We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fraulo to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fraulo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Derbyshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

Beautiful hotel, fantastic food, wonderful staff! We stayed here for a wedding and had a superior room which certainly lived up to its name. It was beautiful and very big with everything we needed except an iron, which were banned!!
The food was incredible during the wedding and good in the mornings although we could have done with a few top ups on some mornings.
The best thing about the hotel was the staff especially in the bar and restaurant where they could not do enough for is. Maruizo's cocktails are the best I've had!
I would definitely go back despite the 25 euro per day parking charge!!

Room Tip: Get a superior room, well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    68
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
36
172
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been 3 days in Hotel Villa Fraulo and it were some 3 lovely days. This is the perfect hotel for a nice holiday in the Amalfi Coast. When you stay at the terrace of this hotel, you can understand these words, the view from the hotel is amazing. You can see a part of the Amalfi Coast and it is wonderfull to see this. We took every morning a breakfast which is very extensive.

There are also compliments for the staff. Our special mention deserve the bar and restaurant staff.

Further about the inside of the hotel. The hotel is beautifull in the way that it is decorated. In addition, it is clean.

When we open the first time the door of our bedroom, we couldn't believe that this was really our room. It was a room with a big bed where we slept wonderfull, with a amazing view and a lovely bathroom.

We want to tell thanks to Hotel Villa Fraulo for the good stay. We wish you the best and hopefully we meet in the future again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have just returned from our second visit to Ravello, staying once again at the stunning Villa Fraulo. Last October, we only stayed for 3 nights, but this year, we were lucky to have five nights at this hotel. I adore this hotel; it has something very special, don't quite know what exactly, but it's there in abundance. The view from the rooms and the breakfast terrace are sublime and we kept the curtains open every night so that we could see the sunrise. The staff are delightful and take great pride in their work. The beds, pillows and quality of the sheets/towels are better than what I'd expect from a hotel in this category. Linen was changed every day. Wi-fi was available and seemed to work everywhere I went on the hotel premises. We traveled with my disabled mother who is 84 and the accessibility of this hotel was excellent and the staff made sure that we were comfortable. On our last day, we had to leave at 7am to catch our return flight, and the receptionist offered us breakfast in our room at 6.30. I travel a lot and rarely take the time to write reviews, but this hotel certainly deserves my support and I would certainly like to go back for a third visit. Congratulations to all at Villa Fraulo.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Our room was large and very comfortable. The bed was great. Everything was immaculate.

The bathroom was huge - almost as large as the room itself - with double sinks, a soaker tub big enough for two (proven) and separate WC and shower stall (with rainfall shower head and side wall jets).

Best of all was the wonderful balcony looking over the incredible Salerno Bay. Ravello sits atop the mountains over Amalfi - so the view is truly spectacular.

The included breakfast was quite average. But you get to eat it on a terrace with the same view, so who cares.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We booked into this lovely hotel last minute through booking.com. We were upgraded to a superior room at no extra charge, which was very nice and appreciated. The Wi-fi was not available in our room and when we asked about fixing it, their solution was to downgrade us to a standard room. We felt like it was a punishment of sorts for complaining about the wifi.
The desk staff at check -in were a little officious and somewhat condescending.
Be warned Parking cost an additional €25 per day. Parking is at a premium on the Amalfi Coast, but be sure to do your research if staying here, as there may have been other options that we were not aware of.
Breakfast was great. Loved the terrace.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Our stay at Villa Fraulo was perfect from beginning to end. We arrived very late, around 10 pm but the member of staff on duty immediately suggested we might like some refreshment at the bar, our bags were delivered to our rooms and the car parked for us. We had excellent service throughout our stay and the staff could not have been more helpful. Our room had a sea view and was spacious and comfortable with a lovely bathroom. The hotel is in a very good location, with access to the town through the front entrance and close to the local bus stop from the lower entrance. The walks around Ravello through the gardens are lovely and the little town itself is charming with several excellent restaurents. The bus rides to Amalfi and Positano are the best way of getting around the coast and most entertaining. For a trip to Pompei the road across the mountains is quieter and very scenic. We were a group of four English people coming to celebrate a birthday, and we loved the place.

Room Tip: rooms with sea view are essential, higher rooms have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire UK
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

I am sometimes puzzled by the criteria which guide books use when deciding to include (or not) hotels. Take the Villa Fraulo, which fails to be mentioned in any of the Rough Guide, Lonely Planet or the DK Eyewitness guides to the Amalfi coast. Possibly in any town other than Ravello, which has a number of very high end hotels it would be an automatic shoe-in, for it is a very good four star hotel indeed. I have just spent three nights there and have been thoroughly impressed by every aspect. For its rating the rooms are large, spotless and very well appointed, with, for any above the third floor, private balconies giving spectacular views back towards Salerno. We had a deluxe on the fourth floor and it was perfect. The showers are particularly good with four body jets as well as the overhead one while the decor of the rooms is basically white marble - very cool and relaxing.
The staff were friendly, attentive and helpful throughout and were always available. If the weather is fine breakfast can be taken on the large terrace with its fountain and its views. On the last night evening we ate in the restaurant and the meal was as good as any on our nine day holiday - the steak in particular was perfect.
It is situated just above the town's central piazza and also near the 'bus stop and taxi rank (upstairs entrance for the former, downstairs for the latter - the internal geography is initially quite confusing!), so is very handy for everything that Ravello has to offer.
This is a splendid and professional hotel in the most beautiful of towns. The prices are reasonable, the facilities excellent and the service first rate. I can thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, Hotwire, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Venere and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fraulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.