We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Montreal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Montreal to your Saves list
Hotel Montreal
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via San Giuseppe 14, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Ragusa
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Nice place to stay, it was very busy with Italian groups on the Saturday night, but not noisy late. The staff were friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good. It's in a good central location between the main city and Ragusa Ibla. Comfortable room.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    58
    19
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
40
1
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Hotel is great. Rooms are nice size, have fridge, and beds very comfortable. Bathrooms fine, but shower a bit small. (Only 1 at a time!) Shutters mean you have total darkness and can sleep in.
Staff were so friendly and helpful. Really made our stay special.
Breakfast is fantastic. Best continental I have experienced. Pastries are fresh and delicious. Also, none of that old filter coffee... Had freshly made espressos and cuppucino. Brillaint!

Spent lots of time at Marina di Ragusa! Beach was excellent. Also take a trip into Ibla. Quite an experience. Overall, excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2013

It is a good starting point for visiting Ragusa, being on the border between the new and the old town.
The room we got was big but a bit worn out, the bathroom the same. You can have a lovely view (the rooms on the the corner are facing the gorgeous post office building.)
Good breakfast, a variety of fresh pastry products, various yogurts, cheese, ham, fruits.
A few things to be improved:
The payed parking: 10 euro/day and you need to leave the car keys at the reception.
A good renovation will do, not very impressed about how clean the hotel was.

Room Tip: Rooms on the corner- lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

On our recent holiday in Sicily, we stayed 2 nights in Ragusa at Hotel Montreal, a very nice 3-star hotel, conveniently located in the historic centre. Ragusa sits high above Ragusa Ibla, the even more historic area that is reached by a series of staircases that descend into this very lovely, interesting part of the city. While the walk down to Ragusa Ibla is quite an easy one, the climb back up is very steep. If such a climb is not for you, there is an inexpensive local bus (I believe #11) that connects the two areas and has a stop very near Hotel Montreal. We caught it in front of the gardens in Ragusa Ibla and were back to the hotel in ten minutes!

We were very satisfied with Hotel Montreal. Our room, which had a little balcony, was comfortable, modern and tastefully decorated. Breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and more than helpful – even advising us where there was free street parking. (Hotel Montreal has indoor garage parking so that we did not have to worry about our car in any case!) If you are going to Ragusa, we recommend the Hotel Montreal.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

From the moment we arrived we had first class treatment from all the staff the room was large and very comfortable, and kept spotless we were unable to fault this hotel in any way. We arrived early but it was not a problem,our car was valet parked for us and our luggage taken to our room, admittedly we booked this through holiday bookings and had a good deal, but our treatment was exceptional, and we would recommend this hotel to youall

,,
The hotel restaurant "Tocca" was fabulous

Room Tip: Any room on the entrance side would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Hotel Montreal is a nice 3 star pkace,clean with nice rooms,a good breakfast and very nice staff. We stayed there because of a problem with our original booking in Ragusa and were very glad we did. Not too pricey and psrking available,too..

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asserbo
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We staying 3 nights instead og 1 night as original planned.

The reason being that the service was second-to-none so was the kitchen.

The situation is perfect for any sightseeing in the city.

Finally the pricelevel is extremely "fair".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Montreal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montreal

Address: Via San Giuseppe 14, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 42 Hotels in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Montreal 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, HostelBookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Montreal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montreal Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Montreal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.