We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best in town.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Su Furriadroxu

Su Furriadroxu
Via XXIV Maggio | S'arruga de su Soddu, 11, 09010 Pula, Sardinia, Italy
070 924 6148
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 61 Restaurants in Pula
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
mezzegra
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“the best in town.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

The food was really good, the service was good, no complaints about this place. Looking forward to a return visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    248
    162
    55
    14
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“hidden treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

What a find, if you are a meat lover this is the place for you. We ate here four nights of the holiday as the menu was varied and exciting. The suckling pig was delicious as was the boar ragu and the goat pasta dish(cant remember the correct name). There were no pizzas or fish on the menu so it was a refreshing change.
As a party of two adults and two kids we found the value amazing and enjoyed the sharing platters to start, a great way to get the kids to try new tastes.

Reservation is essential as every single night people were being turned away.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

We ate there for 3 nights of our 4 day mini break. There wasn't a huge choice in Pula but this place fulfilled all that we were looking for and more.
The major positives for me...
Suckling pig, me or my wife had it every night.
The homemade Sardinian pie (we bought 2 extra and brought them home with us)
The fantastic red wine, 6€ for one litre carafe (or 4€ for half litre) - if you drink red wine, order one as soon as you are shown to your table! (*There is a reason for this, see below)

The minor negatives...
You must book, unless you don't mind eating at 9.30 when tables become free again.
Service can be erratic, the staff are very polite and work non-stop, but I don't think they have a system when it gets busy. We waited 20 mins just to have our order taken after being seated on our 2nd night and found it difficult to get anyone's attention just to get a drink (* this is the reason!)
We got a few mosquito bites only on one night, there are citronella candles dotted around, but if you have repellent suggest using it.

Overall though this is an excellent experience, one which I really hope to try again one day.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Superb suckling pig”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Easy to find, just off the main piazza. The tables are outside in a picturesque courtyard. The menu is all about Terra and no Mare so you need to be a meat lover.

This was on my "must visit" restaurant list for our visit to Pula and it did not disappoint. Initially turned up on Sunday evening but no tables available until about 10pm so booked for 8pm on the Monday. So tip number one is book in advance unless you want to eat very late. We saw several people turned away on the Monday too.

We had a House platter of antipasti and it was a wonderful variety of homemade style cuts of meat, cheese, savoury pastries, liver, olives, etc.

For main course I just had to have the suckling pig and it was wonderful. Super thin crispy skin and the most tender, melt in the mouth meat possible. Roast potatoes and grilled peppers and aubergine on the side.

My wife had ravioli with mint and basil with tomato sauce. That too was very good.

All washed down with an amazing house red at 6 euros a litre. Just like a proper homemade Italian wine, fruity, easy drinking and no hangover!

Total bill including a Mirto liqueur for me was only 47 euros.

Compared to the other two restaurants we visited in Pula, Su Furriadroxu has great quality and fantastic value for money.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“sardinian pork”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

Delicious Sardinian food and wine in a charming setting. Highly recommended if you're in southern Sardinia and a must if you're staying near Pula. The suckling pig was fabulous with thin cracking line creme caramel. Attentive and knowledgeable service.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Su Furriadroxu also viewed

Pula, Province of Cagliari
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 
Pula, Province of Cagliari
Pula, Province of Cagliari
 

Been to Su Furriadroxu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Su Furriadroxu, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.