We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, but not your usual 4*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Art Hotel Milano

Save Saved
You added Art Hotel Milano to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Art Hotel Milano
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Tiziano 15, 59100 Prato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Prato
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great Location, but not your usual 4*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

I stayed here on a business trip for three nights as we had a conference at the university, and location wise this hotel is fantastic. You are literally right across the road and a walk through a small park until you get to the railway station. From this station you can (cheaply) hop on a train to Florence or Pisa for flights, or even just for leisure. Reaching it is no problem at all because of this.

Also in terms of location, as you are so central it's no issue at all going somewhere to eat. One night we went into Prato and as there are lots of restaurants you have a lot of choice, the other night we actually ate in Florence and got the late train back. Also near lots of street bars, or you can sit outside the hotel in the chairs they have on the pavement.

however, this hotel is not your typical 4*. That said, it's not quite as rubbish as some people have reviewed (if it's the most rubbish you have ever staying in, as one person put it, you clearly havent stayed in a very wide range of hotels...).

The hotel and rooms are basic and fit for purpose. They are not large at all (this is typical on the continent) but are very well air conditioned (which you need) and have an adequate bathroom with shower in. There is a desk but this was too small for me to work on, but a large window that opens up fully.

My room overlooked the canal which runs through the centre and it was a lovely view looking towards the Tuscan hills - beautiful at sunrise. The area can get a little noisy at times on the road, especially late at night and early in the morning where they empty the large bins which are outside the front of the hotel.

Breakfast is fine...your usual suspects for the continental breakfast. The room where you eat is fairly small, however, and the coffee isn't so nice (tip - I wouldn't necessarily bother getting any out of the machine!!). When the breakfast room is quite full it's difficult to move around, but other than that no issues.

The hotel was clean, and I always had clean towels. The mini bar in your room is a fortune so be warned - don't think it's free and I'd go elsewhere to the little supermarket round the corner if you want to buy water etc.

All in all this is an 'okay' hotel, fit for purpose, possibly not a 4* no but certainly not the worst 4* around. You live a sheltered life if you think that. It's great location wise, and if you are there just to sleep (like most people are) then if absolutely fine and great.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtMuseoPrato, Manager at Art Hotel Milano, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Emma,

Thanks a lot for your comment, you have described in detail our hotel from many point of view!

We are really satisfied you enjoyed your stay and we care to inform you we have just renovated our breakfast room, in your next stay you will appreciate our new breakfast space, our upgraded buffet and relaxing atmosphere; we are going to post some pictures so that you and tripadvisor readers can have a look.

Looking forward to welcome you again, we send our best regards.

Paolo Mazzoni - Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    18
    46
    33
    6
    7
See reviews for
12
20
9
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed in Prato for 5 days and this hotel was great. Centrally located near the train station and near the town center. Service was great. Wifi / general services from reception were great as well. Only thing is that the breakfast isn't included which wasn't really a bummer for me but overall comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Location is good, quit close to train station. The reception staffs were not friendly, and cannot understand English very well. I asked him if there was free breakfast, but he asked me if I needed breakfast right now (it was evening then.). After that, I repeated my question, he answered "Of course." Finally, when we checked out, they charged us 8 euro per person for each breakfast.
The room condition was even not better than 2 star B & B, and the size of the room was too small.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtMuseoPrato, Manager at Art Hotel Milano, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are really astonished for what you have reported in your comment, reviews of our staff are usually very positive and gratifying.
Many of our Clients are foreigner and we all can understand and speak english fluently, so probably it has been an unpleasant misunderstanding for which we are deeply sorry.

Hoping you will give us another chance to host you, we send our best regards.

Paolo Mazzoni - Direttore
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

This hotel is located at walking distance from the rail station and old downtown. I stayed there to use as a hub to visit Florence and Siena.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtMuseoPrato, Manager at Art Hotel Milano, responded to this review, April 18, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comment on tripadvisor, we just would have appreciate more details regarding your assertion " people not friendly", because without clarifying what has happened exactly, we can not understand, also because usually our Staff, as you can see in the other reviews, is always esteemed.
Best regards
Paolo Mazzoni - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

We were travelling by car in Italy and decided to stay outside of Florence instead of dealing with parking. The Art Milano Hotel had easy street parking and was a few blocks from the train taking us to Florence. The hotel itself was fine with a clean lobby and a clean room, nice balcony that had a nice view of the river that ran by the hotel. The breakfast was fine--all the usual hot and cold items on the buffet. The only thing is the room was not warmly decorated--kind of institutional as though I was having a meal in a hospital cafeteria. Front desk was fine although we tried to negotiate a better price and they wouldnt budge on price. Sent us to an amazing restaurant for dinner which we returned to the following night it was so good. Also, the trains to Florence were frequent and we did get to downtown Florence in just 20 minutes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago, il, us
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Ok...the front desk and staff were so nice but this place was so depressingly bad. It smelled, the blanket and pillows were older than I am and the carpet stained. Just drive through.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtMuseoPrato, Manager at Art Hotel Milano, responded to this review, October 18, 2011
Dear Guest,
We are deeply sorry and astonished to realize you have a so bad opinion regarding our hotel, even because, as you can see in other reviews, fortunately, it is not the general opinion!

Allow us to disappoint: our hotel do not bad smell, our blanket and pillows are not brand-new, but certainly not old and we change linen every day!

We are really sorry you did not like our hotel and that probably you won't come back, we however cheer up, seen that we have a very significant number of regular Guests, which come back many times in a month for business to our hotel and enjoy their stay!

Best regards
Paolo Mazzoni - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Very nicely decorated hotel, Like a museum, Fine italian furinture in the room, Breakfast is nothing great, Washrooms are small, But slightly overpriced than the hotels in the area.
recomended if you get a better deal on web...

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ArtMuseoPrato, Manager at Art Hotel Milano, responded to this review, March 11, 2011
Dear Client,

Thank you for your review, we really appreciate your comment and we hope you will be soon again our Guest.
Best regards
Paolo Mazzoni - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Art Hotel Milano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Hotel Milano

Address: Via Tiziano 15, 59100 Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 17 hotels in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Art Hotel Milano 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Art Hotel Milano is the central core of the philosophy of ART HOTEL GROUP, in which modern art is the star of a new concept of hospitality. A hotel in the very heart of the city of Prato , located near the medieval walls , a few steps from the Castle of Emperor Frederick II , the charming Textile Museum and Monash University.Visitando from international common spaces, from the lobby to the reception and bar you feel the philosophy of delight and please the guests , as in a private home. Art Hotel Milano becomes the place where you can rediscover the pleasure of hospitality and culture of the area. The hotel regularly hosts exhibitions by local artists and is home to initiatives related to the culture of citta.ART HOTEL MILAN, BUSINESSMAN AND STAY NICE WEEK END HOTEL FACILITIES : Free wi-fi connection in all hotel, Bar, Meeting Room , Gym, Garage , Pet of small size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HostelBookers, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelWorld so you can book your Art Hotel Milano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Art Milano

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Art Hotel Milano, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.