We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A well located, warm welcomming hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Flora

Hotel Flora
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Flora to your Saves list
Hotel Flora
B. Cairoli 31, 59100 Prato, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Prato
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A well located, warm welcomming hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We were just now at the hotel and they were very welcomming. The rooms are fine overall, they smell a little moldy. The breakfast was very nice. A good worth for your money. There is cable tv and some of the channels can be heard in english.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    29
    11
    6
    2
See reviews for
9
16
9
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

During a six night stay, this wee hotel grew on me. To start with I baulked at the cell-like room (56) with it's paucity of electric plugs (2), cathode ray TV and blistering plaster under the window. To be fair, a single was what was booked, so I'm not sure why I was surprised by a single bed.
By the end of my stay I was more focused on the wonderful view out the window, good noise control and the attentive service by reception and other staff alike.
In room: safe and hairdryer. Excellent free wifi. No tea/coffee making facilities (I took a travel kettle and didn't regret it)
Breakfast: provided. Good selection.
Positioning: Brilliantly close to Monash university campus, within walled part of city. Local restaurants great, even as a lone diner. Supermarket: 8min walk on way to central station, or several deli-style shops in old city.
Transport: Two railway stations within 10 minutes walk. Trains to Florence every 15 - 20 minutes - 2.50 euros each way for 25min journey. Reservations not required: no ticket office at Porta al Serraglio, but buy tickets from newspaper kiosk outside or use credit card in machines (took amex, no problem). Fantastically easy.
To Florence airport: When arriving, I pre-booked a transfer from Florence airport - recommended - as the Florentine driver took several passes to navigate the one-way system inside the Prato walls. Taxi back to Florence airport around 40 euros.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

This hotel does not pretend to be anything flash and as a comfortable place to stay that is clean with friendly, helpful staff it is very good. The hotel is clean, well positioned, nice breakfast. Overall it is quite comfortable. Our room was a bit like a hospital ward, I believe there are some better ones, in particular room 68, supposed to have beautiful views. If staying in Prato I easily recommend Flora for a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
616 reviews 616 reviews
84 hotel reviews
Reviews in 198 cities Reviews in 198 cities
313 helpful votes 313 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

I suppose the start was not so good, we drove in to see a lunatic drive at speed through a flock of birds killing and wounding many, then arrived at the hotel where a staff member was beating a pidgeon to death in the foyer...
Room was packed with furniture but by then we just wanted to be on our way.{2002}

Room Tip: Not if you are an animal lover
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2012

We stayed in Prato for a week using it as a base for Florence and Tuscany. This hotel was perfect. Wonderful, friendly and very helpful staff. Clean, quiet, spacious room with free wifi. Excellent location. Highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesdin, France
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2012

This hotel already came highly recommended and did not fail - the staff are friendly, helpful and lots of fun :-) Prato is about 30 minutes from Florence which surprised us, but the location is lovely, great shops and restaurants on the doorstep, without the touristy feel. We passed a wonderful Saturday evening sitting outside on a piazza watching a huge crowd of locals walking, chatting and eating gelato late at night :-)
The hotel provides parking, the rooms are large, big bathrooms with hot, powerful showers - much, much better than the bustle of tourists in Florence.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We visited Prato for a conference and wanted basic and affordable accommodation with aircon. We found Hotel Flora offered a high level of cleanliness and service inside the old city area within a walkable distance of the station. The buffet breakfast offered a range of foods including fresh fruit, and we appreciated the free internet access.

Room Tip: You can avoid the crowds and accommodation costs of Florence by staying in Prato. Prato has many go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Flora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Flora

Address: B. Cairoli 31, 59100 Prato, Italy
Location: Italy > Tuscany > Province of Prato > Prato
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 17 Hotels in Prato
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the historical center of Prato, in a quiet area and close to the main monuments, museums and theaters of the city. 31 rooms with all facilities. Buffet breakfast. Easy to reach by car with private parking available, train, and bus from Florence Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Flora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Flora, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.