We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing service and views” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Fraulo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Villa Fraulo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Little Falls, New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Amazing service and views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

My husband and I spent five nights here for our honeymoon. All of the staff ( from front desk, to cleaning ladies, to waiters) are extremely friendly and helpful. The inclusive breakfast is amazing, it includes omelettes, fruits, fresh veggies, pastries, cheeses, meats, cereal, yogurt, juices, coffees, teas, and you eat it on the terrace which offers the most amazing view of the cliffs and sea. The room is very clean and nice with a comfortable bed, a great shower, and a balcony with an amazing view where you could end your day with a nice bottle of wine. I would highly recommend it if you are looking for a 4 star hotel. Be sure to go next door to palazzo avino for a meal or drink on their amazing terrace.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    135
    56
    18
    6
    2
See reviews for
27
143
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brussels
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

This hotel was a terrible dissapointment and one of the worst my husband and I have ever stayed in. The pictures completely mis-represent the reality. There are much better hotels around, with similar views where you'll have a much better time.

First the entire place is dark and empty. Sometimes the lights are out in light fixtures, sometimes they just dont turn on to begin with. Many of the seating and dining areas are dark and uninviting. We never saw the lights on in the areas by the bar or the dining room and no one was ever there. The furniture is old and looks moldy. We just didn't want to sit down.

Moving on to the room, we arrived to find that we did not have a toilet seat on our toilet! Stayed there 4 nights and checked on when it would be replaced daily. We never got one. The mini refrigerator smelled and did not keep anything cold. The bed was covered with a bedspread which looked old and worn, and we removed it immediately. The only nice things were the bathroom, which was large and had a nice shower, and the balcony, which gave us a lovely view of the sea and towns below.

The pool and 'sauna' are completely misrepresented. The pool is narrow with a grate that prevents you from looking over the edge. It is rusting on the bottom. Although I selected this hotel partly for the pool, we actively avoided getting in. The sauna, is a dark room, with a small pool filled with cold water, which flows out into the pool. Also not inviting at all. The only thing about the outdoor terrace that was nice was the view, which like the balconies, overlooks the sea and towns below. However, the loungers on the patio were uncomfortable, the towels old, and the marble fountain never functioned.

Although the hotel offers a breakfast buffet, the eggs were completely unappetizing, and the deli bar constantly running out. We arrived one morning half an hour before breakfast was to end and found almost everything empty. We had to seek someone out and ask for more food to be brought out, but it was not offered. One morning we simply elected to go into the Ravello main square to get breakfast, and had a great omelette and croissant, and far better coffee there.

Lastly the staff was completely unhelpful and generally ignorant. The last night we were there we asked about the ferry schedule, to which one of the hotel employees gave us a schedule from a ferry company that had not been operating in TWO years. Had we followed his advice we would have missed our flight. Every time I called the front desk from the room they seemed absolutely clueless.

Overall, even though we stayed here for a full 4 days, we avoided being in the hotel as much as possible. Trust me, stay somewhere else!

Room Tip: Higher floors over a better view of the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VillaFraulo, Proprietario at Hotel Villa Fraulo, responded to this review, September 27, 2013
Cara Signora
Gent.mi lords
For a hotel entrepreneur is always a good thing to have constructive criticism in order to improve and provide better service.
But when criticism go beyond good taste and good manners is right to respond in kind, especially when this is the only one, so brutal and free.
It's fair to say that the staff was not up but it is rude to say that the peasants are not like the decor but can say that the same is old and moldy when's hotel is only open for two years seems so much lie .
In any case, expect to Villa Fraulo to prove to you and to all who will ilpiacere of opsitare that the photos are not accurate ... in fact the reality is much much better ..... !
Best wishes and see you soon
F.lli Di Lieto
The owners
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brea, California
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed one night in Ravello and were very happy with the Hotel Villa Fraulo. Our parents stayed next door in a five-star hotel, but we thought our four-star hotel was better. A highlight was the infinity pool that looks out at the view 1500 feet above the Mediterranean. My wife loves pools and she was absolutely delighted with this one. The bathroom in our room was very deluxe with a bathtub and a separate shower with a deluge shower head. Our room had a balcony looking east and I watched the sunrise over the mountain top from there. The breakfast was delicious, with many sweet pastry options. The decor was very rich feeling. The property is just a few hundred yards walk to the center of town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
65 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013

We had a suite at the hotel and it was very big And deluxe with two separate rooms with decks outside each room. We had trouble with the fridge in the room that was not working. A day later they changed it for another fridge but it did not seem to make any difference and would not make anything cold. The breakfast was very good but nearly all the seats on the deck are in the sun. Location was very central to the town square

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leawood, Kansas
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

Stayed here three nights while touring in the Amalfi Coast. The location is just about perfect, the breakfast was very good, the views spectacular and the service from the sixth floor restaurant was exceptional. However, there were some significant downsides to our stay. Our standard room on second floor ($300+ per night) had an intermittant sewer odor emanating from the bathroom that despite two calls, the hotel could not eradicate. Our room was very small even by Italy standards and the bathroom tiny. We heard road noise until about 11 pm each night and worse, we could hear our neighbor's conversation when they were in the bathroom. The hotel wi-fi was down for two of the three days we were staying. Our towels were not changed during our visit. The front desk service ranged from indifference to arrogance. Location is not everything and I believe you can do better for the price while in Ravello.

Room Tip: Find a more reasonable hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

We were disappointed in our stay at Hotel Villa Fraulo (though we were not disappointed in the town of Ravello). We visited Ravello as part of our honeymoon trip to Italy. Unfortunately, this hotel ended up being our least favorite visited. When we were initially taken to our room, there was a pervasive smell of stale cigarette smoke. The staff member insisted that smoking was not permitted in the hotel. I suggested changing rooms but was informed that the only other room available did not have a balcony (as ours did). Even after the smoke smell dissipated, there remained a stale and stuffy smell in our room, even with the sliding glass door open. The room itself was very, very small. It was the smallest of all of the hotel rooms we stayed in during our trip. There also appeared to be some mildew or mold in the shower. Breakfast was okay, though the offerings were decidedly less diverse than offered elsewhere on our trip.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've just returned from two nights at Villa Fraulo and am happy to say that we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a good location. It's just a few minutes walk from the main square but feel secluded and private. The views are breath-taking from the main terrace and pool, though you should note that pool is small and really just for taking a cool down dip in rather than any swimming.

My only complaint would be that the staff seemed a little over worked at breakfast and it took quite a while to get a clear table and then some coffee. Perhaps something management might like to look at in very busy periods (we were informed that the hotel was fully booked).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A few steps away from piazza Vescovado, the heart of Ravello, on the path of the ancient patrician villas, where time stops and silence is sovereign, you run into hotel villa Fraulo. Its origin dates back to medieval age; it has been subjected to several remakes throughout the ages, but none of this could affect its original appeal: the impressive play of the vaults and the sheen of the marbles entwine in symbiosis with the comforts of modern technology. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fraulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.