We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT for a honeymoon!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Antica Badia Relais Hotel

Save Saved
You added Antica Badia Relais Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Antica Badia Relais Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Corso Italia 115, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
€129 (EUR)
Ranked #5 of 42 Hotels in Ragusa
Rogers, AR
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“PERFECT for a honeymoon!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We arrived 3 days before our wedding at Castle Donnafugata. We had a wedding planner handle everything for our wedding, but we chose our hotel. When we arrived, they asked us if we wanted to valet the car while we were there and we said yes (I HIGHLY recommend this service). They told us they would deliver our baggage to the room, and it was there within 10 min, all 6 bags.

EVERY request we had was met promptly and accurately. They took our wedding clothes to be steamed and delivered them on-time. The day of our wedding, I had called and RSVP dinner reservations with the hotel restaurant for 7:30. When we arrived, they had us in a separate room lit with candles and rose petals on the table with a view of the cathedral out the window. The meal was perfect. When we returned to our room, we found candles, a bottle of wine and a heart shape on the bed with rose petals and a tub full of water...and we did not request any of this. The staff went WAY above and beyond for our perfect night. And it was PERFECT!!!

During several of our evening excursions, we returned to the hotel front door, greeted with an umbrella during the evening rains...it was nice having the car valeted and not getting wet all of the time. When we had a question about locations, shops or restaurants we were always happy with the results.

Alexandria and Manuel(?) where always very pleasant and both spoke enough English that communication was rarely a problem. My new wife and I hope we can return in a few years (and to Antica Badia) for another enjoyable trip. We stayed in the room called "Geranio", it's the main pic you see on this page with the blue curtains and tall headboard over the bed with a crown. This room is fit for a king. The view from this room is not favorable, but who wants to go on a balcony anyways?

The furnishings of the room were beautiful, luxurious and relaxing. The room has 2 fold away twin beds, a buffet with storage underneath, a wardrobe, 2 table stands with lamps a table and a small table with an espresso machine and minibar underneath. The wardrobe had a small safe, 2 robes, 2 slippers and enough space for our clothes. The bathroom has a single vessel style sink, toilet, bidet, wall mounted towel warmer, TV over the tub and a tub for 2. There is a hand held shower wand in the tub, but no shower...this is a bit disappointing, but for a young newly married couple, we kind of enjoyed the challenge.

The Restaurant and room service were amazing!

We only have 2 complaints about our stay.
1. Wireless internet was only available in the lobby, however the rooms do have wired internet, this left us tethered to a laptop by the desk rather than relaxing with our smartphones/tablets. A wireless router in a few of the rooms connected to the outlets would easily fix this problem.
2. The water pressure seemed to mysteriously drop and then go back up for no reason. We never lost hot water, just pressure. Took a bit long to fill the tub up.

Those 2 things aside, this hotel & room are amazing and worth every penny and deserving of 5 stars. This hotel is actually an old palace, so every room open to the public is exquisite in detail and finish...you will truly feel as if you are in a palace.

Room Tip: The Geranio suite is absolutely worth every penny.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

292 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    221
    49
    18
    3
    1
See reviews for
39
182
6
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

An amazing hotel, that lives up to it's name of a PALACE!
If you want to treat your lady like a Princess and let her spend the night in a real palace this is the place.
Outstanding service, rooms and furniture to die for.
The roof terrace restaurant and taster menu just superb.
We had the room with the Chroma-therapy bath.
What a lovely way to relax.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Let's be clear - The hotel is beautiful. The interior is classically styled and gives you the real wow factor when you walk to your room. The common areas are stunning - luxurious doesn't come close. The junior suite we booked felt small, but well appointed with quality furnishings.

The bathroom was a little frustrating as it has a bath that takes quite some time to fill (20+ mins), but no shower - so if you want to get up and out it might take a while! The air con didn't work on the 1st night and despite some of the listings on booking sites, the junior suites do not have coffee machines, only the full suites.

My poor experience with the hotel came with my car. I had driven down from London in a sports car and I specifically chose this hotel has it has its own parking in the courtyard right outside. Having left the key with the hotel I was surprised when I heard the car returning one evening, driven by hotel staff. The hotel claimed they had to move it to manoeuvre a French car in the car park, however the car had been taken all the way out of the hotel (entirely unnecessary) and clearly driven for some time as it was red hot when it they returned in it.

This soured the whole experience for me - Trust is crucial for any hotel that you stay in and I felt this was lost.

Room Tip: Check the room has a shower if you're not a bath person
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minardiale, Direttore at Antica Badia Relais Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Guest,
I don’t use to answer to the guest feedback because of I appreciate any opinion from our clients in order to improve every day our service, but in this case there was a “big” misunderstanding., so that I’d like to clarify the situation.

When you have seen our Staff to drive your car from outside to the hotel, you thought he led the car for a while “just to take a ride”. As I tried to explain you at the check out, your car was too big to reverse it inside our little parking space, so that our Staff, in order to reduce the risk of damage, he have to drive the car outside, he have to go around the block (in the rush time it takes more than 5 minutes) and he came back to the hotel some minutes later.

As you know, we offer a car park service, that means to take care of the client’s car and to let the car always available in front of the reception when the guest need it. So, we use to drive the car of guests inside and outside the hotel to do that.

When you left the hotel we have already talked about that, I have tried to explain you what it’s really happened and I gave you a “check out courtesy treatment” because we like that our guests live the hotel smiling.

Evidently it was not enough, so I’m very sorry if I was not able to persuade you before and I hope I was clearer now.


In honesty
Andrea Galli
Manager Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, Connecticut
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We stayed for 2 nights at antica badia in Oct. and it was a great hotel with terrific service. Very welcoming and helpful staff . Rooms are large, eclectic and lovely and you'll feel like royals in the gorgeous breakfast rooms.Would def. go back to antica badia and beautiful ragusa. Thanks Maria and staff for a wonderful stay .

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I loved this place, Hotels like this are why we travel. Living in So. Cal. we don't have this old beauty and elegance. We found the staff, especially Maria, to be so warm and helpful. Our room was the Bougainvillea Room and I like that they are all different. Our room was nice, large and airy, we had a nice balcony that looked down into the courtyard.

We found the breakfast to be very nice, even though we didn't eat much, they had a large selection.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, OH
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is an unusual property. It sort of has a B&B feel. Each room is different. We had the Lavender Room. Probably not my husband's first choice, but it was comfortable for what we needed -- a place to sleep overnight in Ragusa after a long day of sightseeing. My parents had a separate room and initially were not too excited about it, but the place grew on them.

The best aspects of the hotel are the staff and the breakfast. Everyone that we interacted with was incredibly helpful. (We generally found that attitude throughout Sicily, but at this hotel, it was even more so.)

The shower was not so good. It is very modern...has water jets coming from all over the place...but it does not work very well with respect to water pressure. Several times during our showers, the water just went away. Of course, you have to remember you are in a very old property that has been renovated, so patience is the best advice, I believe.

The location of this hotel was fine for my husband and me, but it might not be good for everyone. It is not located in the historic part of Ragusa, but it is within walking distance...as long as you do not mind the MANY stairs required to access the historic town. It was an energetic hike for my husband and me, but we enjoy walking long distances. There was no way that my parents would have been able to walk to the historic town center (which is definitely worth a visit). So keep this in mind if mobility is an issue.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We stayed for one night at the Antica Badia Relais Hotel.
The staff is very nice and make you feel welcome straight away. The hotel is very convenient located, close to Ragusa Ibla. We parked our car in the rear of the hotel for 10 euro per night.
We stayed at the Lavender room. Lovely with high ceiling. Such a shame that the beds are too hard/firm. The shower needs a manual, because it has so many options. Sometimes there was hardly any water pressure.
Breakfast was good, if you like lots of sweet pies, but there was also some brown bread (which is hard to find in Sicily).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antica Badia Relais Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antica Badia Relais Hotel

Address: Corso Italia 115, 97100 Ragusa, Sicily, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Sicily > Province of Ragusa > Ragusa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Ragusa
#1 Family Hotel in Ragusa
#3 Luxury Hotel in Ragusa
#4 Business Hotel in Ragusa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Antica Badia Relais Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Antica Badia Relais Hotel is set in a grand 18th-century villa in the centre of Ragusa, a 5-minute walk from the Ibleo Archaeological Museum. It features a luxury spa with sauna, Turkish bath and massage service. Its large halls have Baroque-style frescoes.The hotel has comfortable guest rooms, elegantly decorated with luxury fabrics and antique furniture from Sicily and all of Europe.The heritage of the Antica Badia Relais has been beautifully preserved during its renovation. It is complimented by a range of modern technologies including conference facilities and free Internet connection.Sample some delicious Sicilian dishes at the hotel’s restaurant, all prepared using only the finest and freshest ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Antica Badia Relais Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antica Badia Relais Hotel Ragusa, Sicily, Italy

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antica Badia Relais Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.