We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“consigliato” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Desiree

Save Saved
You added Hotel Desiree to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotel Desiree
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Spartaia, 57030 Procchio, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Procchio
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“consigliato”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

Elegant and relaxing holidays in a beautiful location in Elba. Everything here seams to be created to release all the stress accumulated after one year of hard work. The personal is highly professional, the beach ia one of the most beautiful in the island, the pool is an oasis to relax, the restaurant serves very good italian cousine. Not to miss is the gala dinner! The room at the Walewska are very comfortable for a family.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTLDesiree, Direttore generale at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
On behalf of everyone here at the Dèsirée, I wish to thank you for the kind review and look forward to welcoming you back next year.
Best regards,
Daniel Terranova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    54
    34
    17
    11
    4
See reviews for
41
35
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We were very impressed with everything about the hotel except, as pointed out above, the menus. All the staff were extremely efficient, helpful and kind. We should love to stay at the hotel in June 2014

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dendermonde, Belgium
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Fantastic setting on a private beach which is kept very clean on a daily base.
The very extended Breakfast is served on a terrace overlooking the sea, this gives you a real holiday mood from the start. The swimming pool -although salted water- is very large and ideal to make an exercice.A great thanks goes out to the director, Mr.Terranova, who seems to be present all the time :-) and the great staff that is professional & friendly.
We will definately return to this hotel !
For the dutch speaking guests: there is BVN so you don't have to miss the daily news on NOS or Eén.

Room Tip: Book a junior suite: it is really worth it! These rooms are large & designed with high quality f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTLDesiree, Direttore generale at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
On behalf of all our staff, I'm very happy to hear you've enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon and we'll have a drink on the terrace admiring the sunset on our beautiful terrace.
Arrivederci!!!
Daniel Terranova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

The desirèe hotel is set in a nice, small bay and has a very nice private beach. You can have breakfast on a terrace right above the beach, and dinner with a view. Rooms are easy and tidy, nothing less than you would expect from a 4 star hotel. But the location, the facilities and the friendliness of the staff are well above expectations. A very good choice for a quite stay

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HTLDesiree, Direttore generale at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind comments and on behalf of all our staff, we look forward to welcoming you back at the Désirée.
Daniel Terranova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Beautiful hotel set in a 'picture post-card' bay. we have enjoyed our stay very much and would more than likely consider a return visit, probably with friends.We thank the Manager, Mr.Terranova and his very capable and courteous staff; Mrs. M.Mazzei, reception, the Maitre d'Hotel ,the waiters, the bagnini, the waitress at the beach restaurant and the room-maids for doing an excellent job and keeping a smiling face even when stressed by the daily rush.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2012

We had some friends that had stayed at the Hotel Desiree in 2007 and recommended the hotel. After reading some of the reviews on here on tripadvisor.com we were a little worried.

Wow... we had absolutely no reason for concern. Daniel Terranova and his staff were great! I asked him today how long he had been at the hotel and the answer was four years and that much of the staff had been switched out since his arrival. We weren't here in 2007, but our friend that were said it was a different hotel and staff by comparison.

Our room was terrific, exactly as billed. The rooms at the end of the building have a view from the bathroom as well as the bedroom, a great surprise. The rooms were well appointed and had awesome views!

The beach was great, but as noted by others, make sure that your reservation includes the beach access. If you buy the discounted cheap room you may not get the reserved beach, so be sure at the time of your reservation.

The tennis court and pool as well as the kids play area looked awesome. The workout area is a small covered, but open building looking at the pool with a few machines...

The internet still has the odd 90 minute coupons. But the staff provided as many as I asked for. In fact we had a little problem with the login and when I went to the front desk I was greeted by the GM. Unlike other situations where I have pointed out a problem and was told it must be me or my computer, they looked at the problem and took action to correct it - and I can write the review.

We would come back. It was a great experience.

Room Tip: Get the breakfast included. There are a number of restaurants in the nearby city, but you'll nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Procchio, Direttore at Hotel Desiree, responded to this review, June 6, 2012
Dear Dave, thank you for your kind words and just wish to clarify two things:
- the use of our private beach is always included in our room rates no matter what room category or rate plan you wish to enjoy;
- the internet 90 minute coupon limit is due to the fact that unfortunately on the island the max line we have is a 7MB which has to be shared among an average of 20/30 users at the time, but am sure you appreciate the fact that the WI-Fi is available everywhere around the property and rooms and most of all is complimentary.
Thank you again for being with us and please give my regards to your spuse and friends with the hope to welcoming you back in the nearest future.
Daniel Terranova
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011 via mobile

We book via internet a deluxe room, the pictures and reviews were fine. At the end, we must say that it was one of the worst hotel stays ever. I am a frequent traveller, for business as well as leisure and use to stay in 4 and 5stars hotels. The room was nothing like in the pictures, very old furniture, badly decorated, small, but with a nice view. The evening food was terrible as it was on the mandatory half-board, so did eat once. The maid forgot the room unlocked, the reception staff made me pay for the morning newspaper as if the 450 eur per night for not sufficient - just lack of respect in my opinion. A 4star hotel, a maldives 5 star price and a good 2+ stars really. Be aware.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Desiree? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Desiree

Also Known As:
Desiree Hotel Marciana
Hotel Desiree Elba Island/Procchio, Italy
Address: Localita Spartaia, 57030 Procchio, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana > Procchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Procchio
#3 Family Hotel in Procchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Desiree 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Désirée was established in 1957 and recently refurbished, is a four star property , placed in the charming and intimate bay of Spartaia with a direct access to the private sandy beach and surrounded by a beautiful Mediterranean vegetation .The Hotel Désiree is 15 minutes away, by car, from the main harbour of Portoferraio, the capital of Elba Island and 5 minutes away from Marciana Marina. Procchio, the nearest urban centre is walking distance at approx 800 meters and a courtesy shuttle service is provided.Classic rooms enjoy either garden or mountain view while all other rooms (Superior, deluxe, Junior Suites and Family Apartments) enjoy a magnificent sea view. All rooms are mediterranean/colonial style with private bathroom facilities and shower box, Most of rooms have a balcony.All our new Suites and Deluxe rooms are overlooking the exclusive Spartaia's Bay; inspired by the colours of the Mediterranean greenery, they are all fitted with balcony, Jacuzzi, air-conditioning, satellite tv and fast internet access.Direct access to private beach (included in the room rate) with lifeguard, swimming pool with lifeguard, fitness room, kid's park with baby sitting,tennis courts, sea sports on the beach (on request), 4 different bars, 2 restaurants, shuttle service, concierge service (ferryboat reservations, excursions, boat rentals, car hire, restaurant reservations), WI-FI connection in all rooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Tingo, Agoda, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Desiree reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Desiree, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.