We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Fraulo to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fraulo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Ravello
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“great”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

fantastic hotel in a very good location, friendly personal, breakfast good, great view from the balcony to the sea, just the water in the pool was very cold, an Guiseppe ( a man for everything) was very great, super


  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    158
    62
    23
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
163
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rolling Hills Estates, California
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Our room at this hotel was modern, but the toilet seat was broken, and although we reported the problem to the hotel staff, it was never fixed. Our room had lots of street noise, and the cafe below sent cigarette smoke wafting into our windows. The restaurant provided an adequate breakfast selection and decent service. The bright spot of our stay here was the wonderful town of Ravello.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying at Villa Fraulo for four nights. Upon arrival, the reception was welcoming and friendly. We had a gorgeous suite on the 8th floor with breathtaking views. The bedroom opened up to a balcony facing the azure waters of the bay and the hilly towns of the coast, what a view to wake up to each morning! The bed was one of the most comfortable sleeps in all of our extensive travels. The restaurant had an outdoor terrace which seemed to be suspended over the water, just gorgeous. The food, true to the Neapolitan style of cuisine was yummy!! The Maitre'd, Maurizio, certainly deserves an honourable mention as he memorized all our names ( we were a group of 8 ) within the first hour of our arrival. He made sure our breakfast table was ready every morning and was very accommodating with our late night spuntino {munchies}, providing us with prosciutto, cheese and olive platters in the restaurant. The hotel itself was in a great location, very close to the main piazza and the quaint town. The allure and beauty of Ravello has captured our hearts and we are sure to make this delightful gem a part of our yearly trip to Italia....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughton
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed in Ravello a few times in several of the hotels, and chose the Villa Fraulo as we had stayed before when it first opened and we had had such a lovely time, we vowed to return when the opportunity arose. We tried to book for our 40th wedding anniversary last year, but they were fully booked for a wedding, (and there are many, many weddings in Ravello), so we were disappointed, and so were really looking forward to our stay on this occasion.

Upon arrival, the valet system is extremely useful, given the parking restraints in Ravello, and the chap was helpful and pleasant. So far so good.

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in a modern/classical style, has stunning views from the terrace, and the staff were very pleasant. However, we were disappointed with the room.

This time we booked a standard room, but in doing so, did not realise that all standard rooms are on the first floor at lower ground level, nearest the road, and noisy; there is a cafe next door which is open for workers breakfasts, there are buses turning and people at the bus stop during the day, and it would have been possible to have a conversation with passengers on the red Citybus if they were not looking the other way enthralled by their own unobscured view. All the time there are also 'buzzy' motor scooters which used the route well in to the night. It was impossible to sleep with the window open owing to the noise, and also for security reasons, as we were so close to the road. Our own sea/mountain view was obscured by trees, which again was disappointing.

The room itself was immaculately clean though rather compact, the bed was comfortable, and the water hot. The bath is rather high sided, and clambering in for a shower proved difficult and ungainly, as one found oneself having to hang onto the tap for security. Towels fluffy, but we had to produce papers to show we were entitled to bathrobes, and the advertised bed setee was never evident as there would not have been enough room. The wardrobe was a hoot, because it was badly designed, in that the rail was so high up, a stick was supplied, though negotiation of the hanging system was difficult, as the hangers were of the type where a pin needed to go through a fine slot to secure, and of course the rail was so high as to make this impossible without standing on a chair. The hanging space was too short for dresses too.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic the first morning as there was no indication of what was available, coffee took an age, and we finally found out there were eggs! But it was the weekend and service improved after that. And the poached eggs and pancetta bacon were perfectly cooked.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. Avoid standard rooms and ask which level you are booking. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Gent.Ma Lady Rosalind
We are very sorry that your stay you planned and dreamed did not live, and we are willing to repair, if we have the pleasure of having another guest at that time of Ravello.
The month of September is the peak month in Ravello, as the most beautiful month, and for this reason that overlooks the street where the hotel is always very crowded.
But the facing and the view are also our strong point, as all rooms have sea view, with no exception, and enjoy the show so much has her little charges.
Anyway, thank you for your constructive criticism and I will always treasure to make your stay more enjoyable for you and for all those who will have the honor of visiting us at "Villa Fraulo"
Thanks again, and apologies again ... see you soon ....
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent four nights here and were very pleased with this hotel. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the views from both the room and terrace/pool were stunning. The hotel is also conveniently close to the centre of the beautiful town of Ravello.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We ordered delux room and was upgraded by the hotel to the suite in the 8 floor

In one word , AMAZING !!!

Unbelievable view , 2 balconies , 3 large windows with amazing view at any point in the suite !!!

We loved it !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here for our honeymoon. All of the staff ( from front desk, to cleaning ladies, to waiters) are extremely friendly and helpful. The inclusive breakfast is amazing, it includes omelettes, fruits, fresh veggies, pastries, cheeses, meats, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffees, teas, and you eat it on the terrace which offers the most amazing view of the cliffs and sea. The room is very clean and nice with a comfortable bed, a great shower, and a balcony with an amazing view where you could end your day with a nice bottle of wine. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for a 4 star hotel. Be sure to go next door to palazzo avino for a meal or drink on their amazing terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 21 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fraulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.