We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, great service, good character & personality” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Palumbo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Palumbo to your Saves list
Hotel Palumbo
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Very nice, great service, good character & personality”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

We had booked a trip in April to stay at Villa Fraulo, but they had an electrical problem and were closed for several days, so we were re-booked next door in Palumbo. Overall, a very pleasant and romantic stay. The hotel lacks some "polish" that keeps it from being classified as 5 stars (compared to our experience in travels all over Europe, Caribbean, USA and Indian Ocean). The main things were that our room, which had a ton of character and a gorgeous view, had a bathroom that was a bit out-dated in its amenities, and the room opened directly to the lobby (where breakfast is served each morning). But these were small things, and well more than made up for by the outstanding, friendly and helpful staff. Additionally, the lobby is a beautiful and architecturally impressive old building, the view looking down the coast is stunning, and the location is great. Highly recommend getting a nice bottle of wine (go and see Branko at the Wine & Drugs just off of the Ravello square) and simply staying in, open the window and have a nice evening of talking, drinking wine and watching the beautiful coastline at night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    37
    14
    5
    15
See reviews for
18
95
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

Well, I must first say that my last name is Palumbo so that is indeed why I was initially attracted to this property. I checked it out many years ago after looking into getting married in Ravello. I ended up choosing Lake Como but both areas offer stunning settings and are equally lovely. So we saved Ravello for our 5 Year anniversary and chose to to do it one year earlier due to the fact that my wife and I are having a baby so we celebrated our 4 year anniversary and our baby moon here. Now onto the hotel. Just perfect!!! It's exactly what you would want in a hotel. The views are breathtaking and are the exact same views as the Caruso and Sasso which are extremely expensive in comparison. The shower was literally one of the best I have ever had and I travel all of the world and the U.S. often The water pressure and hot water were unbelievable....I kept yelling out to my wife....this shower is fantastic. Everyone loves a great shower. The hotel itself feels warm and welcoming and maybe that's because the staff is possibly the best that I have experienced at ANY hotel. They surely blow away anything that I have experienced in Italy. And they speak English...some VERY well which is quite refreshing after hearing myself stumble over the beautiful Italian language. I still remember all of them: Andrea, Marianna, Daniele and of course Francecsa who was fantastic. My wife and I came down with a one day sickness which we later realized was the one day Flu. At the time though we had no idea how long we would be sick and were extremely worried about my wife and the baby. Francesca not only gave me the last of her medicine (that she said was ok for my wife to take because she is also a mother and took it when she was pregnant and her Dr. said it was ok) but she wanted to reassure us so she actually called the hospital and spoke to a Dr. to confirmed that it was indeed ok. It worked on my wife like a charm and within one day were back on our feet. I'd say it was probably the best possible place to be sick because we could not get up or do anything...we stayed in our room for over 24 hours...going out to the porch to catch a quick peek at the view every few hours. But oh what a place to be alive and well or sick and dying...Ravello is the place where you want to do nothing but just BE in the moment with no requirements placed upon you! The only challenge is to be where your body is! We often drift to our worries and project ourselves into the future when on vacation or when faced with a literally awe inducing spectacle as Ravello's beautiful landscape thrusts upon your senses. Such beauty as Ravello is a bit intimidating and challenging...because once you see it...you will be forever changed having known what true beauty is. Most future sights will pale in comparison. Are you ready to be disappointed with everything you see after visiting Ravello? I'd say it's worth the risk for we will always have Italy to come back to. To end, you will not be disappointed with Ravello and you will not be disappointed with The Palumbo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

While in Ravello we went into the lobby of this hotel in order to visit the premises, supposed to be beautiful by the travel guides we read. We found the lobby and the terrace superb with an exceptional view of the whole coast. On my way out, I accidentally kicked a small glass vase with sand and a candle in it which was on the floor and broke it. I immediately appologized to the front desk and offered to pay for the damage. The gentlemen at the front desk ( I later knew his name was Andrea Pizzoferro ) was very polite and good willing and said he wil call the general manager and owner to ask about the value of the damage. Three minutes later he was back saying that the owner understands that things like that may happen and that he wants me to keep a good remembrance of the hotel - and therefore there will be no charge! While being speechless about the manner this was handled, Mr Pizzoferro of the front desk instantly said that regardless of what happened ,we should feel free to visit the other parts of the hotel. Not only that , but he offered graciously to accompany us on a tour of the hotel with explanations! He took us to the gardens, upper floors, restaurant, public spaces- everything explained in a very friendly manner and in a perfect , accent less , English. What I saw was an outstanding hotel in every detail, superb public spaces, astonishing views, beautiful gardens and a very elegant restaurant, with an original painting masterpiece of the middle ages. Although I did not stay in this hotel, what I saw and the outstanding behavior and friendship of Mr Pizzoferro make me recommend this hotel. Personally I will definitely stay there if I return to Ravello.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed every minute of our time at Hotel Palumbo. A glass of wine on the little bar terrace with the spectacular views was about as good as it could get. Heaven!
The breakfast served on the upper terrace was fabulous. The antiques alone were amazing.
We were most impressed by the excellent care and attention by Andrea of the Front Desk. He could well have been the manager! Thank you Andrea for making our stay so memorable.

(The hotel drivers, Adriano and Salvatore were professional, and personable... thanks to them as well for being so helpful.)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2012

I have been to this family owned estate for a stay three times. Every time the service is wonderful and the town of Revello is spectacular. I would much rather be at this hotel and city overlooking the med and the towns below. I know the family dog Popo is no longer in the house and it has been a few years since I have been there but I would take this hotel and this town over any in Posiyano.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed in room 32 on the 2nd floor which was quite spacious with a large bath.

The restaurant was still closed for the season, but breakfast was OK with good coffee.

Service was excellent: they held my hand while I waited for my lost luggage (actually, we drove to Sorrento and took the ferry to Capri, they did call me when it arrived).

Bit of a hike to Mamma Agata's cooking school, so we took a taxi back.

I had previously stayed at Hotel Parsival which has been recently renovated: after dinner there, we saw room # 29 which is quite nice and has a great view.

I would recommend Hot. Palumbo and, of course, Ravello.

Room Tip: # 32 was quite nice, comfy, and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

The Palumbo is in a beautiful historic building that has terrific views. Our room was on the first floor with a walkout terrace. The room was clean and comfortable though the bathroom could use some updating. The bathroom tile looked like a cheap job from the 1950's. The room was incredibly quiet since there are no busy roads nearby. The hotel staff was uniformly polite and helpful. The only meal we took in the hotel was breakfast, which was somewhat spartan but fine. Parking is in another building a short distance from the hotel along the very narrow road. BTW, a Garmin GPS will get you there even though the route seems really circuitous. The location of the hotel is great since it's only a short walk to the main square of the town.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Palumbo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Palumbo

Address: 16 Via San Giovanni del Toro, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Ravello
#10 Family Hotel in Ravello
#10 Romantic Hotel in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Palumbo 5*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel still preserves reminiscences of the medieval structure of the original Palazzo Confalone built in the 12th Century. Other architectural and decorative elements were added in the 17th Century. The architecture of the building is in itself a mosaic of time. Consisting of five different levels, which have nothing in common with modern-concept storeys, the building has an irregular vertical structure - very similar to the original one - with added wings, a tower-like extra storey, and a maze of unpredictable openings, corners and corridors. A small flag-like sign hangs discreetly above the main door of Palazzo Confalone. Built in the 12th Century, in a suggestive spot of one of Ravello's little alleyways, the building protrudes on the street with a tower-like structure forming an arch, dotted with tiny loop-holes which were used as lookouts and defence posts in bygone - not very safe - days. A mixture of Moresque arches and ogives from the East. Precious, ancient Greek and Roman marble columns from Paestum and the Amalfi Coast. The Vuilleumiers' refined taste is particularly evident in the interiors of bedrooms and communal living rooms: each individual piece of furniture and decoration accessory belongs to the family home and all rooms and communal areas have multicolour ceramic floorings dating back to the 17th and 18th centuries. If glasses could speak, they would tell you about those timeless moments when one feels like sitting at the bar to look for lightness and extemporary peace. This ritual has also accompanied the stays of the many celebrities who sojourned at Hotel Palumbo. In 125 years, the "Don Pasquale" bar has "sipped" stories from the movies world, confessions from stars in the show-business, as well as melancholies of love, dreams of freedom, ideas for tales, and inscrutable silences. The architecture and colour scheme of the bar offer an original mix of the many atmospheres of Ravello. The hotel is named after Pasquale Palumbo, who, together with his Bern-born wife, opened the first Hotel Palumbo in Ravello in the middle of the 19th century. The building that housed the hotel was called Episcopio because it had been an Episcopal dwelling in the distant past. Since the early days, the hotel lodged illustrious guests from every corner of Europe. They were indeed attracted by the beauty of the surroundings but also by the fame Mrs. Palumbo, Elisabetta Von Wartburg, enjoyed in international circles of the time. Wagner himself came to Ravello because he had heard about this lady and left a signed thank you note for the hospitality received. Jessy Palumbo, daughter of Pasquale Palumbo and Elisabetta Von Wartburg, got married with Edwin Vuilleumier and the couple continued the family tradition by taking over the Hotel. Pasquale Vuilleumier was a man of Swiss origins but with the typical inflection of Neapolitan gentlemen. From his grandfather, on his mother's side, he had inherited the spirit of enterprise; from his father's side of the family he had absorbed a stern commitment to work. His clientele, won over by his congenial ways and unpretentious, elegant style, used to come back to Ravello to visit him as a friend, just like the illustrious guests of the early days had done with his predecessors. "This was his home. The hotel was his life: why not keep my father Pasqual's dream...my family's dream...my own dream alive? It was written that in the end my home and my hotel would become one and the same thing". Marco Vuilleumier ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, T4B, Orbitz, Venere, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Palumbo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palumbo Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Palumbo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.