We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central, Comfortable and Chilled” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Montreal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Giuseppe 14, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Ragusa
Saffron walden
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Central, Comfortable and Chilled”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

Helpful staff sorted out hotel garage parking for us and then pointed out local bars and restaurants within walking distance. The hotel is located between the old historic centre and the new town so a great location for exploring Ragusa.
Comfortable room with extra pillows and blankets - useful as it was chilly and wet during our two day stay in April. The shower head was large with a lovely whoosh; much appreciated. Our room looked over the side street and once the shutters were open, the room became light. Plenty of storage and a wide shelf to put our case on.
Breakfast was plentiful with croissants, cheese, ham, yoghurt, juice and lots of coffee.
This is a comfortable hotel, slightly old fashioned in feeling with good breakfasts.

Room Tip: Rooms near the lifts might be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    58
    19
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Giarratana, Italy
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

It's a little nice Hotel situated at the exact center of Ragusa, "Italy Avenue". Next to the Town-Hall, in front of the Post-Offices The Hotel is housed in a classic building, recently restored and plastered. All places of interest are accessible on foot from the Hotel, even the Hyblean Baroque Quarter (Unesco). The seaside zone is 23 Km distant and the airport 20 Km. The Hotel is served by the public service of transport; There's also a good parking.
Considering the favourable position, the prices are quite cheap.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We stayed 1 night in this hotel. It is very centrally located. Rooms are of a very good size . We didn t have to pay extra for our 4 year old girl and were still given extra bedding. Inside parking of the hotel is very comfortable as we left the car outside and they parked it for us. Breakfast was very good. The receptionists and the waitress serving breakfast were really nice. The only thing we didn t really like was the tocco restaurant situated in the hotel but maybe because it wasn t really our taste, but the bread and olive oil were delucious.

Stayed February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights from 19th January 2014. it is very centrally-located and well positioned for the walk to Ragusa Ibla. The rooms are spacey and well appointed. Breakfast is typical Italian and was very nice. Plenty to eat. The beds were firm, as we like them. We were pleased with the very reasonable bar prices, especially for Sicilian wine! We managed to get Room 101, which gives a very nice view of the square opposite and the windows kept out any traffic noise well. The weather got a little cold at night, but the heating in the room was excellent. Would definitely consider returning in the future.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

My friend and I stayed here for 3nights in Late November 2013. Having stayed 3nights in catania , then 4 nights in Syracuse, finally 3 nights in Ragusa Ibli.. We loved the place most of all.
The breakfast room is really nicely furnished and the mini seed croissants are the best ever !! As much as you want for breakfast. A great conveniant position, 1 minute from main square with smart cafe, wine bar and duomo. Amazing architecture..HAIRDRYER in bathroom is one of those awful nozzles like something from a vacuum cleaner. Really useless so take your own if its important to you..only criticism i could find.

Room Tip: I dont gave any guidlines for this as i only saw my own room . My advice would be , book it and on a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Top Contributor
215 reviews 215 reviews
90 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
175 helpful votes 175 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 via mobile

Although people say to stay in Ragusa Ibla, we found this hotel to be in the perfect location. It was easy walk down from here, and the walk back up was not too difficult. It was nice to be in the centre of town in the evening.
Although rated a 3 star hotel, it is like a 4 star. The room was well equipped and comfortable (except for hard pillows, typical of Italy), the staff very helpful and friendly, and the breakfast was very nice.
We were very pleased to be staying at this hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice place to stay, it was very busy with Italian groups on the Saturday night, but not noisy late. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. It's in a good central location between the main city and Ragusa Ibla. Comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via San Giuseppe 14, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montreal Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.