We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent and unusual” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Locanda Don Serafino

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Locanda Don Serafino to your Saves list
Locanda Don Serafino
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via XI Febbraio 15, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #34 of 39 Hotels in Ragusa
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Excellent and unusual”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2012

We stayed here for two nights. The hotel is small and is in very old converted stables. Standing inside, it is a little like being in a cave, but don't let that put you off. The rooms are beautifully presented, and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The hotel is very well placed. Parking can be an issue but isn't it always! Wifi was free, as it should be, and worked well in the lounge area. Tte stairwell can be a bit tricky, but we received all the help we needed with the luggage. One piece of advice is to make sure you book a room with a window.
Overall, I would go there again and recommend it highly.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a window in your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    26
    28
    20
    20
See reviews for
15
74
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Scarsdale, New York
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2012

This little place, while not perfect, conveys the perfect ambience for the stay in a Sicilian hill town. The hotel is seemingly built into the rocks--that is an illusion, probably, but you definitely feel like you are where you are--in a building which is probably hundreds of years old, on a narrow street in a small, charming Italian town. My room was cave-like--spacious without much light--but that is in keeping with the architecture of the town. The service was quite solicitous, and the mornings provided all of the wonders of a fantastic Sicilian breakfast--fresh ricotta, fresh home-made bread, and fresh orange juice. Internet service was definitely a little shaky. The restaurant affiliated with the hotel (but a ten minute walk away) was definitely a fun experience--expensive, but elegant, with the best dinner that we had in a week in Sicily. It was far better than our dinner the next night--at the Duomo--a two Michelin star place nearby--where the prices were twice as high.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2011

We just returned from a visit to Ragusa Ibla, and I'm very happy with our decision to stay at Locanda Don Serafino. Ragusa Ibla is a place to take long walks and explore little alleys and stairways and find beautiful views-- our hotel was perfectly situated, just a quick walk to the Duomo and the wonderful restaurants nearby.

The room was very comfortable with an excellent mattress and pillows. The bathroom was a little small but worked very well, with a good shower. Customer service was very good; the staff was helpful and kind. We enjoyed a delicious breakfast and appreciated the wonderful selection. I'm very glad we decided to visit Ragusa Ibla and I recommend this hotel.

The only precaution is if you have difficulty with steps you may need to think twice, as the steps inside the hotel are quite steep. They are in keeping with the lovely architecture and history of the building and are to be expected in this town of steps. I believe others have mentioned this in their reviews and I thought it good to underscore this aspect.

I should also add that Tony very kindly helps with baggage on the steps, and that is certainly appreciated. His level of customer service is very high and it was a pleasure to chat with him.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2011

My father-in-law was in critical care on November 23 and subsequently passed away on November 27th. We called and e-mailed the hotel on November 24 informing them that it is not possible for us to make our reservations on the 27th -30th. We e-mailed a copy of the death certificate as proof of our extenuating circumstance but the owner refused our cancellation request and charged our credit card. Obviously not a family man!!!

All other hotels in Sicily refunded our deposits. We plan to visit Ragusa next year but of course we would never stay at this property.

Room Tip: Stay at another hotel.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockport MA
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2011

Maybe we were lucky with the room, but room 1 was great and one of a handful with a balcony over the street. The town of course is stunning, and this hotel on a tiny street (most are) is a perfect fit. The front desk staff were charming and Tony the porter was very helpful. The affiliated restaurant is very good, though the staff there might be a little full of themselves...

Loved it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

Charm, Romance, Italy, RAGUSA!....that picture in your head of a medieval walled city on a hill really does exist, it's Ragusa. Small but perfectly furnished rooms, quiet, super breakfast, wonderful service and a super price. Ragusa is indeed unique and so is this hotel.

Room Tip: Walk around at dusk to dark.....beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Top Contributor
202 reviews 202 reviews
179 hotel reviews
Reviews in 177 cities Reviews in 177 cities
181 helpful votes 181 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

This is a small hotel which is a conversion of houses and rooms some of which are tucked under the arches supporting the houses above - so they feel like a cave. Ours was one such (actually a suite) with 2 rooms opening directly onto the street. There was some motorised traffic on the street but by the time sleep was called for it had pretty much stopped. Only about a 5 minute walk from the main square and the Duomo - remember these late-Baroque towns in South East Sicily are a UNESCO world heritage site, so you are staying in the site!
Everything in the rooms oozes quality.
The place is not easy to find and parking is tricky but there is an American-Italian gentleman working at the hotel for whom nothing is too much trouble - he will get your luggage, park your car, fetch your car when you need it. All the staff are pleasant and helpful. Breakfast is served in a little breakfast room/bar area.
The hotel has a restaurant - but in a different building nearby - it is a fine dining experience of high quality with a high price tag too match, if you can afford it, eat there. It is special. They also have a private beach with restaurant, showers, loungers, umbrellas and cabins at Marina di Ragusa about 30 minutes drive away. Lovely beach, nice restaurant. Parking near impossible in high season! But hotel residents get a discount.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Locanda Don Serafino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Don Serafino

Address: Via XI Febbraio 15, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Ragusa
#17 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Locanda Don Serafino 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Locanda Don Serafino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Don Serafino Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Locanda Don Serafino Hotel Ragusa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Locanda Don Serafino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.