We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Brigantino

Enter dates for best prices

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Expedia.com Booking.com
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Brigantino
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Localita Campo All'aia, 57030 Procchio, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 hotels in Procchio
bfold@man.com
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed there for 10 days in April 2011 two weeks before Easter before tourist season opened. It is a five minute walk to the beach where you walk along the water into to the town of Procchio. Here you catch buses to other towns thru out the Island. Why Napoleon left this island after only nine months I don't know. The two homes he lived in are still there on the way back to Porto Ferraio. The hotel itself is nothing special but it was comfortable for me. The hotel is like a old beach house. In the morning they have breakfast pretty much as much as you can eat. I wish they would learn how to cook an egg without burning it. The staff was spotty at who would help you and who wouldn't. I asked one girl about the bus schedule and she said she didn't know, I asked another girl who helped me by pulling out the bus schedule from a drawer on a desk. They seemed put off because I didn't speak fluent Italian. Don't eat there at nite.My first nite there i had dinner outside and I didn't eat there again. Chef Boyardee....go into town. There are little bars and such. There is a building across from one of these bars that still looks the same from over hundred years ago. They have fotos..There were alot of Italians vacationing there. This is a place, Elba, where they go. You can eat at other towns like Porto Azzuro and such for the day. Hotel Brigantino is a place where you come and go. Not a place where you hang out. In the room I had they shove two single beds together to make a queen size bed. If you want something more upscale and great on site service and food, this is not the place. If you want a little walk to the beach peacefulness of the grounds far from the maddening crowd this is it. My friend, Luciano, who owns the trattoria in Montalcino helped me find this place. He pulled out his laptop when I told him I wanted to go to Elba and he brought up different locations since he was familiar with Elba and told me Hotel Brigantino would be good spot due to its location. You can tour the Island by taking buses to different towns. Eat and mingle with the locals. This is a Italian spot to vacation not so much a tourist spot. If you want to see where the Italians go come here. Take the boat from Piombino, 90 minutes more or less and relax...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    70
    94
    18
    5
    8
See reviews for
133
19
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

Don't deserve 3 stars at all: this is a 1 star plus. Staff welcome me by saying that my room was not booked and that I had to find another hotel before changing mind but without explaination. The room is just horrible: invasion of ant , everywhere including the cupboard. Very noisy: I could hear people speaking, brushing their teeth, kids crying ... As soon as someone's goes to the bathroom in 1 roo, everyone is awake in all the room of the floor. Breakfast starts only at 8am and dinner at 8pm... Really to Late When you want to leave early for a nice walk.
The beach is not far and is pretty nice.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Procchio is in a very nice area since it is not far from the main city (where the ferry is) but in a beautiful gulf. And the hotel is just 500 mt away from the seaside, where you have both beach club and free beach.
What I really liked at Brigantino was the service. Courtesy of the staff is 5 star and really makes a difference, after a couple of days only you feel like part of a "family" and they'll all do their best to meet your requirements.
The other big pluls is the food. Buffet lunch is simply amazing with an embarassment of richness to chose from every day. Same for dinner, everything was from good to excellent .
Rooms are ok, basic and very clean (which is all I need), nothing fancy. Samme applies for the swimming pool. The other big plus is the small "playfield for babies", where you have table tennis, swing, slide, etc. so that kids can play.

Strongly recommended for families

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

If your touring Elba this is a good place to start and suitable for a few days.Has its own pool and close to the beach.We went with B&B but seem to have very good value for Half Board.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for 5 days. This is a hotel, a 2 minute walk from the beach of Procchio (Campo all'aia). The rooms are clean, not too small and practical. Ours featured the smallest TV we have ever seen, with solely italian channels, which is normal since practically 99% of the tourists we have seen are from Italy. In the Brigantino, it was mostly italian families with kids. As mentioned in the title, the hotel is absolutely clean, has several common rooms which are nice, and the food is really good (nothing fancy but tasty). The personnel didn't go out of its way to help us, but answered every inquiry. The biggest problem was that it all felt somewhat lifeless. we have talked long about it, we can't find any reason for it nor can we describe it better. We didn't have air conditioning, but it is hardly necessary. Maybe some nights we got a bit hot, but the hotel is in shade all day, and Elba enjoys a moderate temparature. The biggest problem was that there was no internet.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Brigantino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Brigantino

Also Known As:
Hotel Brigantino Elba Island/Procchio, Italy
Address: Localita Campo All'aia, 57030 Procchio, Marciana, Elba Island, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Livorno > Elba Island > Marciana > Procchio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Procchio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Brigantino 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Hotel Brigantino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Brigantino, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hotel Brigantino to your Saves list