We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay in Ravello” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Fraulo

Save Saved
You added Hotel Villa Fraulo to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Villa Fraulo
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
93 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Excellent stay in Ravello”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I've just returned from two nights at Villa Fraulo and am happy to say that we really enjoyed our stay. The hotel is in a good location. It's just a few minutes walk from the main square but feel secluded and private. The views are breath-taking from the main terrace and pool, though you should note that pool is small and really just for taking a cool down dip in rather than any swimming.

My only complaint would be that the staff seemed a little over worked at breakfast and it took quite a while to get a clear table and then some coffee. Perhaps something management might like to look at in very busy periods (we were informed that the hotel was fully booked).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    146
    59
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
30
152
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

My wife had booked this Hotel for a long weekend celebration of my 40th birthday and while we had not been to the Amalfi coast before we certainly had high expectations of what awaited us. As someone who has never commented on Trip Advisor before and has a somewhat cynical view of the "professional reviewers" that you seem to get on this site, I still felt moved to say what a wonderful Hotel this is. We were lucky enough to have a suite which was one of the most beautiful rooms we have ever stayed in; expansive, clean, modern with a huge bathroom, king size bed, walk-in wardrobe and double balcony with the most incredible views of the coast below. The staff are all very friendly, professional and nothing is too much trouble, even when we wanted another cocktail in the small hours!! The food is lovely and very reasonably priced when compared with some of the 5 star hotels nearby - some of which we ate in and failed in comparison. Villa Fraulo is a must for anyone who wants the Ravello experience but doesn't want to pay the exorbitant prices charged by some of the more "established" hotels, and they are just up the road, try them, we did and were somewhat smug we were staying where we were!! Will definitely be back.

Room Tip: You want the 5th or the 8th floor as that's where the suites are, try for an upgrade as the staf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Used Ravello as a base to tour the Almafi Coast, from Paestum to Capri with the kids. Ravello is a jewel. Villa Fraulo is beautiful and in an excellent location. No better views when the sun is shining. Feels boutique, with a high standard of finishings and good room sizes. Don't expect US levels of service, southern Italy just isn't geared that way. The reception staff are helpful. If any problems approach Antonio. He is a ray of sunshine. Message to the owner: improve your breakfast selection (would expect more from a high end hotel) and give some basic customer service training to your breakfast staff. Polite but unsure how to manage a table.. I would absolutely recommend the Villa Fraulo.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

We reserved the hotel for our honeymoon and we love it. We got the fourth floor which has an astonishing view of the sea.
Staff are nice and extremity helpful. Also the breakfast is awesome with plenty of choices.
We really love the hotel

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We stayed just 2 nights, not long enough really. The hotel is one of the most beautiful I've ever stayed in. The interior is beautiful. The back patio has a view that takes your breath away. Having a glass of wine there is about as good as it gets. We didn't eat supper in the restaurant, just had a lunch on the back patio. I'm docking you one star because you served a tomato/mozzarella sandwich with a half ripe/partially green tomatoes on it. With all the lovely ripe tomatoes everywhere you look in Ravello, how you possibly do this? Perhaps I'm being a little rough on you, as we were generally disappointed by the food that we had in other parts of Ravello, excepting the pastries served in the coffee shops in the mornings. Wow. Otherwise, a five star experience. The staff is very nice, considerate and helpful. For lodging, I don't know how you beat this place. Wonderful!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Well I don't know where to begin, we are here with my elderly mother and ALL of the staff have been exceptionally helpful and friendly
The rooms are very clean and a good size
The lunch and dinner menus are great
The atmosphere is relaxed and laid back
Strongly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed here for five nights, for a cousin's wedding over Summer. Having only booked the hotel the week before arriving (a long story) we were relieved to get a room, but on arrival we were delighted to find that we'd been upgraded to a suite. The suite was beautiful, with a ks bedroom, lounge, dressing room, entry hall and substantial bathroom. But the hightlight was definately the balcony with stunning coastal view. It took my breath away.

The room was impecably clean and well appointed.

Breakfast on the level six patio was good quality. The first morning was a bit patchy - one overworked waiter, a picked over buffet - but following mornings were excellent, with a choice of several hot items as well as the typical European selection of meats, cheeses, pastries and fruit. I particulary appreciated the teas and juice options.

As mentioned by other reviewers, the location was excellent. A three minute flat walk to the town square from the lowest level, even quicker via the stairs from reception.

We also found that the service was very friendly and helpful. Check in was remarkably easy with the lovely receptionist handling the process as she took us to our room. And the hotel went out of their way to arrange a car to take us to the first wedding event on the evening of our jetlagged arrival, saving our confused brains the challenges of navigating an unknown area. Plus the bride and groom who were coincidently staying at this hotel were treated extremely well.

I will mention one slight negative - our room had intermittent noise from what we subsequently found out was the swimming pool filter. Most of the time it was low-level or non existent, but occassionally it was penetrating. Ear plugs helped and it did diminish after we mentioned it to reception.

I'd highly recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the Amalfi Coast in a beautiful location away from the coastal crush.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Villa Fraulo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Fraulo

Address: Via S. Giovanni del Toro, 18, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 hotels in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Fraulo 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Once the residence of the noble family Cortese, Hotel Villa Fraulo retains the historic atmosphere of aristocratic "buen retire", renewing the tradition and irresistible charm of the house. The medieval Villa has been refurbished several times during the centuries but its original splendor and charm have been preserved. Today you may admire a perfect symbiosis of the ancient vaults and the extraordinary marbles that meet today's modern conveniences and luxury. Fraulo Villa is a short walk from the heart of Ravello, from the Cathedral and is opposite the Town Hall. All our bedrooms and suites feature the latest in-room technology along with individually controlled air conditioning, minibar, wi-fi fast internet, hi-tech television, valet and laundry service, 24 hour room service, swimming pool and Spa Solarium & Wellness centre with several treatments at your disposal. In addition, all rooms are facing the sea and enjoy an incomparable view with privacy. In the restaurant, illuminated by warm and soft lights, decorated with recognized taste, where elegance and sophistication come together in a perfect idyll, and just sit is in itself an emotion. Emotion that is amplified when you taste the dishes, lovingly prepared by chef Gino, for which the kitchen and the food are food and emotion at the same time, sociability and communication. The restaurant has an indoor dining room, where stands the fireplace, extends into the porch located on the beautiful terrace, overlooking the incomparable view of our unique and unrepeatable Amalfi Coast. Guests appreciate the exciting view from the terrace above the sea and the tranquility that reigns sit in the shade of the umbrellas and the staff always helpful and professional. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline and Otel so you can book your Hotel Villa Fraulo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Fraulo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.