We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely Baroque town to explore” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ragusa Ibla

Ragusa Ibla
Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 25 Attractions in Ragusa
Type: Civic Centers
Attraction Details
Wollaston, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A lovely Baroque town to explore”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

Wonder around the streets, past the Duomo and down to the Giardino Iblea for agreat view accross the local area.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    155
    13
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A small, beautiful town”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Ragusa Ibla is nice, though it's very small. Our favorite part was the giardino (the big park). It's gorgeous during the daytime and enchanting at night, and clearly a key place to hang out among the locals. On a Wednesday afternoon, schoolchildren were doing sprinting trials with their PE teacher down the main thoroughfare. Still, the main duomo was open at odd hours (even for Sicily) and had this horrific screeching sound that we were told is emitted from roof to deter pigeons. (I don't think the Ragusans dig it either.) Also, the town is just really small. We visited Noto, Modica, and Ragusa Ibla, and by far our favorite was Modica. Especailly in the off-season, Modica is your best bet.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The best undiscovered Sicily”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Ibla in general is the most enchanting village in Sicily. Especially at night, taking a walk through the streets and looking at all the Baroque archetectutre is such a delight. The people are marvelous and the food is outstanding!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern California
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely little town”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We were there on a Sunday and it pretty quiet but loved the churches and cobble streets. We came back on Tuesday and shopped a little and then dined at Duomo Resturant. What a wonderful experience all around.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen
Top Contributor
201 reviews 201 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
“Stay here when in Ragusa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed in a B&B (Giardino di Pietra) in Ragusa Ibla and walked a lot of step and tiny streets where we found restaurants, bars and a lovely atmosphere. If you are going to visit Ragusa, stay here and have a walk to Ragusa superiore. When you are climbing the steps to reach Ragusa superiore, you will get a fabulous view of Ragusa Ibla.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ragusa Ibla also viewed

Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
Syracuse, Province of Syracuse
 
Modica, Province of Ragusa
Noto, Province of Syracuse
 

Been to Ragusa Ibla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ragusa Ibla, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.