We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place and good food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Locandina

La Locandina
Via Orfanotrofio 39, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
+39 (0)932 220231‎
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #107 of 253 Restaurants in Ragusa
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
1 review
“Amazing place and good food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

On a very busy night in Italy (ferragosto festivity) we ended up there. We waited about 30 min for a table and in the meanwhile were taken for a tour inside the place. It's a real pearl a building from the 18th century restaured and With a very nice cantina. When we finally got the table ordered a Tortino Di ricotta and shrimp tatare which were excellent and fresh. The service is very slow though. Our second dish: The tuna fish was too cooked but the other dishes were very good.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    55
    29
    18
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a barocco atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

The food was tasteful even the most simple one like 'orecchiette al pomodoro". Combination of different tastes well balanced. Fresh ingredients from the territory. Good value for money. Third year I come to Ragusa Ibla and have a dinner in this restaurant. Never deceived and this time was even better.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good food but awful organisation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

My wife and I went to the Locandina one evening for a meal after a longish day sightseeing. We were led through to the rear of the premises, through various dining areas to a very nice room with two other couples dining. We ordered pizzas and a glass of red wine each.

The pizzas were nice enough and the wine very good. Service was slowish but very pleasant and helpful - my wife fancied a pizza that wasn't on the menu and they happily constructed it for her. We finished off with coffee and waited for an opportunity to ask for the bill. One of the other couples had left by now and the other had been given their bill. We waited, and waited and waited. Eventually a waiter came by and I asked for the bill. Then we waited. The other couple had paid now and they left. We waited for our bill to come. Eventually the waiter reappeared but he was just collecting glasses. As twenty minutes had now elapsed, I asked him if our bill was on its way; he said it was. So we waited. To avoid blood clots we got up and wandered around, even having a look into cellar area at the end of the room. It was very nice.

Then we continued to wait, another five minutes or so, I think. Eventually we got fed up, walked to the cash desk and asked for the bill. A flustered looking chap then started shuffling bits of paper around and gave us the bill. I scrutinised it carefully as one of the other couples had been overcharged for drinks, however, ours was fine and I gave a fifty euro note (the bill was 40 something). This seemed to send them into a minor panic and the man who seemed to be in charge of bills rummaged around in his pockets for change.

It's a shame that our memory of this place will be of the trauma we had just trying to pay and leave - it's not like they were busy, by the time we were ready to leave it was quite late and the restaurant was emptying fast, by the time we left it was very late.

Overall then, a very nice restaurant with a lovely atmosphere, good quality food and drink and, for the most part, good service. Just let down badly by the experience of the final half hour after we were ready to leave.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chardon, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We arrived late for lunch on a lazy January Sunday afternoon. The only people in the place at the time, my wife and I were treated like royalty. The food was local styles with some delightful new dishes we had never before experienced. Delicious. And the atmosphere in the old vault - our waitress told us it was originally a stable! - was very romantic. After lunch, my wife asked if they could call a taxi for us but the waitress offered to give us a ride back to our apartment. She, and the others, were all most gracious. Highly recommended - and we plan to go back before we leave Ragusa.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dingli, Malta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic! Recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Everything is just perfect. The food, the service and the beautiful place! Strongly recommended. And the fact that it is in ragusa ibla just adds to the magic.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Locandina also viewed

Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
 
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
Ragusa, Province of Ragusa
 

Been to La Locandina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Locandina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.