We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DISASTER!SCAM” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto

Save Saved
You added Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Del Pozzo, 58043 Punta Ala, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Punta Ala
Prague, Czech Republic
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“DISASTER!SCAM”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

this is one of the biggest scams you can come across,
after our stay in the chianti region, we wanted to take the kids for a beach experience.
we never visited punta ala before, so didn't know what to expect, but felt secure that this hotel being part of the Relais and chateaux network will secure a minimum quality.
IT DOESNT.
the staff are friendly and they try, but they can only do so much.
the beach is 2km away, (something you would need to dig in their website)
and you have to pay 80 euros per family over the 750euro you pay for a wanna be classy room.
the breakfast is silly and you could do better in a 3 star hotel....
this could go on for pages...
it was better for us to leave a prepaid 4 night vacation than to spend one more night in this silly pretentious place...
what a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalaPuntaAla, Direttore at Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Google Translation
Gentile cliente
Siamo spiacenti di non essere riusciti a soddisfarla durante il suo soggiorno, ma vorremmo precisare un paio di punti.
Effettivamente essendo l'albergo a picco sul mare (la vista più bella di punta ala), non abbiamo la spiaggia direttamente collegata all'hotel come si evince anche dal nostro sito web, ma offriamo comunque un servizio di shuttle per i nostri ospiti.
Sono spiacente che non abbia apprezzato la nostra colazione in quanto punto di forza dell'albergo perche' oltre al buffet offriamo gratuitamente piatti a la carte, servizio molto gradito dai nostri ospiti.
Spero voglia darci un'altra opportunita' in futuro per farla ricredere sul nostro servizio.
Distinti saluti
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    10
    10
    1
    2
See reviews for
11
33
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Cala del Porto by Baglioni hotels for a weekend and it was a wonderful experience. We were fortunate with exteemely hot weather so we could lie at the private beach that is connected to the hotel all day. In the afternoon we rested at the pool and enjoyed the marvelous view of Punta Ala marina and the Island of Elba further out in the sea.
The room was perfectly clean, nice decor and furnitures that gave an impression of a beach side hotel. A good size furnitured balcony had a view over the hotel pool and marina.
The staff was smiling and welcoming and the service was top tuned. Everything was so peaceful and tranquil that it immediately took any stress away. Soo nice!
We had dinner on the balcony one night - an extravaganza of seafood:)
The perfect place for a romantic get away and to relief yourself of any stress. And its only a 2,5 hours drive from Rome Airport.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CalaPuntaAla, Direttore at Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto, responded to this review, August 4, 2012
Dear Client,
I am very grateful for his beautiful words.
For us it is very easy to work in a place where nature is luxuriant and amazing, but thank you for sharing with us his good feelings.
We all thank you very much.
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

We spent 4 nights here at the beginning of our holiday in Tuscany. We had a lovely room with a balcony and a view over the marina towards Elba, and had the benefit of some glorious sunsets. The welcome was both warm and efficient, and the staff were most helpful. We only went on one trip outside Punta Ala during the three days we were there because we were just wanting a rest before setting out on the main part of our holiday in Tuscany! We thoroughly enjoyed the pool area and the views from there. We did not take the free shuttle to the hotel's beach, so are unable to comment on that, but Italian beaches do come with very expensive sunshades and loungers. Wifi was not free at the hotel although there was a computer available in the lounge area for basic searches and information. We had two enjoyable meals in the hotel restaurant and ate at restaurants down in the marina area (only a few minutes walk down the road) for the other two nights. One of the marina restaurants, Deep, made free wifi available to its customers, which proved very useful to this email addict. As has been mentioned by a previous guest, there is not much to do in Punta Ala but to watch the boats and relax - which suited us down to the ground. On our last evening at the Cala del Porto (a Friday) the hotel guests were invited to a drinks reception (on the house) which consisted of Bellinis and canapés - a very pleasant way in which to finish our stay at this excellent hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teramo, Italy
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We stayed for one week and enjoyed our time thoroughly. The complimentary upgrade was amazing...( Thank you very much Pia!)
This is a small high class hotel, situated at the end of the Punta Ala peninsula, overlooking the marina. As such, it is quite peaceful and quiet. Not much to do in the immediate vicinity, unless you like frying on the beach, Italian style. However, there are many interesting places to visit by car...from Etruscan ruins to hilltop towns and warm sulphur springs.
The hotel restaurant is nicely situated...we ate outside on one of the two terraces each time. Service was always excellent and friendly...menu was varied and interesting, however a little bit too Nouvelle Cuisine for us. The breakfast buffet was good but should be overseen and replenished more often.
We took afternoon tea several times, the petit fours which came for free were a nice touch.
Chambermaid service was excellent and unobtrusive, cleanliness in the entire hotel was perfect, as it should be in a 5 star hotel but not always is! Well done management.
We were sorry to leave...being pampered for a week was so good!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2011

We stayed at Cala Del Porto for two nights to break up our driving from Rome to Siena. Arriving late in the day after 16 hours of travel CDP was a nice break. Unfortunately the weather was not great, which in a small resort like this leaves little to do. The area is very small with a few restaurants, and just a few shops. The grounds are well maintained as is the pool area and dinning. The staff are very accommodating and willing to please all guests. Housekeeping was excellent as our room was prepared each day, and fresh towels at night. For our purposes CDP provided us a chance to adjust to the time difference and get our legs underneath us for the busy two weeks we had planned.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2010

Cala del Porto is beautifully located, at least from a view point of view... they just never tell you (website) that the beach is 3km away... but that's OK, I can live with taking a shuttle. I just don't if I can live with a staff that never answers your questions, with a restaurant that by definition gives 2 ladies travelling, menus without prices (24€ for 4 raviolis... I'm not even kidding) and that first gave us a "standard" room that was overlooking a wall and clearly needed refurbishing. I am grateful we were upgraded. For that, thank you.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2009

We have stayed several times at this hotel as we love its out of the way location, views and proximity to the beach. The Hotel is however showing signs of age and the standard rooms are only just adequate. I understand they are embarking on a major refurbishment programme which will extend ifrom the end of the 2009 season into next year but expect the prices to rise accordingly and even now the better rooms are very expensive. As the room we had booked had stains on the carpet and was looking very tired we upgraded, at an extra charge, to a suite (2 standard rooms knocked together) with excellent facilities including 2 bathrooms and a marvellous view across the Marina to the Mediterranean Sea from the 2 balconies. Breakfast (a cold buffet) was included in the price (otherwise 30 Euros per person) but this was always somewhat disappointing as there was little choice and everything was the same each day of our 5 night stay. In particular they seem to have a problem with the bread which was pre-sliced and unappetisingly laid out on a large plate! At night the terrace is used for dinner (we ate here once) which again was quite expensive,especially the wine list which was vastly overpriced even for local wines. The food was very much of the nouvelle cuisine variety with small servings on large plates and quite a lot of fussing around. However service was on the whole good and most of the staff very friendly and professional. Whilst it has a nice pool there were a lot of bugs around as it is surrounded by beautiful flowers and vegetation and we did get quite badly bitten. Also although the Hotel advertises itself as being close to the Beach this is a 10 minute car (or free shuttle) ride away and they charge a hefty 40 Euros a day for an umbrella, a couple of chairs and loungers. There is also a good beach restaurant managed by the hotel but this is also not cheap if you eat there everyday as we did. The beach itself is excellent especially if you like to take long walks as it goes on for miles and the sea itself is quite calm and warm. The hotel overlooks the marina of Punta Ala but this is very quiet even at night and is certainly not a place for party goers although there are a couple of bars and restaurants which are very average. There are also some very expensive shops but little worth buying. If you want some life you need to visit nearby Castiglione della Pescaia which is a small but bustling fishing village about 30 minutes away. For this you must have a car and parking is a bit of a problem as they charge all night. The main centre comrises a charming street with plentiful bars and restaurants as well as shops. We ate outside every night and the food and wine was good with prices overall about the same as in the UK. The only other problem in this area is that few locals (especially waiters) speak English as there are relatively few UK or US visitors and mostly Italians which can make it difficult at time although the Hotel staff are very good at making reservations and advising you where to go.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto

Address: Via Del Pozzo, 58043 Punta Ala, Castiglione Della Pescaia, Italy
Phone Number:
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Grosseto > Castiglione Della Pescaia > Punta Ala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Punta Ala
#1 Romantic Hotel in Punta Ala
#1 Luxury Hotel in Punta Ala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel stands amidst the picturesque Maremma pine forests on a slope leading down to the sea. From the pool terrace, guests can admire the deep blue of the Tyrrhenian Sea while enjoying a magnificent view of the entire archipelago: Elba, Montecristo and Cerboli islands. Terracotta floors and modern furnishings provide a cool, chic atmosphere, enhanced by prompt, impeccable service. Guests can enjoy beauty pampering and culinary delights, DE-stess in the exclusive Golf Club nearby, relax alongside the pool or on the private sandy beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Tingo, Priceline, Expedia, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais & Chateaux Cala Del Porto Hotel Punta Ala
Relais And Chateaux Cala Del Porto

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Relais & Chateaux Cala del Porto, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.