We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Casarella

La Casarella
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Ravello
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Casarella
Save Saved
You added La Casarella to your Saves list
Via dei Fusco, 13, 84010 Ravello, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Ravello B&B and Inns
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

Let me start by saying that you will rarely in your life stay somewhere with such stunning views. The town of Ravello hosts a music festival which peaks around July / august, and the music wafts across at night from the belvedere Rufello. It really adds to the whole experience.
The owners are really helpful, and couldn't do enough for us. We were relocated from our original apartment to a larger one, after they saw the size ( 6'4) of our son.
Yes the town is a bit pricey, but where isn't these days. The good thing about the place is that there are no 'chavs' and the like. If you want cheap, try Ibiza.
I would have absolutely no hesitation in going back.
Oh, by the way Dave B. Lots of steps cos it's a volcanic hillside resort . No cleaner? It's SELF CATERING. my advice to you sir, try Benidorm.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    11
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
14
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Yorkshire, England
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

Pros-
Stunning views
Rosa and Sarah are nice
Welcome pack includes wine and bread, tea coffee
4 gas rings and oven
Separate bedroom
Lots of hot water
Property accessed through two security gates

Cons
300 metre walk and 47 steps to accomodation from drop-off point, done in dark (Thomsons Holidays), no rep either until next day
Room is billed as 4 adults but two are two seater setees in lounge
Tiny shower with no shelf for soap/shampoo
The steps are very poorly lit, nearly fell down. Also tiny handrails cover only part
Unheated pool unusable due to cleaning robot on a hose in 24/7
Towels and linen changed once a week only if you put your old stuff out
No cleaner, you do it yourself, limited cleaning stuff provided
Shared balcony means your neighbour is only three metres away

Crazy taxi drivers from airport
Ravello closes at 2130hrs
You have to go down to Amalfi (5km, 300m drop) to get anywhere else, this becomes very boring
No supermarket, two tiny minimarkets, one bakery just opened last week
Prices steep, small portions in restaurants
Taxis very expensive, 35 euro to Amalfi
Bus timetable changed on 16 Sept, very limited service before 1130
Guided Coach trips visit Ravello every day, mainly elderly americans
Swimming in sea impossible due to shingle sucking you down, broke my sandal getting out
Italian car drivers mad taking huge risks to get ahead of the busses on the narrow windy roads

My advice, stay in Amalfi, lively, lots of eating places and busses/boats to Capri etc. Drinks cheaper but expect to pay 5 euro for 40cl beer or glass of wine

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have been visiting Ravello since 1995 and always stay at La Casarella apartments. Being both well run and conveniently located 5 minutes walk from the centre of this picturesque Amalfian village, these apartments do have a suitability that is biased towards romantic couples but can also be well suited for families with well behaved children. I read some of the reviews suggesting that children are unwelcome and positively discriminated against by the owners Rosa and Sara (daughter), but this does not well describe either the apartments or the owners that we know extremely well. For example during our holiday this year at the apartments we met a charming family from Scotland with two early teen age children. They were happy and playful children but with impeccable manners and a credit to their parents, who all wanted to have a fun time on holiday. They enjoyed the pool and surrounding areas and I know the whole family enjoyed their vacation. Rosa is a retired ex-music teacher and I don't recall an occasion when I have not seen her smiling or singing - usually both, around the apartments and if you can catch her not trying to make her guests' stay perfect, she is happy to have a chat in her less than perfect English, which helps with my far less than perfect Italian.

Room Tip: Book early!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Utterly superb. The view alone is worth it. Simple plain apartments which is all required when out and about. Owners extremely accomodating but not intrusive. Nice touch to have tea coffee bread etc waiting on arrival at no cost.Lovely walk to the apartments and then several steps to the rooms, not for the faint hearted but you need to be a good walker in this area anyway.If we had known before hand the accomodation we would have stayed for two weeks but alas only had one.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

There are two different levels of accommodation here let through two different agents. Thomson have 5 apartments that are absolutely next to each other and share a terrace that their doors open straight on to so you are very much at the mercy of your neighbours. There is a very superior apartment, by itself, with its own shady terrace which is let by Inntravel. We stayed in this one and while we didn't get a look into the others we would not have wanted to stay in them. You have all the same advantages: amazing view, pool, washing machine, groceries delivered but with more space and more privacy. Taxi to and from Naples included (in fact we had a transfer from Pompeii as we had stayed there for 3 great days first). Lots of first class, and reasonably priced restaurants, handy bus down to the coast to swim. But, as noted by others, you have a walk of about 5 minutes followed by about 30 steps to get there.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Arriving at La Casarella, you walk along a pretty private path with jaw-dropping views of the stunning Amalfi coast. Then you walk up a flight of steps to be greeted by gloriously colourful gardens and a small but inviting swimming pool, flanked by five simple but pretty apartments with a tennis court on top.

The apartments are decently equipped, perfect for couples and fine for our family of 3 with a six-year-old on the sofa bed, but probably cramped if you have more/bigger children.

The view from each apartment and from the pool area is breathtakingly spectacular, probably among the best in Ravello - and believe me, that's saying something! It was lovely to sit there at night with a glass of wine after visiting busier places like Amalfi or Capri during the day; La Casarella is scented and peaceful, although on music festival nights you can hear gorgeous music floating up from the outdoor theatre stage at Villa Rufolo (a bonus as far as we were concerned but maybe not if you're a light sleeper).

We found Rosa very nice and our little boy squealed in the pool to his heart's content, but children did sometimes get told off for making a noise, which was a shame. I'd also agree that the apartment was too hot at night. BUT we loved the place and I'd highly recommend it for the ravishingly beautiful location.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Ravello is a beautiful town. La Casarella is set in the most amazing location, up on the hill overlooking the bay and mountains. The gardens are very pretty and pool area/tennis courts etc have spectacular views. The apartments are basic but fine although really too small for 4 and especially insufficient storage for 4 people - we had to rearrange kitchen drawers and put clothes in there! It has no air conditioning so the room is very hot and hard to sleep sometimes. The owners, Rosa and Sara, are friendly and nice to adults BUT have very little tolerance of children making noise (and mine are genuinely pretty well behaved children). I am not talking a lot of noise, and not only during siesta. I am talking pretty much ANY noise. The Thomson reps told me they have repeatedly told the owners all summer that people are paying to be there and that they had to let kids do their thing, but it didn't stop Rosa from giving my kids and everyone else's rows for noise most days. As the owners and Rosa's Italian friends sunbathe at the pool most days with you there is really no let up from this, so we spent most of our pool part of our holiday trying to keep our children silent, as did everyone else with their kids. Given how much we had all paid to be there it would not have been unreasonable to allow them to laugh in the pool now and again - but apparently the pool is "for swimming, not playing in". In summary you can't beat the views and location but if you have kids I would give it a miss unless you have a brass neck and are prepared to ignore the "shushing" as it made for a pretty stressful time around the pool for all concerned. It got to the stage where my kids didn't want to go in the pool as they were embarrassed and upset at a stranger giving them a row when they hadn't done anything wrong, and sick of me nagging them to keep quiet because I was trying to avoid it.

Room Tip: room 5 on the end is bigger than the rest
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Casarella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Casarella

Address: Via dei Fusco, 13, 84010 Ravello, Italy
Location: Italy > Campania > Amalfi Coast > Ravello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Ravello
Also Known As:
La Casarella Hotel Ravello

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Casarella, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.