caruso or up the street there is a VERY expensive hotel that looks very 5 star.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    62
    26
    13
    5
    13
See reviews for
13
73
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

Great view. Hotel hasn't been refurbished since the 13th century!
The toilet in the room leaked, which made the tile on the floor like an ice rink.
It was never fixed.
The shower curtain was hanging off. The knob fell off the water temperature adjuster.
The refrigerator was not cold. The decor of the room was horrible.
The mattress was like sleeping on a mortuary slab.
we couldn't wait to leave.
Whoever rated this a 5 star hotel, must have had a gun held to their head!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
towcester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

We came back to stay for a big wedding anniversary having had a coffee here when we were just married. It lived up to expectations although not quite as luxurious as some newer five-star hotels.ravello itself is amazing and if you go outside of high summer it is much nicer than down the hill in the coast. Staff were fab and the food was wonderful.

Room Tip: You really need to be on the first floor for a seaview. It's the view that makes it! The rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kansas city
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We just stayed at the Hotel Palumbo for 7 nights. It is a 13th century palazzo with unbelievable views of the Mediterranean and neighboring villages dotting the hillside. The public parts of the hotel are breathtaking, only second to the view. Real Italian antiques and paintings fill this hotel for a most elegant, yet comfortable setting. A wide marble staircase takes you up to the dining areas and more beautiful rooms and a large terrace.

The staff at the hotel were wonderful. They are attentive and pleasant and really made the difference in our stay. When we were leaving, they all made an effort to shake our hands and wish us safe travels.

We stayed in Room 30, right off the lobby. We had a beautiful window sea view but no balcony. The room is furnished with real antiques and a very comfortable bed. Our room was large with a vestibule before entering the main bedroom and the bathroom was about 7 steps down from the vestibule. The bathroom fixtures are a bit dated, but everything works just fine. WiFi is free, but we had to use the lobby living room to get a signal, which actually was wonderful sitting in this lovely setting (it is filled with upholstered furniture and also an outdoor terrace.) If you are looking for a five star hotel that has identically furnished rooms and no character - this is not the hotel for you.

We were lucky enough to witness a beautiful Italian wedding in the garden!

We only ate breakfast at the hotel which was a great buffet spread with made to order eggs.

We so enjoyed Ravello! It is quiet and quaint, and I would certainly recommend the Hotel Palumbo.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cannes, France
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

what a shabby excuse for a 5 star hotel. The exterior of this hotel is in serious need of renovation. Our balcony was a poor state:- walls cracked, peeling paint, etc.
Also don't be expecting a pool, for this is non existent, and neighbouring hotel's pool was inoperational apparently. Definately will not be returning there!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had booked a trip in April to stay at Villa Fraulo, but they had an electrical problem and were closed for several days, so we were re-booked next door in Palumbo. Overall, a very pleasant and romantic stay. The hotel lacks some "polish" that keeps it from being classified as 5 stars (compared to our experience in travels all over Europe, Caribbean, USA and Indian Ocean). The main things were that our room, which had a ton of character and a gorgeous view, had a bathroom that was a bit out-dated in its amenities, and the room opened directly to the lobby (where breakfast is served each morning). But these were small things, and well more than made up for by the outstanding, friendly and helpful staff. Additionally, the lobby is a beautiful and architecturally impressive old building, the view looking down the coast is stunning, and the location is great. Highly recommend getting a nice bottle of wine (go and see Branko at the Wine & Drugs just off of the Ravello square) and simply staying in, open the window and have a nice evening of talking, drinking wine and watching the beautiful coastline at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Well, I must first say that my last name is Palumbo so that is indeed why I was initially attracted to this property. I checked it out many years ago after looking into getting married in Ravello. I ended up choosing Lake Como but both areas offer stunning settings and are equally lovely. So we saved Ravello for our 5 Year anniversary and chose to to do it one year earlier due to the fact that my wife and I are having a baby so we celebrated our 4 year anniversary and our baby moon here. Now onto the hotel. Just perfect!!! It's exactly what you would want in a hotel. The views are breathtaking and are the exact same views as the Caruso and Sasso which are extremely expensive in comparison. The shower was literally one of the best I have ever had and I travel all of the world and the U.S. often The water pressure and hot water were unbelievable....I kept yelling out to my wife....this shower is fantastic. Everyone loves a great shower. The hotel itself feels warm and welcoming and maybe that's because the staff is possibly the best that I have experienced at ANY hotel. They surely blow away anything that I have experienced in Italy. And they speak English...some VERY well which is quite refreshing after hearing myself stumble over the beautiful Italian language. I still remember all of them: Andrea, Marianna, Daniele and of course Francecsa who was fantastic. My wife and I came down with a one day sickness which we later realized was the one day Flu. At the time though we had no idea how long we would be sick and were extremely worried about my wife and the baby. Francesca not only gave me the last of her medicine (that she said was ok for my wife to take because she is also a mother and took it when she was pregnant and her Dr. said it was ok) but she wanted to reassure us so she actually called the hospital and spoke to a Dr. to confirmed that it was indeed ok. It worked on my wife like a charm and within one day were back on our feet. I'd say it was probably the best possible place to be sick because we could not get up or do anything...we stayed in our room for over 24 hours...going out to the porch to catch a quick peek at the view every few hours. But oh what a place to be alive and well or sick and dying...Ravello is the place where you want to do nothing but just BE in the moment with no requirements placed upon you! The only challenge is to be where your body is! We often drift to our worries and project ourselves into the future when on vacation or when faced with a literally awe inducing spectacle as Ravello's beautiful landscape thrusts upon your senses. Such beauty as Ravello is a bit intimidating and challenging...because once you see it...you will be forever changed having known what true beauty is. Most future sights will pale in comparison. Are you ready to be disappointed with everything you see after visiting Ravello? I'd say it's worth the risk for we will always have Italy to come back to. To end, you will not be disappointed with Ravello and you will not be disappointed with The Palumbo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Palumbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo

Address: 16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#13 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...my family's dream...my own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and T4B so you can book your Hotel Palumbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palumbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.