We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few bad points, mostly good” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel President

Save Saved
You added Hotel President to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel President
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Simintendi 20, 59100 Prato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Prato
Rosh Pina, Israel
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“A few bad points, mostly good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights since I was at a scientific conference nearby. The hotel is in an excellent location for the old city of Prato and the train station. There is very limited ouside parking available but we were lucky and found a space. However there is no easy way in from the outside parking and we had to schlepp heavy cases over a pot-holed pavement and up a flight of steps. It has a much of the faded glory about it, seems to have seen better days. It is not a 4 star in my opinion nearer 3. The carpets are shabby and much of the decor is old and worn. Nevertheless the room was large and comfortable. The door didn't lock automatically on closing. No kettle in the room. A/C was very weak. There was a bath with shower but no shower curtain, which seems to be an amazing failing and no shaving mirror. The bulb was blown in the b/room but an engineer came (after 20 minutes) to replace it. Free WiFi worked well. The TV had no English channels. There was a very dangerous dip in the floor outside our room (hidden by carpet) which almost caused my wife and a friend to twist their ankles badly and fall. When we pointed this out to reception, we were told that the problem was known, but that nothing could be done, certainly not in the short term!!! Breakfast was good. In the evenings there was table d'hote menu in the restaurant with good value for 3 (tasty) courses (prima, secundi with side order and desert) for 15 Euro. The staff were all very friendly and helpful without exception, definitely the high point of the hotel. Value was good since we got a very good price deal.

Room Tip: Don't accept rooms 200-205 (dangerous dip in the floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    6
    17
    16
    19
    22
See reviews for
9
24
4
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sao Paulo, SP
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Although it is shown as a 4 star hotel, this one comes straight out of The Shinning by Stephen King- empty, isolated, not-a-soul to be seen. We had a problem right from the start as the garage was said to be full. as we had too much luggage, we were told we could park inside to unload using the elevators, but no one of the staff, who by the way wear no uniform, showed us where the garage was, where the elevators were or how to get to either of them. The Tiles in both our bathrooms were cracked, one of the showers sprinkled water everywhere but the tub. apart from the strange pink walls and the bloody red carpet everywhere, there was a suspicious stain on the carpet coming from the room next to ours, which smelled cigarettes. I wonder how this business can keep their 4 stars and still get their guests to survive.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2011

This is not a 4 star hotel definitely. I am agreeing with the recent reviews of this hotel. The hotel is more of a 2 star hotel.

I got this at a bargain price but still it does not justify the false information on their star rating that they had advertised on their website or on any promotional websites.

I stayed at the twin room, with two single beds and the size of the bed was too "slim" as the width was too small for me to comfortably turn about on the bed. I believe, bigger sized people would struggle sleeping on the bed.

The room size was quite good but everything as in the furniture is plain old so it is suitable for budget travellers. The toilet looks like it had been renovated maybe about 3 years ago?

The room is poorly lited. So you can't really read unless you turn on the bedside lamp. However, my bedside lamp also did not work. As we checked in with other friends, I have heard that the personal safe in some of the rooms were not working at all.

The bathroom is better lited though.

The heater does not work properly - sometimes it refuses to turn on at all! and this is awful during the cold winter. When I called the front-desk, they said that it will turn on by itself "in 5 minutes", I believe this is the standard answer they give to everybody as I heard the same excuse also given to another guest when I was at the front counter. I think the hotel management turns off the heater at certain parts of the day to save their electricity cost.

However, it did work on some parts of my stay here the odd thing is that the temperature in the room goes very cold when the thermostat is turned up to a high number and goes very hot when the thermostat is turned down to a low number.

The location of the hotel is quite alright nonetheless, as it is located just right opposite a supermarket which enables you to buy your daily necessities within a walking distance.

The lady at the breakfast hall was also very friendly and smiling. I wish her well.

All in all, please think twice before booking this hotel, if you are willing to put up with their nonsense, and got a good bargain, then it should be fine. Also, this is definitely not a 4-star hotel and don't get duped by that!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
173 helpful votes 173 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2011

My son and I stayed at this hotel for one evening when we travelled from the UK to watch our rugby team play the local side Prato. We chose the hotel because of its convenient central location and because it seemed to offer extremely good value for money. In fact I think we did receive good value but still the hotel was a bit of a disappointment. Essentially it is a characterless sixties tower block . There is precious little in the way of communal services - at least there was no bar open whilst we were there. It seemed like the hotel was given over to coach parties (and there were no parties in residence whilst we were there). So what was good about the hotel? Reception was always manned by helpful and friendly staff;: Our room was huge, clean, en-suite and equipped with free wi-fi and a good TV with English programming: Breakfast was good and plenteous, though taken in a huge room in which we were almost the only occupants. Not bad at all really - providing you are happy staying in a spookily empty large hotel with nothing in the way of social things to do. This latter point is a minor one of course as the restaurants and bars of Prato are no more than a stone's throw away.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2011

Trip to Prato for the Quins v Cavalieri rugby match. Staed 4 nights using Prato as a base for visits to Florence, Sienna and Lucca. Great location close to the town centre and with everything within walking distance. Sadly the hotel only warrants a 2* rating. Large clean rooms but badly needing maintenance. Massive gaps between windows and frames letting in cold air. Missing shower screen in our room. No bathroom heating and room heating switched off during the day. Our room generally needed major refurbishment - faded carpet and peeling wallpaper!!. Bar and restaurant now closed to casual hotel guests. Miserable Japanese reception staff. Only friendly person was the lovely Italian lady who served breakfast. The hotel now trades on pre-booked Asian tour groups who use it as a cheap alternative to Florence hotels. They are the only people allowed in the "restaurant" for dinner.
Twenty years ago this would have been a great hotel, but it looks and feels as though nothing has changed since. Only stay here if you're prepared to put up with its shortcomings!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chang mai
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2009

very good hotel and value for price.we stayed there 4 days during our holidays.
rooms are big and very clean,people were always smiling and helpful.
From the hotel is very easy to reach Florence city center,we had a great stay there.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
95 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
147 helpful votes 147 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2007

The Best Western President lies just outside the city walls of the old town of Prato. I had business in Prato but my wife went sightseeing in Firenze easily (20 minutes on the train, train every 15 minutes and 3.40 euros return!) Prato was a lovely town. Not being on the tourist circuit it was friendly and has quite an ethnically mixed population. We had some great food there so do think about it as an alternative to staying in Firenze.

The hotel has very large rooms which are comfortable and clean. Breakfast was well above average for Italy and served by the most cheerful waitress I have ever come across. Reception staff were informative and helpful. There is a supermarket handy.

  • Liked — Space
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel President? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel President

Address: Via Simintendi 20, 59100 Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 17 hotels in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel President 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern hotel with multilingual staff, tasteful furnishings, restaurant, lounge and private garage; situated near the city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Hotel President reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Prato
Prato Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel President, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.