We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel in a Lovely Town” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Fraulo to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Fraulo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Certificate of Excellence
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel in a Lovely Town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent four nights here and were very pleased with this hotel. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the views from both the room and terrace/pool were stunning. The hotel is also conveniently close to the centre of the beautiful town of Ravello.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NickLiub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We ordered delux room and was upgraded by the hotel to the suite in the 8 floor

In one word , AMAZING !!!

Unbelievable view , 2 balconies , 3 large windows with amazing view at any point in the suite !!!

We loved it !!!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank galYcarmit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here for our honeymoon. All of the staff ( from front desk, to cleaning ladies, to waiters) are extremely friendly and helpful. The inclusive breakfast is amazing, it includes omelettes, fruits, fresh veggies, pastries, cheeses, meats, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffees, teas, and you eat it on the terrace which offers the most amazing view of the cliffs and sea. The room is very clean and nice with a comfortable bed, a great shower, and a balcony with an amazing view where you could end your day with a nice bottle of wine. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for a 4 star hotel. Be sure to go next door to palazzo avino for a meal or drink on their amazing terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prettybird2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was a terrible dissapointment and one of the worst my husband and I have ever stayed in. The pictures completely mis-represent the reality. There are much better hotels around, with similar views where you'll have a much better time.

First the entire place is dark and empty. Sometimes the lights are out in light fixtures, sometimes they just dont turn on to begin with. Many of the seating and dining areas are dark and uninviting. We never saw the lights on in the areas by the bar or the dining room and no one was ever there. The furniture is old and looks moldy. We just didn't want to sit down.

Moving on to the room, we arrived to find that we did not have a toilet seat on our toilet! Stayed there 4 nights and checked on when it would be replaced daily. We never got one. The mini refrigerator smelled and did not keep anything cold. The bed was covered with a bedspread which looked old and worn, and we removed it immediately. The only nice things were the bathroom, which was large and had a nice shower, and the balcony, which gave us a lovely view of the sea and towns below.

The pool and 'sauna' are completely misrepresented. The pool is narrow with a grate that prevents you from looking over the edge. It is rusting on the bottom. Although I selected this hotel partly for the pool, we actively avoided getting in. The sauna, is a dark room, with a small pool filled with cold water, which flows out into the pool. Also not inviting at all. The only thing about the outdoor terrace that was nice was the view, which like the balconies, overlooks the sea and towns below. However, the loungers on the patio were uncomfortable, the towels old, and the marble fountain never functioned.

Although the hotel offers a breakfast buffet, the eggs were completely unappetizing, and the deli bar constantly running out. We arrived one morning half an hour before breakfast was to end and found almost everything empty. We had to seek someone out and ask for more food to be brought out, but it was not offered. One morning we simply elected to go into the Ravello main square to get breakfast, and had a great omelette and croissant, and far better coffee there.

Lastly the staff was completely unhelpful and generally ignorant. The last night we were there we asked about the ferry schedule, to which one of the hotel employees gave us a schedule from a ferry company that had not been operating in TWO years. Had we followed his advice we would have missed our flight. Every time I called the front desk from the room they seemed absolutely clueless.

Overall, even though we stayed here for a full 4 days, we avoided being in the hotel as much as possible. Trust me, stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Higher floors over a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katrina E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Cara Signora
Gent.mi lords
For a hotel entrepreneur is always a good thing to have constructive criticism in order to improve and provide better service.
But when criticism go beyond good taste and good manners is right to respond in kind, especially when this is the only one, so brutal and free.
It's fair to say that the staff was not up but it is rude to say that the peasants are not like the decor but can say that the same is old and moldy when's hotel is only open for two years seems so much lie .
In any case, expect to Villa Fraulo to prove to you and to all who will ilpiacere of opsitare that the photos are not accurate ... in fact the reality is much much better ..... !
Best wishes and see you soon
F.lli Di Lieto
The owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed one night in Ravello and were very happy with the Hotel Villa Fraulo. Our parents stayed next door in a five-star hotel, but we thought our four-star hotel was better. A highlight was the infinity pool that looks out at the view 1500 feet above the Mediterranean. My wife loves pools and she was absolutely delighted with this one. The bathroom in our room was very deluxe with a bathtub and a separate shower with a deluge shower head. Our room had a balcony looking east and I watched the sunrise over the mountain top from there. The breakfast was delicious, with many sweet pastry options. The decor was very rich feeling. The property is just a few hundred yards walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottM92821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
182 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a suite at the hotel and it was very big And deluxe with two separate rooms with decks outside each room. We had trouble with the fridge in the room that was not working. A day later they changed it for another fridge but it did not seem to make any difference and would not make anything cold. The breakfast was very good but nearly all the seats on the deck are in the sun. Location was very central to the town square

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WildcatNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Level Contributor
236 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here three nights while touring in the Amalfi Coast. The location is just about perfect, the breakfast was very good, the views spectacular and the service from the sixth floor restaurant was exceptional. However, there were some significant downsides to our stay. Our standard room on second floor ($300+ per night) had an intermittant sewer odor emanating from the bathroom that despite two calls, the hotel could not eradicate. Our room was very small even by Italy standards and the bathroom tiny. We heard road noise until about 11 pm each night and worse, we could hear our neighbor's conversation when they were in the bathroom. The hotel wi-fi was down for two of the three days we were staying. Our towels were not changed during our visit. The front desk service ranged from indifference to arrogance. Location is not everything and I believe you can do better for the price while in Ravello.

Room Tip: Find a more reasonable hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ravello hotels
0.1 mi away
Belmond Hotel Caruso
Belmond Hotel Caruso
#2 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Palumbo
Hotel Palumbo
#13 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 217 reviews
0.1 mi away
Graal Hotel Ravello
Graal Hotel Ravello
#18 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palazzo Avino
Palazzo Avino
#3 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 570 reviews
0.3 mi away
Villa Maria Hotel
Villa Maria Hotel
#10 of 22 in Ravello
4.5 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rufolo
Hotel Rufolo
#16 of 22 in Ravello
4.0 of 5 stars 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 22 Hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing