We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, well located, helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel San Marco

Save Saved
You added Hotel San Marco to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel San Marco
Piazza San Marco, 48, 59100 Prato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Prato
La Chartre-sur-le-Loir, France
Top Contributor
236 reviews 236 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Good value, well located, helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Hotel San Marco is within an easy walk of the cathedral and surrounding areas, and is also close to the train station. The facilities and standard of the hotel are definitely up to the three-star rating, if not beyond. So the hotel is convenient if you're staying in Prato, and would probably also make a good base if you're exploring the area.

On arrival we were greeted by the friendly and very helpful front desk staff. We had a car, and were quickly offered a place right in front of the hotel (the hotel staff seem to park their cars there to "block" those spots, they move their car so you can park yours there). We were also given a parking voucher avoiding the need to pay for street parking.

The room was quite large, simply furnished, but with everything you'd need. The air conditioning was working well - something we appreciated as it was a very hot day. Sleep quality is fine. The bathroom, although perfectly fine, was a little old and probably in need of renovation soon. Everything was clean. Our room overlooked the Piazza San Marco with its Henry Moore sculpture (Large Square Form with Cut).

Breakfast is taken in the downstairs restaurant, and was a surprisingly complete buffet with a good selection of items available.

The helpful front desk staff gave us a a very good recommendation for dinner in the old town.

A good value hotel in you're in or near Prato.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcolastrucci l, Proprietario at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Sirs,
we thank you very much for the informations that you wrote.
We hope to hear from you soon.
Kindly regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

92 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    32
    44
    10
    4
    2
See reviews for
16
24
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

This hotel has very friendly staff good food and is near to town center it is conveniently situated for the railway station and shopping center. A good venue for venue for exploring Pisa Florence and Prato. Would definitely recommend for a less expensive alternative to Florence.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcolastrucci l, Proprietario at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, August 11, 2013
Dear Mr. David,
we thank you very much for the informations written in the review.
Hoping to see you next time, kindly regards.
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washingtoin DC
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Good hotel a few yards from the historic center of the town. Friendly and helpful staff. Inexpensive. Overall I would stay here again. Town itself is industrial and has a large population of Chinese textile workers and many others associated with the trade. Everyone very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcolastrucci l, Proprietario at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Sir,
thank you very much for your review. We spent some very pleasant moments together and I hope to see you again a next time.
Best regards.
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We booked the hotel online and was apprehensive when we first arrived at the hotel, however once we entered the lobby we were greeted by a smiling face of the receptionist who although we had arrived early was so helpful. Although we were not able to book into our room, we was offered to leave our bags with them whilst we went to Florence. This was made very easy by the hotel manager who not only looked up the times of the trains but provided tickets at the desk allowing us to just get on the train. We were booked into room 310 which is on the 3rd floor located to the front of the hotel, overlooking the main roundabout. The room with its very good glazing proved to be very quiet allowing a good night sleep, the bed was very comfortable and on-suite very well laid out. Breakfast was as most continental breakfasts well attended by hotel staff and not lacking in anything. Car parking although not a secure area is just outside of the hotel which is within site of the staff.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upon the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcolastrucci l, Proprietario at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you very much; we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

My executive assistant booked this hotel months in advance and hotel staff confirmed the reservation by telephone. On arrival, the clerk could not find the reservation and said the hotel was full. He then sent me to the Hotel President, which turned out to be a bad experience. Apparently, Hotel Flora would have been a much better choice, or a private apartment in the old center of Prato.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

If there was another better word to describe the hospitality that I experienced at Hotel San Marco, I would have done so. Having stayed in a number of places around the world, this family owned hotel is second to none. The owners – especially Alexander (father) and Marco (son) are exceptionally helpful. I needed hot water and Alexander immediately offered me an electric jar and Marco offered to provide coffee, tea, milk and sugar. When asked for directions, they don’t just indicate this on the map at the reception but proceed to bringing me outside the hotel and pointing out the specific direction. When it rained, I was offered an umbrella. I was at loss when I had to print my boarding pass and the hotel has a desktop computer at the lobby that connects to the internet that also comes with a printer. When I needed a taxi and was concerned about exorbitant fares, Alexander called for the taxi, helped me with my luggage and even checked the driver on the price. These little acts of kindness really put Hotel San Marco in a class of its own!
The blue CAP Lazzi buses run return trip to Florence Peretola airport –Prato at 5 euro one way, however the wait can be quite long. Taxi from the airport to Prato varies from 35 to 70 euro, so you will need to check this out carefully.
This hotel is also within 10-15 minutes of walking (depending on the quantity of luggage and walking speed) from the Prato Centrale station where one can get the train, buses and taxis. If one prefers to walk from the bus station to the hotel, there are adequate signages from the station to the hotel. Otherwise, the people in Prato are very helpful despite not speaking English.
It is also a very short walk to the Textile Museum and the famed Antoine Mattei shop selling Prato almond biscuits. There is also a supermarket “Unicoop” that sells most essential stuff and it opens from Monday to Saturday 8am to 8pm. There is a departmental store above UniCoop but if you care to walk further into the city centre, you would find smaller outlets that sell a variety of items. There are 2 larger supermarkets (PAM) in Chinatown which is about 20 to 25 minutes’ walk from the hotel.
The rooms have been recently renovated and are clean and quiet, despite facing the streets. Each is en suite and comes with a comfortable mattress, digital TV, free wifi, mini fridge, hair dryer. Lighting is adequate although I wish that it was brighter (or use of white light) as I have to read a lot. There is also a small gym at the terrace that has some exercise equipment but no treadmill. There are 2 small lifts.
Breakfast served from 7am to 9.30am at the basement with a good spread of food – juices (orange and pineapple), coffee (all sorts), hard boiled eggs, meat, bread, pastries (5 types), cereals (4 types), fruits (apples, oranges, bananas, kiwis), jam, butter, nutella, yoghurt etc

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcolastrucci l, Proprietario at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Sirs,
thank you very much; we are always happy to find people so nice like you. We hope to accomodate you a nex time.
Best regards, Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Hotel San Marco is situated on the Piazza San Marco in Prato, Tuscany. It is a 10 minute walk from the station on the edge of the "old city". It is a comfortable and clean hotel, with non smoking rooms. The hotel have two lifts (the european ones - only big enough for one person with luggage). Not sure if there is disability access. There is a small but basic gym at the hotel - good enough to keep the gym regime going. Hotel San Marco is within walking distance from the historic sites in Prato. The staff is very friendly and always willing to assist (especially the reception staff). Marco and his father are lovely accommodating people. They go out of their way to help, wherever they can and with a smile on their faces. They have a great knowledge of many great, no fantastic, restaurants within walking distance - serving great food from seafood to pizza and local Tuscan cuisine. Prato is about 20 min by train from Florence at a cost of 2.50 euro each way.

Hotel San Marco is definitely a gem.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marcolastrucci l, Proprietario at Hotel San Marco, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear Mrs Deborah
thank you very much for your review; we spent a nice time during the conference.
We hope to sse you soon, best regards
Marco
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel San Marco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Marco

Address: Piazza San Marco, 48, 59100 Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 hotels in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Il Vostro Hotel a Prato! Siamo in Piazza san Marco, raggiungibili facilmente con la vostra auto, che potrete poi sostare nel nostro parcheggio, per scoprire a piedi il centro storico di Prato.Your Hotel in Prato! We are ideally located in Piazza San Marco, easily accessible by car with private parking, the perfect place to begin discovering the heart of the historic city on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel San Marco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel San Marco, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.