We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but be careful when you choose your room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Il Ducato Di Ravello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Il Ducato Di Ravello to your Saves list
Il Ducato Di Ravello
Piazza Duomo Rampe B. Gambardella, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 24 Ravello B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Paris, France
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great location, but be careful when you choose your room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Perfect situation, in the charming village of Ravello, Pietro is helpful, breakfast is ideal...
But the room had a very small window, with view on a stone wall... and the hotel is located on a parking lot... Some rooms have a view on the mountains and they are really nice, but ask before you book !!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    35
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
36
90
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Our room was spacious, with a separate small living area and fridge. The bathroom and room were both kept very clean and Pietro, the owner, was very helpful - from answering queries in emails beforehand to assisting with finding information for the rest of our trip.
The b&b itself has a great location just next to the piazza (just go up the steps or follow the road, as we did as we had a pushchair!). Very conveniently located in the centre of Ravello and it also has a car park - very handy if you have a lot of luggage and need to park close by. If you are looking for a clean and spacious base this place is perfect. I have been to Ravello three times and stayed in various hotels and this is an ideal budget option (by Ravello's rates!) if you are staying for only a few days.

Room Tip: If travelling with a baby ask for a ground floor room - only two steps up to the room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Great Location (Just Below the Main Square in Ravello next to the parking lot). Big rooms with sitting room as well as main bedroom. Great Rates and very clean. Lovely mountainous views.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

We stayed at this hotel from Oct 13 through to Oct 17, 2011.

My review of this hotel is all positive.

1. The room size - for those of us in North America, we are used to spacious rooms (and in Europe that isn't always the case). The Superior Room is worth every penny. Our friends stayed at the Hotel Giardino in Ravello - it cost more there and the rooms were the size of a closet.

2. An Iron - the hotel provided us with an iron! This isn't always the case in Italy...

3. The Breakfast - croissants, paninis, fresh fruit, juice, any type of coffee.

4. The location - just a few steps away from the Piazza

5. The View - just take a look at my posted pics

6. Free Wi-Fi

And last however certainly not least:

7. The Staff - Pietro was a wonderful host. We were in town for a wedding and on the night of the pre-wedding party it was raining....and raining hard. Pietro not only provided us with an umbrella, he drove us to the location of the party.

When planning a visit to Ravello, I would strongly encourage you stay here.

Thanks again Pietro!

Room Tip: The Superior Room is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Connecticut
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

Our son recently got married in Ravello and we all stayed here. This was an excellent place to stay. So close to the Piazza; just a short walk up the stairs and then you're right in the middle of everything. Pietro is a terrific host. He is very helpful and made our stay here so enjoyable. We also traded e-mails with him and they were extremely helpful. The continental breakfast was so good. The breads and rolls were all fresh and he makes a great cappuccino! I would highly recommend Il Ducato di Ravello for the location, views, pricing and of course, Pietro.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed at Il Ducato di Ravello for 3 nights while on our honeymoon, and we loved it! Just being on the Amalfi Coast was the highlight of our trip, and the hotel was the cherry on the cake.

We corresponded with Pietro directly while planning our trip and he kindly offered to upgrade us to the superior room and also provided a free bottle of prosecco. We appreciated the gestures. Pietro even helped us to make reservations for two restaurants in Ravello, and his recommendation for Positano (Buca di Bacco) was spot on, we loved the seafood platter there.

Note that if you are carrying luggage, the hotel is down a flight of steps from the town square (Duomo), and next to what seems to be the car-park for tourists. We cannot say how noisy it is during the day as we were out after breakfast everyday and only came back at night. Speaking of breakfast, it was perfectly fine, we especially liked the refreshing fruit salad that was served.

The room itself is rather large, and the best part is that the aircon is very strong. We requested for extra pillows which was provided immediately and this helped us to get a good night's sleep.

All in all, I really loved our stay here and would highly recommend it to anyone touring the Amalfi Coast.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

We recently attended a wedding in Ravello and stayed at Il Ducato Di Ravello. This B&B was excellent and we would highly recommend it as a place to stay. It is near the main square of this beautiful little town and only a short walk to restaurants and bars. Our superior room was large, very clean, nicely furnished and had excellent airconditioning and very good fitted bathroom. Breakfast was very nice which we had in the garden. Owners were very helpful and polite. The rates are very reasonable, compared to the hotels in the area. Ravello should be on everyone's 'to visit list'.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Il Ducato Di Ravello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Il Ducato Di Ravello

Address: Piazza Duomo Rampe B. Gambardella, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rooms and apartments at the Ducato di Ravello are situated in the centre of Ravello and surrounded by nature. This beautiful accommodation offers a tradition of hospitality and allows guests to relax and enjoy the surrounding nature. All restoration has been performed with utmost respect for the environment optimising the use of energy . Cultural events in Ravello are unparalleled and accesible to our guests without than having to travel for. Inside the structure a room for the breakfast with cafeteria at exclusive service of our clients. Large green spaces surround the structure and are at disposition of the guests for outdoor activity and relax. The breakfast and later a "light lunch" are also served outside on the covered terrace. The public car park is close to the accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Il Ducato Di Ravello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Il Ducato Di Ravello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.