We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect urban hideaway...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buonanotte Barbarossa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Buonanotte Barbarossa to your Saves list
Buonanotte Barbarossa
Piazza Delle Carceri 1, 59100 Prato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 18 Prato B&B and Inns
Duns, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
163 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Perfect urban hideaway...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

I loved it here...
What to say?! Prato and your own house...well, for us it was as we had all the rooms.
Despite the building work in the square it was just the place. Cleaned every day - a visit from Claudia to check everything was ok...a lovely courtyard/garden to step into for breakfast and dinner, should you decide to cook.
I AM going back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
1
9
4
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico Df
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This bed and breakfast is just perfect, the room was spacious, the bathroom was clean and spacious, there were lots of pampering products, like shampoos and creams, of excellent quality. Breakfast was good. Location is perfect. Claudia, the owner, is very laid back. The lady that cleans is charming. Prato is 20 minutes away from Florence by train, but be aware that on Sunday there are very few trains.

Room Tip: There are few rooms, write a message to Claudia in advance to tell her your preferences.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

When i arrived early i was warmly greeted and shown around the facilities at the B&B. I was impressed by the beautiful room and the private bathroom I had exclusive use of, complete with jacuzzi bath. and the comfortable lounge area and kitchen facilities i could use at my leisure. The tranquility of the garden space and terrace area was perfect to relax, with the most stunning view of the castle opposite. Claudia and Andrea were fantastic hosts and ever so accommodating. The central location of the B&B was perfect. This B&B is truly a hidden gem and i would highly recommend to anyone who visits Prato.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012

Arriving at the B&B, you are struck by the amazing view of the castle opposite. There is also a terrace where one can eat, drink and while the hours away looking at the castle. What was good about it was that it was so cool inside despite the fierce summer sun outside. There's free WiFi which is a definite plus. However, there was a major issue: for our honeymoon, we weren't impressed that we were given two single beds that were pushed together. This was not good for a couple that wants to get close.

However, we didn't say anything as Andrea our host was so nice and informative, telling us great places to eat, buying biscotti and sightseeing. He was extremely friendly and warm.

All in all, it is a fantastic place to stay with the exception about the bed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

I highly recommend this B&B. It is as central as it can be, the rooms are beautiful and the dining room with a large comfortable sofa and a large dinnertable is so relaxing and comfortable. Claudia is the perfect hostess and Andrea, who has designed the B&B, is so helpful and friendly. The garden is beautiful and unexpected - you open the front door in the high stone wall, and there it is, all hidden and so peaceful. I stayed here one week, and I would have loved to stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

This superb B & B is located in the centre of the medieval city of Prato which is about 20 minutes by train from Florence..We spent 5 nights at this comfotable residence which is a hidden gem
right opposite the castle of Emperor Frederick.Our hearts literally sank when we reached our destination as the driver had to move a few Vespa scooters out of the way to get to a steel door.
The moment we stepped in,we were met by the friendly owner Claudia who took us to our bedroom which was large and tastefully furnished with a private bathroom.This is a great place to stay and relax.It has a beautiful private garden and a lovely decorated living room-all designed
by Andrea Balloni who made us feel at home in this once 12th century building that has been so beautifully restored

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Breda, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Great place, a haven in the center of town, walled in, quiet, beautiful trees, roses, terrace both in and out of the sun.
Warm welcome, lots of info. Very clean room, beautiful sheets, large bathroom; complimentary soaps etc. from l'Occitane.
Separate common living-/breakfast room with 24/7 tea facilities. Excellent breakfast inside/outside.
A place to return to.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Prato hotels
0.2 mi away
Albergo Il Giglio
Albergo Il Giglio
#1 of 18 in Prato
4.0 of 5 stars 33 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Marco
Hotel San Marco
#3 of 18 in Prato
4.0 of 5 stars 121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Giardino
Hotel Giardino
#6 of 18 in Prato
4.0 of 5 stars 87 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Art Hotel Milano
Art Hotel Milano
#7 of 18 in Prato
3.5 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.1 mi away
Residence Manassei
Residence Manassei
#4 of 18 in Prato
4.5 of 5 stars 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Albergo Giugni
Albergo Giugni
#5 of 18 in Prato
4.5 of 5 stars 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buonanotte Barbarossa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buonanotte Barbarossa

Address: Piazza Delle Carceri 1, 59100 Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This elegant yet comfortable boutique guesthouse is located in the heart of Prato, across from the Castle of Emperor Frederick (known as Frederick Redbeard) and the Basilica of Santa Maria delle Carceri. It is situated on the ground floor of an historical palace, dating back to 1200. It boasts its own typical walled Tuscan garden. Buonanotte Barbarossa has the ideal ambience for either holidays or business trips. Enjoy the atmosphere of this small Tuscan town and discover its many artistic, historical and culinary treasures. Being within walking distance of both train stations it gives a marvellous opportunity to visit other surrounding historical cities, such as, Florence (20 min away by train), Pistoia, Lucca and Pisa.Buonanotte Barbarossa has 3 double bedrooms and 1 bedroom with 2 single beds, all with private bathrooms, and an ample dining and living area leading onto the garden. Breakfast, which will be served in the garden, weather permitting, otherwise in the dining-room, consists of local and organic products. Each bedroom has its own Led TV, DVD player, free Wi-Fi access point, hairdryer and mini-fridge. There is a wide selection of DVDs available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Buonanotte Barbarossa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buonanotte Barbarossa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.