We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return to the Villa Fraulo” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Fraulo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Fraulo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Loughton
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Return to the Villa Fraulo”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We have stayed in Ravello a few times in several of the hotels, and chose the Villa Fraulo as we had stayed before when it first opened and we had had such a lovely time, we vowed to return when the opportunity arose. We tried to book for our 40th wedding anniversary last year, but they were fully booked for a wedding, (and there are many, many weddings in Ravello), so we were disappointed, and so were really looking forward to our stay on this occasion.

Upon arrival, the valet system is extremely useful, given the parking restraints in Ravello, and the chap was helpful and pleasant. So far so good.

The hotel itself is beautifully decorated in a modern/classical style, has stunning views from the terrace, and the staff were very pleasant. However, we were disappointed with the room.

This time we booked a standard room, but in doing so, did not realise that all standard rooms are on the first floor at lower ground level, nearest the road, and noisy; there is a cafe next door which is open for workers breakfasts, there are buses turning and people at the bus stop during the day, and it would have been possible to have a conversation with passengers on the red Citybus if they were not looking the other way enthralled by their own unobscured view. All the time there are also 'buzzy' motor scooters which used the route well in to the night. It was impossible to sleep with the window open owing to the noise, and also for security reasons, as we were so close to the road. Our own sea/mountain view was obscured by trees, which again was disappointing.

The room itself was immaculately clean though rather compact, the bed was comfortable, and the water hot. The bath is rather high sided, and clambering in for a shower proved difficult and ungainly, as one found oneself having to hang onto the tap for security. Towels fluffy, but we had to produce papers to show we were entitled to bathrobes, and the advertised bed setee was never evident as there would not have been enough room. The wardrobe was a hoot, because it was badly designed, in that the rail was so high up, a stick was supplied, though negotiation of the hanging system was difficult, as the hangers were of the type where a pin needed to go through a fine slot to secure, and of course the rail was so high as to make this impossible without standing on a chair. The hanging space was too short for dresses too.

Breakfast was a bit chaotic the first morning as there was no indication of what was available, coffee took an age, and we finally found out there were eggs! But it was the weekend and service improved after that. And the poached eggs and pancetta bacon were perfectly cooked.

Room Tip: The higher the room the better. Avoid standard rooms and ask which level you are booking. This...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Gent.Ma Lady Rosalind
We are very sorry that your stay you planned and dreamed did not live, and we are willing to repair, if we have the pleasure of having another guest at that time of Ravello.
The month of September is the peak month in Ravello, as the most beautiful month, and for this reason that overlooks the street where the hotel is always very crowded.
But the facing and the view are also our strong point, as all rooms have sea view, with no exception, and enjoy the show so much has her little charges.
Anyway, thank you for your constructive criticism and I will always treasure to make your stay more enjoyable for you and for all those who will have the honor of visiting us at "Villa Fraulo"
Thanks again, and apologies again ... see you soon ....
Luigi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    56
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
143
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ballarat, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent four nights here and were very pleased with this hotel. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the views from both the room and terrace/pool were stunning. The hotel is also conveniently close to the centre of the beautiful town of Ravello.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

We ordered delux room and was upgraded by the hotel to the suite in the 8 floor

In one word , AMAZING !!!

Unbelievable view , 2 balconies , 3 large windows with amazing view at any point in the suite !!!

We loved it !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here for our honeymoon. All of the staff ( from front desk, to cleaning ladies, to waiters) are extremely friendly and helpful. The inclusive breakfast is amazing, it includes omelettes, fruits, fresh veggies, pastries, cheeses, meats, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffees, teas, and you eat it on the terrace which offers the most amazing view of the cliffs and sea. The room is very clean and nice with a comfortable bed, a great shower, and a balcony with an amazing view where you could end your day with a nice bottle of wine. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for a 4 star hotel. Be sure to go next door to palazzo avino for a meal or drink on their amazing terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was a terrible dissapointment and one of the worst my husband and I have ever stayed in. The pictures completely mis-represent the reality. There are much better hotels around, with similar views where you'll have a much better time.

First the entire place is dark and empty. Sometimes the lights are out in light fixtures, sometimes they just dont turn on to begin with. Many of the seating and dining areas are dark and uninviting. We never saw the lights on in the areas by the bar or the dining room and no one was ever there. The furniture is old and looks moldy. We just didn't want to sit down.

Moving on to the room, we arrived to find that we did not have a toilet seat on our toilet! Stayed there 4 nights and checked on when it would be replaced daily. We never got one. The mini refrigerator smelled and did not keep anything cold. The bed was covered with a bedspread which looked old and worn, and we removed it immediately. The only nice things were the bathroom, which was large and had a nice shower, and the balcony, which gave us a lovely view of the sea and towns below.

The pool and 'sauna' are completely misrepresented. The pool is narrow with a grate that prevents you from looking over the edge. It is rusting on the bottom. Although I selected this hotel partly for the pool, we actively avoided getting in. The sauna, is a dark room, with a small pool filled with cold water, which flows out into the pool. Also not inviting at all. The only thing about the outdoor terrace that was nice was the view, which like the balconies, overlooks the sea and towns below. However, the loungers on the patio were uncomfortable, the towels old, and the marble fountain never functioned.

Although the hotel offers a breakfast buffet, the eggs were completely unappetizing, and the deli bar constantly running out. We arrived one morning half an hour before breakfast was to end and found almost everything empty. We had to seek someone out and ask for more food to be brought out, but it was not offered. One morning we simply elected to go into the Ravello main square to get breakfast, and had a great omelette and croissant, and far better coffee there.

Lastly the staff was completely unhelpful and generally ignorant. The last night we were there we asked about the ferry schedule, to which one of the hotel employees gave us a schedule from a ferry company that had not been operating in TWO years. Had we followed his advice we would have missed our flight. Every time I called the front desk from the room they seemed absolutely clueless.

Overall, even though we stayed here for a full 4 days, we avoided being in the hotel as much as possible. Trust me, stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Higher floors over a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Cara Signora
Gent.mi lords
For a hotel entrepreneur is always a good thing to have constructive criticism in order to improve and provide better service.
But when criticism go beyond good taste and good manners is right to respond in kind, especially when this is the only one, so brutal and free.
It's fair to say that the staff was not up but it is rude to say that the peasants are not like the decor but can say that the same is old and moldy when's hotel is only open for two years seems so much lie .
In any case, expect to Villa Fraulo to prove to you and to all who will ilpiacere of opsitare that the photos are not accurate ... in fact the reality is much much better ..... !
Best wishes and see you soon
F.lli Di Lieto
The owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night in Ravello and were very happy with the Hotel Villa Fraulo. Our parents stayed next door in a five-star hotel, but we thought our four-star hotel was better. A highlight was the infinity pool that looks out at the view 1500 feet above the Mediterranean. My wife loves pools and she was absolutely delighted with this one. The bathroom in our room was very deluxe with a bathtub and a separate shower with a deluge shower head. Our room had a balcony looking east and I watched the sunrise over the mountain top from there. The breakfast was delicious, with many sweet pastry options. The decor was very rich feeling. The property is just a few hundred yards walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a suite at the hotel and it was very big And deluxe with two separate rooms with decks outside each room. We had trouble with the fridge in the room that was not working. A day later they changed it for another fridge but it did not seem to make any difference and would not make anything cold. The breakfast was very good but nearly all the seats on the deck are in the sun. Location was very central to the town square

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fraulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.